Skip to content

Home › Compare

Carolina Bay at Autumn Hall and Wesley Pines Retirement Community compared

Two North Carolina communities about 71 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureCarolina Bay at Autumn HallWesley Pines Retirement Community
LocationWilmington, NCLumberton, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one personNot disclosed in the 2026 filing$82,564 to $191,397p. 31
Monthly fee, independent living$6,396 to $10,658p. 61$3,424 to $3,559p. 30
Refund plansNot disclosed in the 2026 filingStandard (0% after 50 months); 50% Return of Capital; 90% Return of Capitalp. 144p. 34
Highest guaranteed refundNot disclosed in the 2026 filing90% of the feep. 144p. 34
When a refund is paidNot disclosed in the 2026 filingWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 144p. 34
Days cash on hand24 days (FY2025)p. 2The operator has no long-term debt (DSCR shown as N/A) but leases the campus from an affiliated property company for about $715,706 a month (p68); $78.8M of its $80.6M liabilities are lease obligations (p40). Its $1.72M of cash was $5.18M short of the $6.90M statutory operating reserve; the statement says the deficit will be satisfied with a $6,904,250 irrevocable letter of credit payable to the Department of Insurance (p27).700.69 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen; it is not a Wesley Pines-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p66) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingAt least 250 daysp. 55
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingThe operator has no long-term debt (DSCR shown as N/A) but leases the campus from an affiliated property company for about $715,706 a month (p68); $78.8M of its $80.6M liabilities are lease obligations (p40). Its $1.72M of cash was $5.18M short of the $6.90M statutory operating reserve; the statement says the deficit will be satisfied with a $6,904,250 irrevocable letter of credit payable to the Department of Insurance (p27).3.14x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen; it is not a Wesley Pines-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p66) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.
Independent living occupancy89.5% (2025)p. 1592.6% (2025)p. 25
Net position$7.2 million (FY2025)p. 40$147.4 million (FY2025)p. 66
Whose finances630 Carolina Bay OpCo LLC; ratios for 630 Carolina Bay OpCo LLC (provider only)p. 40The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated); ratios for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statementsp. 66
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 40Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 66
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked4 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Carolina Bay at Autumn Hall

Type B (modified): Each calendar year a resident gets 10% off Healthcare Center fees for the first 30 days of care; unused discounted days do not carry over. Otherwise assisted living, memory care and nursing are charged at the published per diem rates, and the agreement keeps the resident responsible for the Monthly Service Fee as well (7.h). 26 adult care home beds and 12 nursing beds are reserved for residents, with priority for open beds when those are full.p. 84

Wesley Pines Retirement Community

Type B (modified): Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living or nursing care combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the independent living monthly fee. After a permanent move the resident pays the assisted living fee or nursing per diem at the published rate; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 23

Questions to ask both communities before you sign