Home › Compare
Galloway Ridge at Fearrington and The Cedars of Chapel Hill compared
Two North Carolina communities about 9 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Galloway Ridge at Fearrington | The Cedars of Chapel Hill |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Pittsboro, NC | Chapel Hill, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care) | Equity |
| Entrance fee, one person | $275,000 to $1,723,000p. 17p. 19 | Purchase + membership fee |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $4,415 to $8,495p. 22p. 23 | $5,255 to $6,940p. 20 |
| Refund plans | Traditional (declining to 0%); 75% Return-of-Capitalp. 25 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 75% of the feep. 25 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 25 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Days cash on hand | 197 days (FY2025)p. 2The reported 197 days counts all $18.7M in Table 29.2, which is cash of $2.6M plus the $7.4M statutory operating reserve and $8.7M of board-designated funds; Galloway Ridge holds no other unrestricted investments. Cash alone covers about 28 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($39.07M total expenses less $4.46M depreciation and amortization); cash plus board-designated funds, leaving out the statutory reserve, about 120 days. | 88.1 days (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 2.07x (FY2025)p. 2The reported 197 days counts all $18.7M in Table 29.2, which is cash of $2.6M plus the $7.4M statutory operating reserve and $8.7M of board-designated funds; Galloway Ridge holds no other unrestricted investments. Cash alone covers about 28 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($39.07M total expenses less $4.46M depreciation and amortization); cash plus board-designated funds, leaving out the statutory reserve, about 120 days. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingDays cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97.3% (2025)p. 15 | 100% (2025)p. 16 |
| Net position | −$17.6 million (FY2025)p. 48 | $6.7 million (FY2025)p. 38 |
| Whose finances | Galloway Ridge, Inc.; ratios for Galloway Ridge, Inc. (sole member of the obligated group)p. 48 | The Cedars of Chapel Hill Club, Inc.p. 38 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 48 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Hawley, C.P.A., P.A.p. 38 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Galloway Ridge at Fearrington
Type A (life care): Residents receive assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing in The Arbor at no extra charge beyond their monthly fee, paying only for two additional meals a day, physician services and ancillary supplies. Residents have priority access to The Arbor over outside admissions.p. 120
The Cedars of Chapel Hill
Equity: Each Member gets 90 cumulative lifetime days of assisted living or nursing in DuBose Health Center without extra charge beyond the Monthly Payment, meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment, and keeps Member rates even if the home is sold; if DuBose has no bed, the Club pays any increased charge at another facility.p. 120