Skip to content

Home › Compare

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community and Givens Estates compared

Two North Carolina communities about 0 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureDeerfield Episcopal Retirement CommunityGivens Estates
LocationAsheville, NCAsheville, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType A (life care)Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$325,485 to $989,573p. 21p. 22$151,809 to $1,508,902p. 30p. 31
Monthly fee, independent living$3,917 to $6,664p. 19p. 20$2,859 to $5,765p. 29
Refund plansStandard Entrance Fee Option; 50% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 131p. 132Declining Balance (0% Refundable); 50% Refundable; 90% Refundable; Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 173p. 30
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 131p. 13290% of the feep. 173p. 30
When a refund is paidWithin a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 131p. 132When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 173p. 30
Days cash on hand1276 days (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).985 days (FY2025)p. 2Debt service coverage fell to 0.53x in 2025, which the statement attributes to cash transfers made to acquire Givens Aldersgate (it was 4.4x in 2024). The 985 days does not match Section 29, which gives $63.0M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 555 days). On the Estates balance sheet it reconciles only by counting $9.6M of Special Use Funds investments (the column holding donor-restricted net assets) and $4.1M of assets limited as to use alongside cash and operating-fund investments ($111.9M, about 985 days). Cash ($10.0M) and operating-fund investments ($88.2M) alone, $98.2M, cover about 865 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($47.76M less $6.29M depreciation).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage7.41x (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).0.53x (FY2025)p. 2Debt service coverage fell to 0.53x in 2025, which the statement attributes to cash transfers made to acquire Givens Aldersgate (it was 4.4x in 2024). The 985 days does not match Section 29, which gives $63.0M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 555 days). On the Estates balance sheet it reconciles only by counting $9.6M of Special Use Funds investments (the column holding donor-restricted net assets) and $4.1M of assets limited as to use alongside cash and operating-fund investments ($111.9M, about 985 days). Cash ($10.0M) and operating-fund investments ($88.2M) alone, $98.2M, cover about 865 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($47.76M less $6.29M depreciation).
Independent living occupancy97% (2025)p. 1797.64% (2025)p. 23
Net position$124.8 million (FY2025)p. 49$133.3 million (FY2025)p. 89
Whose financesDeerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliate (Deerfield Charitable Foundation), consolidated; ratios for Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. (provider only)p. 49Givens Estates, Inc. (Estates columns of the audited consolidating balance sheet); ratios for Givens Estates, Inc. (provider only)p. 89
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 49Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 89
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community

Type A (life care): On moving to assisted living or skilled nursing, a resident continues to pay the monthly fee for the residence they occupied at the time of transfer, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary services such as medications and therapy. Upgraded care accommodations cost the difference between direct-admission rates.p. 126

Givens Estates

Type C (fee for service): Assisted living and nursing are fee-for-service: a resident who moves permanently gives up the residence and pays the published per diem rate instead of the monthly fee, plus ancillaries and any Level of Care Fee; a temporary stay adds the per diem to the monthly fee. Per diem health center fees are also deducted from any entrance fee refund.p. 165

Questions to ask both communities before you sign