Skip to content

Home › Compare

Brooks-Howell Home and Pisgah Valley Retirement Community compared

Two North Carolina communities about 7 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureBrooks-Howell HomePisgah Valley Retirement Community
LocationAsheville, NCCandler, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesRental, Type B (modified)Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personNot disclosed in the 2026 filing$257,589 to $466,433p. 21
Monthly fee, independent living$1,773 to $4,135p. 15$2,426p. 20
Refund plansContinuing care entrance fee (non-refundable after occupancy)p. 100% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 24
Highest guaranteed refundNot disclosed in the 2026 filing90% of the feep. 24
When a refund is paidNot disclosed in the 2026 filingWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 24
Days cash on hand112 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 76Computed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).215 days (FY2025)p. 2Uses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingComputed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).2.13x (FY2025)p. 2Uses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.
Independent living occupancyNot disclosed in the 2026 filing97.8% (2025)p. 17
Net position$4.0 million (FY2025)p. 76$4.1 million (FY2025)p. 47
Whose financesBrooks-Howell Home (stand-alone; a program of United Women in Faith); ratios for Brooks-Howell Homep. 76Pisgah Valley (Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC, combined); ratios for Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC (provider only)p. 47
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Crosslin, PLLCp. 76Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 47
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked2 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Brooks-Howell Home

Rental: Monthly fee-for-service residents pay the Health Center's daily rate if they need care. Residents have priority over non-residents for Health Center beds, based on contract and availability. The Health Center is not Medicare/Medicaid certified; payment is private or long-term care insurance.p. 17

Type B (modified): Independent residents on the continuing care contract receive 14 days of Health Care per year without the daily room rate. Beyond that they pay the published per diem; certain deaconesses and missionaries may qualify for special rates.p. 19

Pisgah Valley Retirement Community

Type C (fee for service): Residents pay the then-current Health Care Residence rate for assisted living or nursing, on top of their apartment fee while temporarily transferred; the 24 assisted living units and 118 nursing beds are open to the public but residents get priority. If no bed is free on a permanent transfer, Pisgah Valley arranges care elsewhere and pays any cost above its own rate.p. 100

Questions to ask both communities before you sign