Skip to content

Covenant Village

1351 Robinwood Road, Gastonia, North Carolina 28054 · Community website

Operator:
Covenant Village, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Founded by nine Gastonia-area churches (ARP, Baptist, Presbyterian, United Methodist, Lutheran, Episcopal); the churches are not responsible for its obligations
Opened:
1982
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$65,625 to $602,000p. 19

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,865 to $5,823p. 17p. 18

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

233 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The audited balance sheet (Sept. 30, 2025) shows cash $0.55M, investments $6.30M and $3.91M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve, $10.75M in all; the 233 days appears to count that reserve. Cash and other investments alone ($6.84M) cover about 159 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses. The disclosure narrative gives two other 'unrestricted cash and investments' figures: $10,497,180 (Section 29.1) and $17,270,000 (Tables 29.1-29.2, which repeats the net projected operating costs line).

Independent living occupancy

97.4% (2025)p. 14

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Life Care Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Life Care residents pay half the published direct-admission daily rate for assisted living or nursing in the ARISE Health Center, for temporary or permanent stays, plus ancillary charges: $186 a day against the $372 direct-admit rate. Residents get priority access to Health Center beds, though access is not guaranteed.p. 212

Assisted living
Private Health Center room $186 a day for Life Care residents (50% of the published direct-admission daily rate); temporary semi-private room $165 a day.
Nursing care
Private Health Center room $186 a day for Life Care residents (50% of the published direct-admission daily rate); temporary semi-private room $165 a day.
Discount on care
50%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 12
Independent living177
Assisted living34
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care38

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Life Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $65,625 to $602,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
IL – Birch Studio ApartmentTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$65,625 to $71,250p. 19Not listed
IL – Cedar 1-Bedroom ApartmentTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$178,500 to $187,500p. 19$60,000
IL – Maple 2-Bedroom ApartmentTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$287,250 to $301,750p. 19$60,000
IL Enhanced Living – The Lawson Studio ApartmentTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$65,625p. 19Not listed
IL Enhanced Living – The Kimbrell 1-Bedroom ApartmentTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$178,500p. 19$60,000
IL – CottageTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$359,000 to $520,500p. 19$60,000
Stonecrest Villa – Laurel 1BR, 1½ BA, DenTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$325,000 to $350,000p. 19$60,000
Stonecrest Villa – Dogwood 2BR, 2 BATraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$377,000 to $405,000p. 19$60,000
Stonecrest Villa – Azalea 2BR, 2BA, DenTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$425,000 to $457,500p. 19$60,000
Stonecrest Villa – Rhododendron 2BR, 2½ BA, DenTraditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$486,000 to $522,500p. 19$60,000
Stonecrest Villa – Trillium 2BR, 2½ BA, Den (4th Floor)Traditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)$560,000 to $602,000p. 19$60,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Life Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $3,865 to $5,823)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
IL – Birch Studio ApartmentIndependent living$3,865p. 17$2,954
IL – Cedar 1-Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$4,443p. 17$3,311
IL – Maple 2-Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$5,081p. 17$3,570
IL Enhanced Living – The Lawson Studio ApartmentIndependent living$4,501p. 17$3,590
IL Enhanced Living – The Kimbrell 1-Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$5,079p. 17Not listed
IL – CottageIndependent living$4,691p. 18$1,693
Stonecrest Villa – Laurel 1BR, 1½ BA, DenIndependent living$3,927p. 18$1,603
Stonecrest Villa – Dogwood 2BR, 2 BAIndependent living$4,274p. 18$1,603
Stonecrest Villa – Azalea 2BR, 2BA, DenIndependent living$4,680p. 18$1,603
Stonecrest Villa – Rhododendron 2BR, 2½ BA, DenIndependent living$5,316p. 18$1,603
Stonecrest Villa – Trillium 2BR, 2½ BA, Den (4th Floor)Independent living$5,823p. 18$1,603

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 5%20212022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 5%20242025: 4.85%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.85%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2021Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 19

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Amortizing (0% after 25 months)p. 218

If residency ends within the first 25 months, the entrance fee is refunded less 4% for each month (or part month) of residency and a $1,000 administrative fee; after 25 months nothing is refunded, and there is never a refund on transfer to the Health Center. Any refund waits until a new resident has paid the full entrance fee for the unit.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Covenant Village, Inc.
  • Ratios: Covenant Village, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

233 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.92x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe audited balance sheet (Sept. 30, 2025) shows cash $0.55M, investments $6.30M and $3.91M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve, $10.75M in all; the 233 days appears to count that reserve. Cash and other investments alone ($6.84M) cover about 159 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses. The disclosure narrative gives two other 'unrestricted cash and investments' figures: $10,497,180 (Section 29.1) and $17,270,000 (Tables 29.1-29.2, which repeats the net projected operating costs line).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 44FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand233 days229 days173 days
Debt service coverage3.92x2.45x7.06x
Operating margin-32.4%-49.4%-19.8%
Total assets$55.3 million$32.4 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$47.0 million$24.3 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$20.9 million$3.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$19.7 million$17.8 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$8.3 million$8.1 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 44

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 142024p. 142023p. 142022p. 142021p. 14
Independent living97.4%93.6%92.6%93.4%91.3%
Assisted living96.3%97.3%94.1%71.9%71.2%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care89.3%89.1%75.2%80.7%80.1%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Covenant Village in Gastonia, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community founded in 1977 by a group of local churches, with 177 independent living units, 34 assisted living beds and 38 skilled nursing beds. Its Life Care Agreement has entrance fees from $65,625 to $602,000 for one person that become nonrefundable after 25 months, and Health Center care at half the direct-admission daily rate. Long-term debt rose from $3.2 million to $20.9 million in FY2025 to fund the Stonecrest Villa expansion.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.