Skip to content

Cypress Glen Retirement Community

100 Hickory Street, Greenville, North Carolina 27858 · Community website

Operator:
The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (North Carolina Annual Conference); the Conference is not responsible for UMRH's obligations
Opened:
1987

Owned and operated by The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (UMRH), which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$24,156 to $408,720p. 33p. 34

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,505 to $7,148p. 29p. 31

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Return of CapitalNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 80% Return of CapitalNever less than 80% of the fee
  • 90% Return of CapitalNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

700.69 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 250.Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements
Read the note on this figure

Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

Independent living occupancy

97.2% (2025)p. 25

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living, memory care or nursing combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the monthly fee. Beyond those days, and after a permanent move, the resident pays the per diem rate; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 140

Assisted living
Per diem: assisted living semi-private $314 a day, private $339; memory care private $357 a day; after 6 free days a year.
Nursing care
Per diem: semi-private $376 a day, private $401 a day; after 6 free days a year.
Care days included
6
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 24
Independent living212
Assisted living30
Memory care12
Nursing care30

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (44 prices, $24,156 to $408,720)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartments (A & B Wings) – StudioStandard (0% after 50 months)$24,156p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – SingleStandard (0% after 50 months)$29,405p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe SingleStandard (0% after 50 months)$41,894p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe StudioStandard (0% after 50 months)$48,305p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – CombinationStandard (0% after 50 months)$49,813p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe SuiteStandard (0% after 50 months)$58,805p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom MainStandard (0% after 50 months)$60,907p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom SuiteStandard (0% after 50 months)$72,982p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom SuiteStandard (0% after 50 months)$88,207p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom GrandStandard (0% after 50 months)$91,380p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom Den MainStandard (0% after 50 months)$93,866p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom Deluxe SuiteStandard (0% after 50 months)$93,866p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom FlexStandard (0% after 50 months)$100,510p. 33$10,707
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom Main GrandStandard (0% after 50 months)$110,871p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – One BedroomStandard (0% after 50 months)$117,144p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – One Bedroom DeluxeStandard (0% after 50 months)$123,485p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – Two BedroomStandard (0% after 50 months)$153,395p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – Two Bedroom DeluxeStandard (0% after 50 months)$177,667p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – Three BedroomStandard (0% after 50 months)$183,139p. 33$10,707
Apartment (D Wing) – Three Bedroom Special/DeluxeStandard (0% after 50 months)$203,318p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One Bedroom AlcoveStandard (0% after 50 months)$124,011p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One BedroomStandard (0% after 50 months)$131,145p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One Bedroom DenStandard (0% after 50 months)$144,901p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two BedroomStandard (0% after 50 months)$167,460p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two Bedroom BayStandard (0% after 50 months)$195,565p. 34$10,707
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two Bedroom Great RoomStandard (0% after 50 months)$220,387p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – HollyStandard (0% after 50 months)$231,920p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – PineStandard (0% after 50 months)$244,400p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – MapleStandard (0% after 50 months)$270,400p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – SpruceStandard (0% after 50 months)$284,960p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – CedarStandard (0% after 50 months)$296,400p. 34$10,707
Apartment (South Wing) – SycamoreStandard (0% after 50 months)$408,720p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Dogwood CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$157,431p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Cypress CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$198,787p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Birch CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$202,803p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Hawthorn VillaStandard (0% after 50 months)$264,833p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Alder CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$227,387p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Magnolia VillaStandard (0% after 50 months)$295,643p. 34$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Hawthorn CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$308,743p. 35$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Oak VillaStandard (0% after 50 months)$322,819p. 35$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Elm CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$267,528p. 35$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Willow CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$293,261p. 35$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Evergreen CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$296,888p. 35$10,707
Cottages and Garden Villas – Oak CottageStandard (0% after 50 months)$349,707p. 35$10,707

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (44 prices, $2,505 to $7,148)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartments (A & B Wings) – StudioIndependent living$2,505p. 29$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – SingleIndependent living$2,630p. 29$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe SingleIndependent living$3,285p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe StudioIndependent living$3,476p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – CombinationIndependent living$3,544p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – Deluxe SuiteIndependent living$3,735p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom MainIndependent living$3,798p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom SuiteIndependent living$3,821p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom SuiteIndependent living$4,000p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom GrandIndependent living$4,035p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom Den MainIndependent living$4,094p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom Deluxe SuiteIndependent living$4,094p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 1 Bedroom FlexIndependent living$4,094p. 30$1,461
Apartments (A & B Wings) – 2 Bedroom Main GrandIndependent living$4,185p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – One BedroomIndependent living$3,822p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$3,861p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – Two BedroomIndependent living$4,340p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – Two Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,980p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – Three BedroomIndependent living$5,298p. 30$1,461
Apartment (D Wing) – Three Bedroom Special/DeluxeIndependent living$5,617p. 30$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One Bedroom AlcoveIndependent living$3,834p. 30$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One BedroomIndependent living$3,860p. 31$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – One Bedroom DenIndependent living$4,099p. 31$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two BedroomIndependent living$4,359p. 31$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two Bedroom BayIndependent living$5,297p. 31$1,461
Apartment (East & West Wings) – Two Bedroom Great RoomIndependent living$5,694p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – HollyIndependent living$4,395p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – PineIndependent living$4,618p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – MapleIndependent living$5,131p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – SpruceIndependent living$5,385p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – CedarIndependent living$5,602p. 31$1,461
Apartment (South Wing) – SycamoreIndependent living$7,148p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Dogwood CottageIndependent living$4,290p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Cypress CottageIndependent living$5,298p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Birch CottageIndependent living$5,536p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Hawthorn VillaIndependent living$6,009p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Alder CottageIndependent living$5,776p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Magnolia VillaIndependent living$5,863p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Hawthorn CottageIndependent living$6,009p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Oak VillaIndependent living$6,066p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Elm CottageIndependent living$6,260p. 31$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Willow CottageIndependent living$6,387p. 32$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Evergreen CottageIndependent living$6,845p. 32$1,461
Cottages and Garden Villas – Oak CottageIndependent living$6,929p. 32$1,461

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4%20222023: 6%20232024: 4.75%20242025: 4.7%20252026: 3.6%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.6%Percent onlyp. 32
2025Independent livingAll units4.7%Percent onlyp. 32
2024Independent livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 32
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 32
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 32

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (0% after 50 months)p. 147

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee for each month of residency, so nothing is refunded after 50 months. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Return of Capitalp. 38

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 25 months and never drops below 50%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Entrance fees are stated to be 1.40 times the Standard fee.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

80% Return of Capitalp. 38

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 10 months and never drops below 80%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Entrance fees are stated to be 1.70 times the Standard fee.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 10 months
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Return of Capitalp. 37

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 5 months and never drops below 90%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Entrance fees are stated to be 1.92 times the Standard fee.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Cypress Glen Retirement Community is part of The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (Croasdaile Village, Cypress Glen, Wesley Pines); Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village file separate disclosure statements but share UMRH's group finances.
  • Balance sheet: The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements.

Days cash on hand

700.69 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.14x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresGroup figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 70FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand700.69 days690.8 days574.86 days
Debt service coverage3.14x2.43x3.22x
Operating margin13.97%12.23%10.03%
Total assets$493.3 million$478.8 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$345.9 million$347.2 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$196.9 million$216.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$97.0 million$96.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.5 million$14.5 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$147.4 million$131.6 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 70

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 252024p. 252023p. 252022p. 252021p. 25
Independent living97.2%96.8%97%96.7%95.5%
Assisted living98.1%97.7%97.2%95.1%84.3%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care87%85.7%86.2%78.7%73.6%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 1. Cypress Glen Retirement Community on Care Compare

In brief

Cypress Glen in Greenville, NC is a nonprofit United Methodist-related continuing care retirement community owned by The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., with 212 independent living units at 09/30/2025 plus 57 South Wing apartments that opened in January 2026, 30 assisted living and 12 memory care units, and 30 skilled nursing beds. Standard Residency Agreement entrance fees run from $24,156 to $408,720 for one person and are nonrefundable after 50 months; refundable plans cost more, and residents get 6 free days of care a year before per diem rates apply. Finances are reported for UMRH as a whole, which also runs Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.