Skip to content

Pisgah Valley Retirement Community

104 Holcombe Cove Road, Candler, North Carolina 28715 · Community website

Operator:
Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC (managed by Liberty Living Management, LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1975

Co-providers Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC (operator; owned by Liberty Senior Living, LLC, which is owned by Liberty Healthcare Group, LLC) and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC (real estate; owned by Liberty Real Properties VII, LLC), audited together as a group of entities under common control. The operator leases the campus from the property company. As of April 30, 2026, 5 of the 72 apartments were still owned by individuals under legacy Unit Owner Contracts.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$257,589 to $466,433p. 21

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,426p. 20

Refund plans offered

  • 0% Refund OptionCan decline to nothing
  • 90% Refund OptionNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

215 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Uses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.

Independent living occupancy

97.8% (2025)p. 17

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

2 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents pay the then-current Health Care Residence rate for assisted living or nursing, on top of their apartment fee while temporarily transferred; the 24 assisted living units and 118 nursing beds are open to the public but residents get priority. If no bed is free on a permanent transfer, Pisgah Valley arranges care elsewhere and pays any cost above its own rate.p. 100

Assisted living
Then-current assisted living rate ($6,760/month single in the current schedule).
Nursing care
Then-current skilled nursing rate ($10,533/month single in the current schedule).
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living72
Assisted living24
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care118

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (8 prices, $257,589 to $466,433)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom0% Refund Option$257,589p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom90% Refund Option$398,532p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Den0% Refund Option$270,513p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Den90% Refund Option$417,842p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Sunroom0% Refund Option$288,268p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Sunroom90% Refund Option$446,964p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Den + Sunroom0% Refund Option$301,351p. 21Not listed
Patio Home - Independent Living - Two Bedroom w/ Den + Sunroom90% Refund Option$466,433p. 21Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $2,426 to $10,533)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living - Patio HomesIndependent living$2,426p. 20$643
Assisted LivingAssisted living$6,760p. 20Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$10,533p. 20Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4%20212022: 5%20222023: 8.7%20232024: 10.9%20242025: 8%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 20
2024Independent livingAll units10.9%Percent onlyp. 20
2023Independent livingAll units8.7%Percent onlyp. 20
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 20
2021Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 20

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

0% Refund Optionp. 24

90% of the entrance fee is refundable for the first five months, then the refundable share drops 5 points a month to nothing from the 23rd month. Any refund is paid 30 days after a new resident pays in full for the apartment, or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 22 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Refund Optionp. 24

90% of the entrance fee stays refundable for the life of the contract. It is paid 30 days after a new resident pays in full for the apartment, or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Pisgah Valley (Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC, combined).
  • Ratios: Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC (provider only).

Days cash on hand

215 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.13x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresUses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 47FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand215 days257 days24 days
Debt service coverage2.13x1.68x2.58x
Operating margin20.15%18.05%16.68%
Total assets$59.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$54.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$28.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$4.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$11.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$4.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 47

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 172024p. 172023p. 172022p. 172021p. 17
Independent living97.8%96.8%96.2%91.9%97.2%
Assisted living93.6%86.6%94.2%91.8%82.9%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care86.6%82.9%82.1%83.3%75.9%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-12 Amounts previously advanced to owners of Liberty Healthcare by Pisgah Valley Properties were outstanding at December 31, 2025 in the amount of $3,632,968. The advances, under a note agreement bearing interest at 2% per annum, were due and unpaid at December 31, 2025.p. 58

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $59,391. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 12. Pisgah Manor Health Care Center on Care Compare

In brief

Pisgah Valley Retirement Community in Candler, NC, about 10 miles west of Asheville, is a for-profit continuing care retirement community owned within the Liberty Healthcare Group, with 72 two-bedroom independent living apartments, 24 assisted living units and 118 skilled nursing beds. Entrance fees run from $257,589 to $301,351 with a declining (0%) refund or $398,532 to $466,433 with a 90% refund, plus a $2,426 monthly fee for one person. Assisted living and nursing are charged at current rates, with priority access for residents.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.