Skip to content

Home › Compare

Cypress Glen Retirement Community and The Oaks at Whitaker Glen compared

Two North Carolina communities about 73 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureCypress Glen Retirement CommunityThe Oaks at Whitaker Glen
LocationGreenville, NCRaleigh, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$24,156 to $408,720p. 33p. 34$124,000 to $783,000p. 22p. 24
Monthly fee, independent living$2,505 to $7,148p. 29p. 31$2,500 to $6,200p. 21p. 23
Refund plansStandard (0% after 50 months); 50% Return of Capital; 80% Return of Capital; 90% Return of Capitalp. 147p. 38p. 37Lineage Plan (existing units); Heritage Plan (existing units); Lineage Plan (expansion units); Heritage Plan (expansion units); Legacy Plan (expansion units)p. 25
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 147p. 38p. 3775% of the feep. 25
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 147p. 38p. 37When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25
Days cash on hand700.69 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.171 days (FY2025)p. 2The 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.
Its lenders' minimumAt least 250 daysp. 59Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage3.14x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements. Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Croasdaile Village and Wesley Pines; it is not a Cypress Glen-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p70) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.Not disclosed in the 2026 filingThe 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.
Independent living occupancy97.2% (2025)p. 2560.9% (2025)p. 17
Net position$147.4 million (FY2025)p. 70$6.0 million (FY2025)p. 49
Whose financesThe United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated); ratios for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statementsp. 70Whitaker Glen, Inc.p. 49
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 70Unmodified (clean) opinion, Mauldin & Jenkins, LLCp. 49
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

Cypress Glen Retirement Community

Type B (modified): Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living, memory care or nursing combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the monthly fee. Beyond those days, and after a permanent move, the resident pays the per diem rate; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 140

The Oaks at Whitaker Glen

Type C (fee for service): No care is included. The campus has no assisted living or nursing today; residents are admitted to affiliated PruittHealth facilities when a bed is available and pay those facilities' customary rates, and stop paying the monthly service fee after a permanent transfer.p. 18

Questions to ask both communities before you sign