Skip to content

Carolina Bay at Autumn Hall

630 Carolina Bay Dr, Wilmington, North Carolina 28403 · Community website

Operator:
630 Carolina Bay Opco, LLC (managed by Carolina Bay Management of Wilmington, LLC, a Liberty Senior Living affiliate)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2015

Provider is owned by Welltower TRS Holdco LLC (a subsidiary of Welltower Inc., a publicly traded REIT) with a Liberty affiliate holding a minority interest; it leases the land and buildings from affiliated property companies.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

In this filing

  • 2025-12-31: As of December 31, 2025, unrestricted cash and investments of $1,724,732 were $5,179,518 below the $6,904,250 required statutory operating reserve. The statement says the community will satisfy the deficit with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit in the amount of $6,904,250, payable to the North Carolina Department of Insurance (Section 35.4 describes it as a standby letter of credit).p. 27

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$6,396 to $10,658p. 61

Refund plans offered

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

24 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The operator has no long-term debt (DSCR shown as N/A) but leases the campus from an affiliated property company for about $715,706 a month (p68); $78.8M of its $80.6M liabilities are lease obligations (p40). Its $1.72M of cash was $5.18M short of the $6.90M statutory operating reserve; the statement says the deficit will be satisfied with a $6,904,250 irrevocable letter of credit payable to the Department of Insurance (p27).

Independent living occupancy

89.5% (2025)p. 15

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Residency and Care Agreement (rental); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Each calendar year a resident gets 10% off Healthcare Center fees for the first 30 days of care; unused discounted days do not carry over. Otherwise assisted living, memory care and nursing are charged at the published per diem rates, and the agreement keeps the resident responsible for the Monthly Service Fee as well (7.h). 26 adult care home beds and 12 nursing beds are reserved for residents, with priority for open beds when those are full.p. 84

Assisted living
Published per diem rates; average assisted living monthly fee $9,237 (standard) and $10,065 (memory care) as of January 1, 2026, with 10% off the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year.
Nursing care
Published per diem rates (private daily service fee averages $575; $17,490 a month single), with the same 10% discount on the first 30 days each calendar year.
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living158
Assisted living46
Memory care24
Nursing care30

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

No entrance fee. Residents sign a 13-month renewable Residency and Care Agreement and pay a nonrefundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Fee (each one month's fee) plus a refundable security deposit of one month's fee. Health care is charged at published per diem rates, with a 10% discount on the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year; 26 assisted living and 12 nursing beds are reserved for residents.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement (13-month rental) · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $6,396 to $17,490)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One bedroom apartmentIndependent living$6,396p. 61$1,050
One bedroom/den apartmentIndependent living$7,338p. 61$1,050
Two bedroom apartmentIndependent living$8,375p. 61$1,050
Two bedroom/den apartmentIndependent living$9,756p. 61$1,050
Garden FlatIndependent living$10,658p. 61$1,050
Assisted Living - StandardAssisted living$9,237p. 61$3,000
Assisted Living - Memory CareMemory care$10,065p. 61Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$17,490p. 18Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 1.5%20212022: 5%20222023: 9.5%20232024: 8.93%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingAll units8.93%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingAll units9.5%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2021Independent livingAll units1.5%Percent onlyp. 18

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

The 2026 filing does not set out refund plan terms.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: 630 Carolina Bay OpCo LLC.
  • Ratios: 630 Carolina Bay OpCo LLC (provider only).

Days cash on hand

24 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresThe operator has no long-term debt (DSCR shown as N/A) but leases the campus from an affiliated property company for about $715,706 a month (p68); $78.8M of its $80.6M liabilities are lease obligations (p40). Its $1.72M of cash was $5.18M short of the $6.90M statutory operating reserve; the statement says the deficit will be satisfied with a $6,904,250 irrevocable letter of credit payable to the Department of Insurance (p27).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 40FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand24 days28 days25 days
Debt service coverageNot disclosedNot disclosed54.32x
Operating margin6.99%2.96%24.94%
Total assets$87.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$80.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$7.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 40

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 152024p. 152023p. 152022p. 152021p. 15
Independent living89.5%88.9%97%96.8%90.7%
Assisted living96.5%96.3%97.1%96.9%97.8%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care94.8%96.4%95.8%94%94%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-12-31 As of December 31, 2025, unrestricted cash and investments of $1,724,732 were $5,179,518 below the $6,904,250 required statutory operating reserve. The statement says the community will satisfy the deficit with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit in the amount of $6,904,250, payable to the North Carolina Department of Insurance (Section 35.4 describes it as a standby letter of credit).p. 27
  • 2024-08Ownership change The operating license transferred from the prior owner to 630 Carolina Bay OpCo LLC, owned by Welltower TRS Holdco LLC, effective August 1, 2024; Welltower had acquired the bed certificates of need in October 2023.p. 44

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Carolina Bay at Autumn Hall in Wilmington, NC is a for-profit rental continuing care community owned through Welltower and managed by a Liberty Senior Living affiliate, with 158 independent living apartments, 70 assisted living and memory care apartments and 30 skilled nursing beds. There is no entrance fee: residents sign renewable 13-month agreements with monthly fees averaging $6,396-$10,658 for independent living, and get 10% off the first 30 days of health care each year.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.