Skip to content

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills

320 St. Albans Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 · Community website

Operator:
Tower at The Cardinal, LLC (managed by Kisco Senior Living, LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2023

Tower at The Cardinal, LLC is wholly owned by KSL Toledo Tenant, LLC (majority-owned by Andrew S. Kohlberg), which leases the building to it through April 2036 (rent $12.7M in FY2025). Memory care and skilled nursing are provided next door by affiliate The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC at the sister community The Cardinal at North Hills.

  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$7,653 to $15,515p. 19

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

8 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Cash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).

Independent living occupancy

98.9% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

RentalThe filing calls it Residency Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

No care is prepaid. Assisted living is on site at market monthly fees plus point-based care charges; memory care and nursing require moving to the affiliate's Health Center at the adjacent Cardinal at North Hills, which ends this agreement and is fee-for-service.p. 111

Assisted living
Separate Assisted Living Residence and Care Agreement: monthly fee $8,816-$12,703 plus level-of-care fees of $1,775 (Level I) to $4,800 (Level V) per month
Nursing care
Fee-for-service at The Cardinal at North Hills Health Center under a separate agreement with the affiliate; rates not stated in this disclosure
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living151
Assisted living49
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Rental CCRC: a one-time $50,000 community fee for independent living (non-refundable after the 30-day cancellation period) plus monthly fees; the initial term is 12 months. Assisted living is on site under a separate agreement with point-based level-of-care fees; memory care and skilled nursing are fee-for-service at the adjacent Cardinal at North Hills Health Center under a new agreement with the affiliate. One-time community fee: $50,000 (p. 21), non-refundable after the 30-day cancellation period (p. 22) — not an entrance fee.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Rental (7 prices, $7,653 to $15,515)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent living$7,653p. 19$1,105
1 Bedroom/1 Bath/DenIndependent living$8,656p. 19$1,105
2 Bedroom/ 2 BathIndependent living$10,666p. 19$1,105
2 Bedroom/2 Bath/DenIndependent living$10,787p. 19$1,105
2 Bedroom/2.5 Bath/DenIndependent living$12,816p. 19$1,105
2 Bedroom/2.5 Bath/Den DeluxeIndependent living$12,455p. 19$1,105
PenthouseIndependent living$15,515p. 19$1,105
Assisted Living Residence and Care Agreement · Rental (6 prices, $8,816 to $12,703)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
StudioAssisted living$8,816p. 19$1,300
1 Bedroom/1 BathAssisted living$10,950p. 19$1,300
1 Bedroom/1 Bath/DenAssisted living$10,935p. 19$1,300
2 Bedroom/1 BathAssisted living$11,937p. 19$1,300
2 Bedroom/2 BathAssisted living$12,315p. 19$1,300
2 Bedroom/2 Bath/DenAssisted living$12,703p. 20$1,300

Fee increases, year by year

2024: 6%20242025: 7.2%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units7.2%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Tower at The Cardinal, LLC.

Days cash on hand

8 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresCash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 39FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand8 days2 days0 days
Operating margin-1.65%-9.74%-40.43%
Total assets$1.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$1.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$172,750Not disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: WithumSmith+Brown, PC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 39

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 16
Independent living98.9%90.2%32.7%
Assisted living88%84.4%20.8%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
No rating
Quality measures
1 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $7,901. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. The Cardinal at North Hills on Care Compare

In brief

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills is a for-profit rental retirement community in an 18-story tower in Raleigh's North Hills, opened in June 2023 next to its sister community The Cardinal at North Hills. Independent living takes a $50,000 non-refundable community fee plus monthly fees of about $7,700-$15,500; assisted living is on site, while memory care and nursing are fee-for-service at the sister campus. At the end of 2025 it had 151 independent and 49 assisted living units, about 99% of independent living occupied. It held 8 days of cash on hand at the end of 2025 (2 in 2024, 0 in 2023), and its state-required operating reserve is a $6.8M bank letter of credit rather than cash.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.