Skip to content

The Cypress of Charlotte

3442 Cypress Club Dr., Charlotte, North Carolina 28210 · Community website

Operator:
The Cypress of Charlotte, LLC and The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. (managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1999

Members own their cottage or villa. The Cypress of Charlotte, LLC (for-profit, South Carolina LLC, developer) and The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. (501(c)(4) nonprofit, d/b/a The Stewart Health Center) both hold the continuing care contracts; The Cypress of Charlotte Homeowners Association, Inc. (for-profit corporation) owns the common property. The parent company of Life Care Services LLC indirectly owns The Cypress of Charlotte, LLC.

  • Equity

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Purchase + membership fee

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,826 to $6,873p. 30

Refund plans offered

None: residents buy their homes

Days cash on hand

104 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days.

Independent living occupancy

100% (2025)p. 26

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Equity: You buy your unit.

How the contract types compare

EquityThe filing calls it Membership Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Each Member gets 90 lifetime cumulative days of care in a semi-private room in the Health Care Facility at the current Monthly Payment plus meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the daily Member rate on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold, and the Member rate alone afterward; the disclosure calls it the 'member discounted rate' but states no discount size.p. 167

Assisted living
First 90 lifetime cumulative days at the Monthly Payment plus two extra meals a day and supplies; after that the applicable daily Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment
Nursing care
First 90 lifetime cumulative days at the Monthly Payment plus two extra meals a day and supplies; after that the applicable daily Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment
Care days included
90
Units on campusp. 25
Independent living310
Assisted living14
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care65

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residents buy their homes here rather than pay an entrance fee.

Residents buy their unit and sign a Membership Agreement; there is no entrance fee and no refund (Sections 22 and 24.3, pp32-33). A Membership Fee equal to 10% of the gross purchase price is paid to The Cypress of Charlotte, LLC at or before closing; it is non-refundable and non-transferable (p44, Section 39.1; Membership Agreement paragraphs 3-4, p163). On each resale the next buyer pays a new 10% Membership Fee, deducted from the resale price (p163). The agreement includes 90 lifetime cumulative days of care in the Health Care Facility at the Monthly Payment (plus two extra meals a day and supplies); after that the Member pays the daily Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment until the home is resold (p167, p28).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Membership Agreement · Equity (4 prices, $3,826 to $17,867)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$3,826 to $6,152p. 30$2,075
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$6,216 to $6,873p. 30$2,075
Assisted LivingAssisted living$10,388 to $17,867p. 30Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$7,594 to $10,848p. 30Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 6.75%20212022: 9.5%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 6%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 31
2024Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 31
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2022Independent livingAll units9.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2021Independent livingAll units6.75%Percent onlyp. 31

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents buy their homes, and the membership fee terms are under Entrance fees.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Charlotte Homeowners Association, Inc. (combined).

Days cash on hand

104 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

4.49x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresDays cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 106FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand104 days68 days77 days
Debt service coverage4.49x3.57x2.01x
Operating margin6.3%Not disclosedNot disclosed
Total assets$41.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$11.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$8.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$29.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 106

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 262024p. 262023p. 262022p. 262021p. 26
Independent living100%100%100%100%100%
Assisted living87.8%89.8%84.3%80.8%75.4%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care77.7%78.2%71%38.1%37.1%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Cypress of Charlotte is an ownership community where residents buy a cottage or villa and pay a membership fee of 10% of the purchase price instead of an entrance fee. At the end of 2025 it had 310 independent homes, 14 assisted living units and 65 nursing beds, with independent living 100% occupied. The membership includes 90 lifetime days of health-center care, after which the daily Member rate applies on top of the monthly fee.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.