Skip to content

Givens Estates

2360 Sweeten Creek Road, Asheville, North Carolina 28803 · Community website

Operator:
Givens Estates, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1979

Parent of the Givens Communities group (Givens Highland Farms, Givens Aldersgate, Givens Choice and others); managed by Givens Communities, LLC since 9/1/2025. Finances shown are Givens Estates' own columns of the group audit.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$151,809 to $1,508,902p. 30p. 31

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,859 to $5,765p. 29

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% Refundable)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

985 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Debt service coverage fell to 0.53x in 2025, which the statement attributes to cash transfers made to acquire Givens Aldersgate (it was 4.4x in 2024). The 985 days does not match Section 29, which gives $63.0M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 555 days). On the Estates balance sheet it reconciles only by counting $9.6M of Special Use Funds investments (the column holding donor-restricted net assets) and $4.1M of assets limited as to use alongside cash and operating-fund investments ($111.9M, about 985 days). Cash ($10.0M) and operating-fund investments ($88.2M) alone, $98.2M, cover about 865 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($47.76M less $6.29M depreciation).

Independent living occupancy

97.64% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living and nursing are fee-for-service: a resident who moves permanently gives up the residence and pays the published per diem rate instead of the monthly fee, plus ancillaries and any Level of Care Fee; a temporary stay adds the per diem to the monthly fee. Per diem health center fees are also deducted from any entrance fee refund.p. 165

Assisted living
Per diem fee for the health care residence at current published rates; on a permanent move the independent living monthly fee stops. Current assisted living monthly fees $7,447-$12,243.
Nursing care
Per diem fee at current published rates, plus any daily Level of Care Fee; on a permanent move the independent living monthly fee stops. Current skilled nursing $435-$545 a day.
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living470
Assisted living56
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care70

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (9 prices, $151,809 to $1,508,902)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – AsburyRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$162,812 to $388,369p. 30$15,000
Independent Living – VillasRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$151,809 to $362,117p. 30$15,000
Independent Living – Duplexes – Lovely LaneRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$315,395 to $752,265p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – Houses – Wesley DriveRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$331,741 to $791,256p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – Duplexes – CokesburyRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$547,130 to $1,304,940p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – OxfordRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$401,102 to $956,682p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – CottagesRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$632,651 to $1,508,902p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – CreeksideRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$496,125 to $1,183,275p. 31$15,000
Independent Living – Friendship ParkRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$395,420 to $943,134p. 31$15,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (12 prices, $2,859 to $12,243)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – AsburyIndependent living$2,859p. 29$1,020
Independent Living – VillasIndependent living$2,927p. 29$1,125
Independent Living – Duplexes – Lovely LaneIndependent living$4,032p. 29$1,341
Independent Living – Houses – Wesley DriveIndependent living$4,230p. 29$1,341
Independent Living – Duplexes – CokesburyIndependent living$5,194p. 29$1,592
Independent Living – OxfordIndependent living$4,980p. 29$1,605
Independent Living – CottagesIndependent living$5,765p. 29$1,605
Independent Living – CreeksideIndependent living$5,136p. 29$1,605
Independent Living – Friendship ParkIndependent living$3,808p. 30$1,597
Assisted Living – Studio ApartmentAssisted living$7,447p. 30Not listed
Assisted Living – Deluxe StudioAssisted living$8,160p. 30Not listed
Assisted Living – One Bedroom ApartmentAssisted living$12,243p. 30$2,711

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4.8%20222023: 7.9%20232024: 5.6%20242025: 4.5%20252026: 4.25%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 30
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 30
2024Independent livingAll units5.6%Percent onlyp. 30
2023Independent livingAll units7.9%Percent onlyp. 30
2022Independent livingAll units4.8%Percent onlyp. 30

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% Refundable)p. 173

6% of the entrance fee becomes nonrefundable at occupancy and 2% more on the first of each month after, so nothing is refundable after about four years. Any refund is reduced by per diem fees for stays in the Givens Estates Health Center, and is paid once a replacement entrance fee is received for the residence or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 47 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Refundablep. 173

Higher entrance fee. 6% becomes nonrefundable at occupancy and 2% more each month until the refund reaches 50% of the fee, about two years in. Any refund is reduced by per diem fees for stays in the Givens Estates Health Center, and is paid once a replacement entrance fee is received for the residence or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 22 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Refundablep. 173

Highest entrance fee. 6% becomes nonrefundable at occupancy and 2% more each month until the refund reaches 90% of the fee, within the first few months. Any refund is reduced by per diem fees for stays in the Givens Estates Health Center, and is paid once a replacement entrance fee is received for the residence or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 2 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 30

The filing prints only one overall single-occupant entrance-fee range per residence type (Table 21.3) and does not say which refund plan (Declining Balance, 50% or 90% Refundable) either end of the range belongs to. The refund terms of each plan are listed separately.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Givens Estates, Inc. (Estates columns of the audited consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Givens Estates, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

985 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

0.53x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresDebt service coverage fell to 0.53x in 2025, which the statement attributes to cash transfers made to acquire Givens Aldersgate (it was 4.4x in 2024). The 985 days does not match Section 29, which gives $63.0M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 555 days). On the Estates balance sheet it reconciles only by counting $9.6M of Special Use Funds investments (the column holding donor-restricted net assets) and $4.1M of assets limited as to use alongside cash and operating-fund investments ($111.9M, about 985 days). Cash ($10.0M) and operating-fund investments ($88.2M) alone, $98.2M, cover about 865 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($47.76M less $6.29M depreciation).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 89FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand985 days804 days800 days
Debt service coverage0.53x4.40x4.50x
Operating margin7.85%9.9%8.22%
Total assets$273.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$140.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$30.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$76.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$133.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 89

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 232024p. 232023p. 232022p. 232021p. 23
Independent living97.64%98.08%97.73%97.81%96.24%
Assisted living98.02%96.97%94.32%94.6%86.92%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care95.88%93.34%95.92%94.52%82.35%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-09 Givens Estates, Inc. acquired Aldersgate United Methodist Retirement Community, Inc. (Givens Aldersgate), a CCRC in Charlotte, on September 1, 2025; Givens Aldersgate is not in the bond obligated group.p. 67

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 19. Givens Health Center on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1993. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Givens Estates in Asheville, NC opened in 1979 and had 470 independent living units, 56 assisted living units and 70 skilled nursing beds at the end of 2025. Its single fee-for-service contract comes with 0%, 50% or 90% refund options; single-occupant entrance fees are printed only as ranges per residence type, from $151,809 to $1,508,902 overall, plus $15,000 for a second person, and assisted living and nursing are billed at per diem rates. In September 2025 it acquired Aldersgate, a Charlotte retirement community, and its 2025 debt service coverage was 0.53x.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.