Skip to content

Home › Compare

Covenant Village and The Cypress of Charlotte compared

Two North Carolina communities about 18 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureCovenant VillageThe Cypress of Charlotte
LocationGastonia, NCCharlotte, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Equity
Entrance fee, one person$65,625 to $602,000p. 19Purchase + membership fee
Monthly fee, independent living$3,865 to $5,823p. 17p. 18$3,826 to $6,873p. 30
Refund plansTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)p. 218Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Highest guaranteed refund0% of the feep. 218Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 218Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Days cash on hand233 days (FY2025)p. 2The audited balance sheet (Sept. 30, 2025) shows cash $0.55M, investments $6.30M and $3.91M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve, $10.75M in all; the 233 days appears to count that reserve. Cash and other investments alone ($6.84M) cover about 159 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses. The disclosure narrative gives two other 'unrestricted cash and investments' figures: $10,497,180 (Section 29.1) and $17,270,000 (Tables 29.1-29.2, which repeats the net projected operating costs line).104 days (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage3.92x (FY2025)p. 2The audited balance sheet (Sept. 30, 2025) shows cash $0.55M, investments $6.30M and $3.91M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve, $10.75M in all; the 233 days appears to count that reserve. Cash and other investments alone ($6.84M) cover about 159 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses. The disclosure narrative gives two other 'unrestricted cash and investments' figures: $10,497,180 (Section 29.1) and $17,270,000 (Tables 29.1-29.2, which repeats the net projected operating costs line).4.49x (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days.
Independent living occupancy97.4% (2025)p. 14100% (2025)p. 26
Net position$8.3 million (FY2025)p. 44$29.8 million (FY2025)p. 106
Whose financesCovenant Village, Inc.; ratios for Covenant Village, Inc. (provider only)p. 44The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Charlotte Homeowners Association, Inc. (combined)p. 106
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 44Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 106
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linkedNo CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

Covenant Village

Type B (modified): Life Care residents pay half the published direct-admission daily rate for assisted living or nursing in the ARISE Health Center, for temporary or permanent stays, plus ancillary charges: $186 a day against the $372 direct-admit rate. Residents get priority access to Health Center beds, though access is not guaranteed.p. 212

The Cypress of Charlotte

Equity: Each Member gets 90 lifetime cumulative days of care in a semi-private room in the Health Care Facility at the current Monthly Payment plus meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the daily Member rate on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold, and the Member rate alone afterward; the disclosure calls it the 'member discounted rate' but states no discount size.p. 167

Questions to ask both communities before you sign