Skip to content

Home › Compare

Friendship Retirement Community and Brandon Oaks compared

Two Virginia communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureFriendship Retirement CommunityBrandon Oaks
LocationRoanoke, VARoanoke, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF
Contract typesRentalType A (life care), Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one personNone: rental$76,900 to $697,700p. 90
Monthly fee, independent living$1,037 to $2,382p. 87$3,008 to $6,408p. 90
Refund plansNone: rental contractTraditional; 50% Refundable; 90% Refundablep. 17
Highest guaranteed refundNone: rental contract90% of the feep. 17
When a refund is paidNone: rental contractWithin a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 17
Days cash on handNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).301 days (FY2022)p. 137Figures for Brandon Oaks (DSC); Virginia Lutheran Homes Obligated Group (days cash). Days cash on hand is for the Obligated Group (VLH corporate plus Brandon Oaks), from audit supplementary schedules; debt service coverage is Brandon Oaks alone (Obligated Group 1.39x).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingAt least 120 daysp. 123
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).1.43x (FY2022)p. 137Figures for Brandon Oaks (DSC); Virginia Lutheran Homes Obligated Group (days cash). Days cash on hand is for the Obligated Group (VLH corporate plus Brandon Oaks), from audit supplementary schedules; debt service coverage is Brandon Oaks alone (Obligated Group 1.39x).
Independent living occupancy91.7% (2025)p. 1584.9% (2022)p. 141
Net position$21.5 million (FY2025)p. 152−$17.8 million (FY2022)p. 141
Whose financesFriendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative)p. 152Brandon Oaks (Virginia Lutheran Homes, Inc. column); ratios for Brandon Oaks (DSC); Virginia Lutheran Homes Obligated Group (days cash)p. 141
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Brown Edwards (audit of Friendship Foundation and Subsidiaries, consolidated)p. 152Unmodified (clean) opinion, Brown Edwardsp. 141
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Friendship Retirement Community

Rental: No care is included or discounted: monthly fees cover housing and services plus a visiting-nurse response and assessment program only. Assisted living and nursing are run by legally separate affiliates and paid for separately (p15, p19).p. 19

Brandon Oaks

Type A (life care): Life care residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing keep paying their Monthly Service Fee plus two extra meals a day, with priority for admission over the outside community.p. 15

Type B (modified): Covers 365 cumulative days of assisted living or nursing at the prevailing monthly fee (after Medicare or insurance pays its part); after that care is charged at private pay rates. Entrance fees are $25,000 lower (single) than the matching life care plan.p. 54

Questions to ask both communities before you sign