Skip to content

Home › Compare

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community and Pisgah Valley Retirement Community compared

Two North Carolina communities about 9 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureDeerfield Episcopal Retirement CommunityPisgah Valley Retirement Community
LocationAsheville, NCCandler, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType A (life care)Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$325,485 to $989,573p. 21p. 22$257,589 to $466,433p. 21
Monthly fee, independent living$3,917 to $6,664p. 19p. 20$2,426p. 20
Refund plansStandard Entrance Fee Option; 50% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 131p. 1320% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 24
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 131p. 13290% of the feep. 24
When a refund is paidWithin a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 131p. 132When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 24
Days cash on hand1276 days (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).215 days (FY2025)p. 2Uses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage7.41x (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).2.13x (FY2025)p. 2Uses the audited balance sheet's $9,634,971 of cash ($8,419,070) and investments ($1,215,901), which Section 29.1 also states and which gives 215 days on 2025 cash expenses. Tables 29.1-29.2 print $10,472,319 instead (about 234 days). The balance sheet also carries $20,857,249 receivable from related parties and a $3,632,968 owners' note that was due and unpaid at year-end; neither is counted.
Independent living occupancy97% (2025)p. 1797.8% (2025)p. 17
Net position$124.8 million (FY2025)p. 49$4.1 million (FY2025)p. 47
Whose financesDeerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliate (Deerfield Charitable Foundation), consolidated; ratios for Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. (provider only)p. 49Pisgah Valley (Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC, combined); ratios for Pisgah Valley Retirement Center, LLC and Pisgah Valley Retirement Center Properties, LLC (provider only)p. 47
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 49Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 47
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)2 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community

Type A (life care): On moving to assisted living or skilled nursing, a resident continues to pay the monthly fee for the residence they occupied at the time of transfer, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary services such as medications and therapy. Upgraded care accommodations cost the difference between direct-admission rates.p. 126

Pisgah Valley Retirement Community

Type C (fee for service): Residents pay the then-current Health Care Residence rate for assisted living or nursing, on top of their apartment fee while temporarily transferred; the 24 assisted living units and 118 nursing beds are open to the public but residents get priority. If no bed is free on a permanent transfer, Pisgah Valley arranges care elsewhere and pays any cost above its own rate.p. 100

Questions to ask both communities before you sign