Skip to content

Givens Highland Farms

200 Tabernacle Road, Black Mountain, North Carolina 28711 · Community website

Operator:
Givens Communities, LLC (management agreement effective 9/1/2025)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (Western North Carolina heritage)
Opened:
1971

Givens Highland Farms, LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Givens Estates, Inc., which is the legal provider on the disclosure statement.

  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$211,420 to $1,473,750p. 29

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,826 to $5,512p. 27

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% Refundable)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 75% Refundable (initial Cottages contracts)Never less than 75% of the fee
  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

259 (FY2025)p. 47Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Givens Highland Farms (provider only)
Read the note on this figure

The reported 259 days counts the $5.7M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve: Highland's balance-sheet cash ($11.85M), investments ($0.59M) and reserve investments ($5.70M) over FY2025 cash operating expenses come to about 259 days; cash and unrestricted investments alone ($12.44M) cover about 178 days. Section 29 instead cites $6.3M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 99 days of projected costs). DSCR 8.26x is lifted by initial entrance fees on new self-financed apartments (p49). The obligated group (Givens Estates, Highland Farms, Gerber Park II) reports 699 days and 3.43x (p48, p50).

Independent living occupancy

97.93% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Health care is fee-for-service at the published per diem rate, with no included days or discount; residents have priority access to the health care residences before non-residents, on a space-available basis.p. 163

Assisted living
Not offered at Highland Farms: the Residence and Services Agreement provides only licensed nursing care as its Health Care Residences, and the community lists no assisted living units.
Nursing care
Per diem: skilled nursing $393 or $452 a day (both rows labelled semi-private room). On a permanent move the resident surrenders the residence and stops paying its monthly fee; on a temporary stay the monthly fee continues alongside the per diem.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living331
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (8 prices, $211,420 to $1,473,750)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$211,420 to $504,000p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – CottageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$533,250 to $1,270,563p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - ClusterRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$293,541 to $699,459p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - CondoRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$340,375 to $811,125p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - HomesRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$618,500 to $1,473,750p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – MeadowmontRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$455,063 to $1,084,203p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – Brookside NorthRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$431,900 to $1,029,100p. 29$15,000
Independent Living – Vista Ridge NorthRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$412,778 to $983,444p. 29$15,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (9 prices, $3,826 to $5,512)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$3,826p. 27$964
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$4,773p. 27$964
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - ClusterIndependent living$3,961p. 27$964
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - CondoIndependent living$4,168p. 27$964
Independent Living – Wagon Trail - HomesIndependent living$5,512p. 27$964
Independent Living – MeadowmontIndependent living$4,671p. 27$964
Independent Living – Brookside NorthIndependent living$4,490p. 27$964
Independent Living – Vista Ridge NorthIndependent living$4,555p. 28$964
Independent Living – Vista Ridge SouthIndependent living$4,751p. 28$964

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4.8%20222023: 7.9%20232024: 6.4%20242025: 4.5%20252026: 4.26%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.26%Percent onlyp. 29
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 29
2024Independent livingAll units6.4%Percent onlyp. 29
2023Independent livingAll units7.9%Percent onlyp. 29
2022Independent livingAll units4.8%Percent onlyp. 29

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% Refundable)p. 32

The lowest entrance fee. The refundable amount drops 6% on the day you move in and 2% on the first of each month after, reaching nothing after about four years. The refund is paid when Givens Highland Farms receives a replacement resident for your residence or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 47 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Refundablep. 32

The refundable amount drops 6% at move-in and 2% a month after that until it reaches 50% of the entrance fee, where it stays. The refund is paid when Givens Highland Farms receives a replacement resident for your residence or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 22 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Refundablep. 32

The highest entrance fee. The refundable amount drops 6% at move-in and 2% a month after that until it reaches 90% of the entrance fee, where it stays. The refund is paid when Givens Highland Farms receives a replacement resident for your residence or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 2 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

75% Refundable (initial Cottages contracts)p. 32

Offered on the initial Cottages contracts only: the refundable amount drops 5% at move-in and 2% a month after that until it reaches 75%. The refund is paid when Givens Highland Farms receives a replacement resident for your residence or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 10 months
Never less than
75% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 29

Table 21.3 prints one entrance-fee range per residence type without saying which refund plan each end of the range belongs to; the 0%, 50% and 90% plans are described above.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Givens Highland Farms is part of The Givens Estates, Inc. and Subsidiaries (consolidated audit); bond obligated group = Givens Estates, Inc., Givens Highland Farms, LLC and Givens Gerber Park 2, LLC.
  • Balance sheet: Givens Highland Farms, LLC (Highland column of The Givens Estates, Inc. consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Givens Highland Farms (provider only).

Days cash on hand

259 days FY2025p. 47

Debt service coverage

8.26x FY2025p. 47

Read with these figuresThe reported 259 days counts the $5.7M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve: Highland's balance-sheet cash ($11.85M), investments ($0.59M) and reserve investments ($5.70M) over FY2025 cash operating expenses come to about 259 days; cash and unrestricted investments alone ($12.44M) cover about 178 days. Section 29 instead cites $6.3M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 99 days of projected costs). DSCR 8.26x is lifted by initial entrance fees on new self-financed apartments (p49). The obligated group (Givens Estates, Highland Farms, Gerber Park II) reports 699 days and 3.43x (p48, p50).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 87FY2024p. 47FY2023p. 47
Days cash on hand259 days208 days222 days
Debt service coverage8.26x1.81x1.97x
Operating margin7.83%0.76%0.01%
Total assets$141.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$154.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$54.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$51.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$34.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$12.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 87

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living97.93%97.33%98.05%95.21%91.85%
Assisted livingNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care90.14%87.19%89.95%84.99%82.48%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $4,271. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 10. Highland Farms on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2018. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Givens Highland Farms is a fee-for-service continuing care retirement community in Black Mountain, a subsidiary of Givens Estates, Inc., with 331 independent living units and 60 skilled nursing beds. Entrance fees run from $211,420 to $1,473,750 with 0%, 50% or 90% refund options, and nursing is charged per day at $393 or $452. Its own balance sheet shows a $12.7 million net-asset deficit at the end of 2025; it borrows as part of the Givens obligated group.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.