Skip to content

Home › Compare

Cypress Glen Retirement Community and The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills compared

Two North Carolina communities about 74 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureCypress Glen Retirement CommunityThe East Tower at Cardinal North Hills
LocationGreenville, NCRaleigh, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Rental
Entrance fee, one person$24,156 to $408,720p. 33p. 34None: rental
Monthly fee, independent living$2,505 to $7,148p. 29p. 31$7,653 to $15,515p. 19
Refund plansStandard (0% after 50 months); 50% Return of Capital; 80% Return of Capital; 90% Return of Capitalp. 147p. 38p. 37None: rental contract
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 147p. 38p. 37None: rental contract
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 147p. 38p. 37None: rental contract
Days cash on hand700.69 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.8 days (FY2025)p. 2Cash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).
Its lenders' minimumAt least 250 daysp. 59Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage3.14x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.Not disclosed in the 2026 filingCash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).
Independent living occupancy97.2% (2025)p. 2598.9% (2025)p. 16
Net position$147.4 million (FY2025)p. 70−$172,750 (FY2025)p. 39
Whose financesThe United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated); ratios for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statementsp. 70Tower at The Cardinal, LLCp. 39
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 70Unmodified (clean) opinion, WithumSmith+Brown, PCp. 39
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)3 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Cypress Glen Retirement Community

Type B (modified): Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living, memory care or nursing combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the monthly fee. Beyond those days, and after a permanent move, the resident pays the per diem rate; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 140

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills

Rental: No care is prepaid. Assisted living is on site at market monthly fees plus point-based care charges; memory care and nursing require moving to the affiliate's Health Center at the adjacent Cardinal at North Hills, which ends this agreement and is fee-for-service.p. 111

Questions to ask both communities before you sign