Skip to content

Friendship Retirement Community

367 Hershberger Road NW, Roanoke, Virginia 24012

Operator:
Friendship Apartment Village Corporation
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1967

Non-stock nonprofit; sole member Friendship Foundation. Affiliates on the same campus (Friendship Health and Rehab Center - nursing; Eastwood Assisted Living) are legally distinct and not responsible for the provider's obligations (p14-15).

  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,037 to $2,382p. 87

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Independent living occupancy

91.7% (2025)p. 15

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Rental

No care is included or discounted: monthly fees cover housing and services plus a visiting-nurse response and assessment program only. Assisted living and nursing are run by legally separate affiliates and paid for separately (p15, p19).p. 19

Assisted living
Not provided by this provider. Affiliate Eastwood Assisted Living operates assisted living on the same campus at its own rates; respite stays $188-$200/day.
Nursing care
Not provided by this provider. Affiliates Friendship Health and Rehab Center and Richfield Health Center charge $325-$485/day long-term/skilled and $355-$432/day memory care.
Units on campusp. 13
Independent living325
Assisted livingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2025 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Independent living only, by one-year residency agreement or lease with automatic one-year renewals; 'All accommodations offered by the Provider are for a period of one year or less except for the life lease program' (p21). Life leases (lump-sum pre-paid rent, approx. $9,000 to over $70,000) have not been offered since 1986; 2 life lessee units remained at 6/30/2025 (p15, p17, p21). New residents pay a one-month security deposit (rental lease) or a one-time non-refundable service initiation fee equal to one month's fee (residency agreement) (p23, p30).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement / annual lease (rental) · Rental (19 prices, $1,037 to $2,382)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Village 1 BRIndependent living$1,037 to $1,278p. 87Not listed
Village 2 BRIndependent living$1,218p. 87Not listed
Village 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$1,332p. 87Not listed
Westwood 1 BRIndependent living$1,229p. 87Not listed
Westwood 1 BR w/balconyIndependent living$1,297p. 87Not listed
Westwood 2 BR w/balconyIndependent living$1,469p. 87Not listed
Westwood 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$1,664p. 87Not listed
Northhampton 1 BR w/ balcony or terraceIndependent living$1,232p. 87Not listed
Northhampton 2 BR w/ balcony or terraceIndependent living$1,362p. 87Not listed
Northhampton 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$1,808p. 87Not listed
Regency I & II 1 BRIndependent living$1,246p. 87Not listed
Regency I & II 2 BRIndependent living$1,433p. 87Not listed
Regency I & II 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$1,795p. 87Not listed
Wellington I 2 BRIndependent living$1,996p. 87Not listed
Wellington I 3 BRIndependent living$2,382p. 87Not listed
Wellington II & III 2 BRIndependent living$1,863 to $2,120p. 87Not listed
Wellington II & III 3 BRIndependent living$2,206 to $2,278p. 87Not listed
Wellington IV 1 BRIndependent living$1,398 to $1,538p. 87Not listed
Wellington IV 2 BRIndependent living$2,140 to $2,201p. 87Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingVillage 2 BR5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,160 to $1,218p. 87
2025Independent livingWestwood 1 BR6%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,159 to $1,229p. 87
2024Independent livingVillage 2 BR6.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,093 to $1,160p. 87
2024Independent livingWestwood 1 BR4.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,106 to $1,159p. 87
2023Independent livingVillage 2 BR6%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,031 to $1,093p. 87
2023Independent livingWestwood 1 BR6%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,043 to $1,106p. 87
2022Independent livingVillage 2 BR3%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,001 to $1,031p. 87
2022Independent livingWestwood 1 BR1.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,028 to $1,043p. 87
2021Independent livingVillage 2 BR2.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$976 to $1,001p. 87
2021Independent livingWestwood 1 BR0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,028 to $1,028p. 87

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Friendship Retirement Community is part of Friendship Apartment Village Corporation (Hershberger Rd campus, Roanoke, and Friendship RL, LLC / Richfield Living campus, Salem); sole member Friendship Foundation.
  • Balance sheet: Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 152FY2024p. 152
Total assets$38.5 million$37.4 million
Total liabilities$16.9 million$17.4 million
Long-term debtNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$21.5 million$20.0 million

Auditor: Brown Edwards (audit of Friendship Foundation and Subsidiaries, consolidated). Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 152

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 15
Independent living91.7%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Friendship Retirement Community's independent living apartments on Hershberger Road in Roanoke have been run by the nonprofit Friendship Apartment Village Corporation since 1967. Residents rent on one-year agreements; no entrance fee is charged and no care is included, with assisted living and nursing offered separately by affiliated organizations. FYE 6/30/2025 monthly rents ran from $1,037 to $2,382.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Brandon Oaks

    Roanoke · 5 miles away

    Entrance fee: $76,900 to $697,700

  • The Glebe

    Daleville · 7 miles away

    Entrance fee: $165,000 to $875,000

  • The Summit

    Lynchburg · 39 miles away

    Entrance fee: $133,000 to $891,000

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.