Skip to content

The Oaks at Whitaker Glen

501 East Whitaker Mill Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27608 · Community website

Operator:
Whitaker Glen, Inc.
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1984

Wholly owned by Cumberland Healthcare Properties, Inc.; ultimate parent United Health Services, Inc., whose affiliates include PruittHealth, Inc. (Subchapter S corporation). The campus real property is leased from affiliate Whitaker Glen Properties, Inc. through August 31, 2032.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$124,000 to $783,000p. 22p. 24

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,500 to $6,200p. 21p. 23

Refund plans offered

  • Lineage Plan (existing units)Can decline to nothing
  • Heritage Plan (existing units)Never less than 50% of the fee
  • Lineage Plan (expansion units)Can decline to nothing
  • Heritage Plan (expansion units)Never less than 50% of the fee
  • Legacy Plan (expansion units)Never less than 75% of the fee

Days cash on hand

171 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.

Independent living occupancy

60.9% (2025)p. 17

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

No care is included. The campus has no assisted living or nursing today; residents are admitted to affiliated PruittHealth facilities when a bed is available and pay those facilities' customary rates, and stop paying the monthly service fee after a permanent transfer.p. 18

Assisted living
Customary rates of the Health Care Center or affiliated facility
Nursing care
Customary rates of the Health Care Center or affiliated facility (PruittHealth – Raleigh, Carolina Point, Durham)
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living93
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Existing Unit Contract · Type C (fee for service) (6 prices, $124,000 to $305,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Existing - One BedroomLineage Plan (existing units)$124,000p. 22Not listed
Existing - One BedroomHeritage Plan (existing units)$184,000p. 22Not listed
Existing - Two BedroomLineage Plan (existing units)$208,000p. 22Not listed
Existing - Two BedroomHeritage Plan (existing units)$277,500p. 22Not listed
Existing - Two Bedroom DeluxeLineage Plan (existing units)$249,000p. 22Not listed
Existing - Two Bedroom DeluxeHeritage Plan (existing units)$305,000p. 22Not listed
Expansion Unit Contract · Type C (fee for service) (6 prices, $177,000 to $783,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Expansion - Studio (One Bedroom)Lineage Plan (expansion units)$177,000p. 23Not listed
Expansion - Studio (One Bedroom)Heritage Plan (expansion units)$276,000p. 23Not listed
Expansion - Studio (One Bedroom)Legacy Plan (expansion units)$348,000p. 23Not listed
Expansion - Duo (Two Bedroom)Lineage Plan (expansion units)$436,000p. 24Not listed
Expansion - Duo (Two Bedroom)Heritage Plan (expansion units)$695,000p. 24Not listed
Expansion - Duo (Two Bedroom)Legacy Plan (expansion units)$783,000p. 24Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Existing Unit Contract · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $2,500 to $3,800)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Existing - One BedroomIndependent living$2,500p. 21$1,000
Existing - Two BedroomIndependent living$3,300p. 21$1,000
Existing - Two Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$3,800p. 21$1,000
Expansion Unit Contract · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $2,500 to $6,200)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Expansion - Studio (One Bedroom)Independent living$2,500p. 23$1,100
Expansion - Duo (Two Bedroom)Independent living$6,200p. 23$1,100

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4.7%20212022: 7%20222023: 6.6%20232024: 6.7%20242025: -20.9%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units-20.9%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units6.7%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units6.6%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 21
2021Independent livingAll units4.7%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Lineage Plan (existing units)p. 25

The non-refundable initiation fee is kept. The residential entrance fee refund falls 4% a month and reaches $0 after 25 months. Paid within 30 days after your unit is occupied by another resident.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Heritage Plan (existing units)p. 25

The non-refundable initiation fee is kept. The residential entrance fee refund falls 2% a month for 25 months to a 50% floor. Paid within 30 days after your unit is occupied by another resident.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Lineage Plan (expansion units)p. 25

Refund falls 4% a month and reaches $0 after 25 months. Paid within 30 days through a floor-plan refund group: residents are paid in date order as units of the same floor plan are newly occupied.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Heritage Plan (expansion units)p. 25

Refund falls 2% a month for 25 months to a 50% floor. Paid within 30 days through a floor-plan refund group: residents are paid in date order as units of the same floor plan are newly occupied.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Legacy Plan (expansion units)p. 25

Refund falls 1% a month for 25 months to a 75% floor. Paid within 30 days through a floor-plan refund group: residents are paid in date order as units of the same floor plan are newly occupied.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
1% a month for 25 months
Never less than
75% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Whitaker Glen, Inc.

Days cash on hand

171 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresThe 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 49FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand171 days197 days258 days
Operating margin-83.6%-60.5%-23.4%
Total assets$18.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$12.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$1.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$4.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$6.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Mauldin & Jenkins, LLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 49

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 172024p. 172023p. 172022p. 172021p. 17
Independent living60.9%56%60%59%69%
Assisted livingNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed54%56.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-02 Whitaker Glen, Inc. and its affiliated landlord entered a construction financing arrangement with Hancock Whitney Bank for Phase Two, guaranteed by parent United Health Services, Inc.p. 15
  • 2022-07 The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022; the occupancy table lists skilled nursing as closed for 2023 through 2025.p. 17

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

The Oaks at Whitaker Glen is a for-profit retirement community in Raleigh, owned through Cumberland Healthcare Properties by United Health Services, Inc. (whose affiliates include PruittHealth), with 93 independent living units and no on-site assisted living or nursing since its skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022; a four-phase redevelopment plans 29 and then 112 more apartments, 102 assisted living units and 106 nursing beds. Care is fee-for-service at affiliated PruittHealth facilities, and entrance fees run from $124,000 for an existing one-bedroom to $783,000 for an expansion two-bedroom, with refund plans that fall over 25 months to 0%, 50% or 75%. Independent living occupancy averaged 60.9% in 2025, the audited net operating margin was -83.6%, and the provider had no long-term debt at year-end.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.