Skip to content

Wesley Pines Retirement Community

1000 Wesley Pines Road, Lumberton, North Carolina 28358 · Community website

Operator:
The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (North Carolina Annual Conference); the Conference is not responsible for UMRH's obligations
Opened:
1977
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$82,564 to $191,397p. 31

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,424 to $3,559p. 30

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Return of CapitalNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Return of CapitalNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

700.69 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 250.Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements
Read the note on this figure

Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen; it is not a Wesley Pines-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p66) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

Independent living occupancy

92.6% (2025)p. 25

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living or nursing care combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the independent living monthly fee. After a permanent move the resident pays the assisted living fee or nursing per diem at the published rate; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 23

Assisted living
After 6 free days a year, the assisted living monthly fee ($5,421-$7,834 single)
Nursing care
After 6 free days a year, per diem: semi-private $332 a day, private $351 a day
Care days included
6
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 24
Independent living27
Assisted living36
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care62

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (4 prices, $82,564 to $191,397)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cottage with Carport (2 Bedroom)Standard (0% after 50 months)$82,564p. 31Not listed
Duplex Villa (2 Bedroom)Standard (0% after 50 months)$93,475p. 31Not listed
Free Standing Villa (2 Bedroom)Standard (0% after 50 months)$109,245p. 31Not listed
Deluxe Villa (2 Bedroom)Standard (0% after 50 months)$191,397p. 31Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (10 prices, $3,424 to $7,834)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cottage with Carport (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,424p. 30$982
Duplex Villa (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,474p. 30$982
Free Standing Villa (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,474p. 30$982
Deluxe Villa (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,559p. 30$982
New Construction Villa (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,559p. 30$982
Parkton (1 Bedroom; 306 Square Feet)Assisted living$5,421p. 30$1,785
Fairmont (1 Bedroom; 360 Square Feet)Assisted living$6,196p. 30$1,785
Marietta (1 Bedroom; 436 Square Feet)Assisted living$7,834p. 30$1,785
Rowland (1 Bedroom; 420 Square Feet)Assisted living$7,347p. 30$1,785
Pembroke (1 Bedroom; 456 Square Feet)Assisted living$7,713p. 30Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 2.5%20222023: 6%20232024: 5.5%20242025: 4.3%20252026: 3.5%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2025Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 31
2024Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 31
2022Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 31

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (0% after 50 months)p. 144

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee for each month of residency, so nothing is refunded after 50 months. Any refund is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Return of Capitalp. 34

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 25 months and then stays at 50%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Prices for this agreement are not printed in the statement.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Return of Capitalp. 34

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 5 months and then stays at 90%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Prices for this agreement are not printed in the statement.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Wesley Pines Retirement Community is part of The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (Croasdaile Village, Cypress Glen, Wesley Pines); Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen file separate disclosure statements but share UMRH's group finances.
  • Balance sheet: The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements.

Days cash on hand

700.69 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.14x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresGroup figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen; it is not a Wesley Pines-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p66) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 66FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand700.69 days690.8 days574.86 days
Debt service coverage3.14x2.43x3.22x
Operating margin13.97%12.23%10.03%
Total assets$493.3 million$478.8 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$345.9 million$347.2 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$196.9 million$216.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$97.0 million$96.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.5 million$14.5 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$147.4 million$131.6 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 66

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 252024p. 252023p. 252022p. 252021p. 25
Independent living92.6%93.8%90%95.3%97.2%
Assisted living95.9%92.9%88.7%93.4%93.1%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care96.6%95%94.7%86.3%82.3%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 9. Wesley Pines Retirement Community on Care Compare

In brief

Wesley Pines in Lumberton is a small community of 27 independent living cottages and villas with 36 assisted living units and 62 skilled nursing beds, owned by The United Methodist Retirement Homes and managed by Life Care Services. Residents get 6 free days of assisted living or nursing care a year and then pay the published rates; Standard Agreement entrance fees run $82,564-$191,397 for one person, with monthly fees of $3,424-$3,559. A bond-financed expansion of nursing rooms, therapy and dining space began in January 2026, with completion expected in February 2027.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Scotia Village

    Laurinburg · 29 miles away

    Entrance fee: $54,000 to $444,000

  • Penick Village

    Southern Pines · 43 miles away

    Entrance fee: $135,987 to $859,200

  • Pine Knoll

    Southern Pines · 44 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.