Skip to content

Galloway Ridge at Fearrington

3000 Galloway Ridge, Pittsboro, North Carolina 27312 · Community website

Operator:
Galloway Ridge, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2005

Leases 1.774 acres of the site from GRI Properties, LLC through December 31, 2040.

  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$275,000 to $1,723,000p. 17p. 19

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,415 to $8,495p. 22p. 23

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional (declining to 0%)Can decline to nothing
  • 75% Return-of-CapitalNever less than 75% of the fee

Days cash on hand

197 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The reported 197 days counts all $18.7M in Table 29.2, which is cash of $2.6M plus the $7.4M statutory operating reserve and $8.7M of board-designated funds; Galloway Ridge holds no other unrestricted investments. Cash alone covers about 28 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($39.07M total expenses less $4.46M depreciation and amortization); cash plus board-designated funds, leaving out the statutory reserve, about 120 days.

Independent living occupancy

97.3% (2025)p. 15

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Residents receive assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing in The Arbor at no extra charge beyond their monthly fee, paying only for two additional meals a day, physician services and ancillary supplies. Residents have priority access to The Arbor over outside admissions.p. 120

Assisted living
Same monthly fee as the independent living residence, plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges.
Nursing care
Same monthly fee as the independent living residence, plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 13
Independent living300
Assisted living36
Memory care20
Nursing care40

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Traditional Residence and Care Agreement (Plan A) · Type A (life care) (26 prices, $275,000 to $1,002,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Barnsley (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$275,000p. 17$55,000
Barnsley Deluxe (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$302,000p. 17$55,000
Claremont (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$350,000p. 17$55,000
Chelsea (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$350,000p. 17$55,000
Kent (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$309,000p. 17$55,000
Somerset (1-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$361,000p. 17$55,000
Marston (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$373,000p. 17$55,000
Wycombe (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$407,000p. 17$55,000
Sutton (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$432,000p. 17$55,000
Sutton II (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$474,000p. 17$55,000
Abbey (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$491,000p. 17$55,000
Abbey Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$510,000p. 17$55,000
Windsor Standard (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$421,000p. 17$55,000
Windsor Plus (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$453,000p. 17$55,000
Windsor Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$486,000p. 17$55,000
Oxford (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$486,000p. 18$55,000
Devon (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$486,000p. 18$55,000
York (2-bedroom apartment)Traditional (declining to 0%)$538,000p. 18$55,000
Chelsea (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$426,000p. 18$55,000
Exbury (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$582,000p. 18$55,000
Abbotsford (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$640,000p. 18$55,000
Abbotsford Deluxe (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$682,000p. 18$55,000
Durham (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$631,000p. 18$55,000
Westbury (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$755,000p. 18$55,000
Kensington (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$1,002,000p. 18$55,000
Chatham (Villa)Traditional (declining to 0%)$771,000p. 18$55,000
75% Return-of-Capital Residence and Care Agreement (Plan C) · Type A (life care) (26 prices, $473,000 to $1,723,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Barnsley (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$473,000p. 18$79,000
Barnsley Deluxe (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$519,000p. 18$79,000
Claremont (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$602,000p. 18$79,000
Chelsea (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$602,000p. 18$79,000
Kent (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$531,000p. 18$79,000
Somerset (1-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$621,000p. 18$79,000
Marston (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$642,000p. 19$79,000
Wycombe (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$700,000p. 19$79,000
Sutton (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$743,000p. 19$79,000
Sutton II (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$815,000p. 19$79,000
Abbey (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$845,000p. 19$79,000
Abbey Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$877,000p. 19$79,000
Windsor Standard (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$724,000p. 19$79,000
Windsor Plus (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$779,000p. 19$79,000
Windsor Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$836,000p. 19$79,000
Oxford (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$836,000p. 19$79,000
Devon (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$836,000p. 19$79,000
York (2-bedroom apartment)75% Return-of-Capital$925,000p. 19$79,000
Chelsea (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$733,000p. 19$79,000
Exbury (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,001,000p. 19$79,000
Abbotsford (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,101,000p. 19$79,000
Abbotsford Deluxe (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,173,000p. 19$79,000
Durham (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,085,000p. 19$79,000
Westbury (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,299,000p. 19$79,000
Kensington (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,723,000p. 19$79,000
Chatham (Villa)75% Return-of-Capital$1,326,000p. 19$79,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Traditional Residence and Care Agreement (Plan A) · Type A (life care) (26 prices, $4,415 to $8,495)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Barnsley (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,415p. 22$1,782
Barnsley Deluxe (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,596p. 22$1,782
Claremont (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,579p. 22$1,782
Chelsea (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,579p. 22$1,782
Kent (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,849p. 22$1,782
Somerset (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,677p. 22$1,782
Marston (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,192p. 22$1,782
Wycombe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,498p. 22$1,782
Sutton (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,020p. 22$1,782
Sutton II (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,560p. 22$1,782
Abbey (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,761p. 22$1,782
Abbey Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,989p. 22$1,782
Windsor Standard (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,512p. 22$1,782
Windsor Plus (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,025p. 22$1,782
Windsor Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,205p. 22$1,782
Oxford (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,532p. 22$1,782
Devon (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,532p. 22$1,782
York (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,698p. 22$1,616
Chelsea (Villa)Independent living$5,579p. 23$1,782
Exbury (Villa)Independent living$7,151p. 23$1,782
Abbotsford (Villa)Independent living$7,267p. 23$1,782
Abbotsford Deluxe (Villa)Independent living$8,373p. 23$1,782
Durham (Villa)Independent living$7,565p. 23$1,782
Westbury (Villa)Independent living$8,253p. 23$1,782
Kensington (Villa)Independent living$8,495p. 23$1,782
Chatham (Villa)Independent living$7,745p. 23$1,782
75% Return-of-Capital Residence and Care Agreement (Plan C) · Type A (life care) (26 prices, $4,415 to $8,495)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Barnsley (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,415p. 22$1,782
Barnsley Deluxe (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,596p. 22$1,782
Claremont (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,579p. 22$1,782
Chelsea (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,579p. 22$1,782
Kent (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$4,849p. 22$1,782
Somerset (1-bedroom apartment)Independent living$5,677p. 22$1,782
Marston (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,192p. 22$1,782
Wycombe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,498p. 22$1,782
Sutton (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,020p. 22$1,782
Sutton II (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,560p. 22$1,782
Abbey (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,761p. 22$1,782
Abbey Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,989p. 22$1,782
Windsor Standard (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$6,512p. 22$1,782
Windsor Plus (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,025p. 22$1,782
Windsor Deluxe (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,205p. 22$1,782
Oxford (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,532p. 22$1,782
Devon (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,532p. 22$1,782
York (2-bedroom apartment)Independent living$7,698p. 22$1,616
Chelsea (Villa)Independent living$5,579p. 23$1,782
Exbury (Villa)Independent living$7,151p. 23$1,782
Abbotsford (Villa)Independent living$7,267p. 23$1,782
Abbotsford Deluxe (Villa)Independent living$8,373p. 23$1,782
Durham (Villa)Independent living$7,565p. 23$1,782
Westbury (Villa)Independent living$8,253p. 23$1,782
Kensington (Villa)Independent living$8,495p. 23$1,782
Chatham (Villa)Independent living$7,745p. 23$1,782

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.75%20212022: 5.1%20222023: 5.75%20232024: 6.9%20242025: 5.2%20252026: 5.2%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units5.2%Percent onlyp. 24
2025Independent livingAll units5.2%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Independent livingAll units6.9%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Independent livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Independent livingAll units5.1%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 24

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional (declining to 0%)p. 25

4% of the entrance fee is kept and the refund falls a further 2% of the fee for each month or partial month of occupancy, so nothing is repayable after 48 months. Any repayment is made within 30 days after a new resident occupies the unit and pays their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

75% Return-of-Capitalp. 25

In the first 12 months the refund is the fee less 1% and less 2% a month of occupancy; after 12 months it is 75% of the entrance fee, without interest. Repayment is made within 30 days after a new resident occupies the unit and pays their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
1% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 12 months
Never less than
75% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Galloway Ridge, Inc.
  • Ratios: Galloway Ridge, Inc. (sole member of the obligated group).

Days cash on hand

197 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.07x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe reported 197 days counts all $18.7M in Table 29.2, which is cash of $2.6M plus the $7.4M statutory operating reserve and $8.7M of board-designated funds; Galloway Ridge holds no other unrestricted investments. Cash alone covers about 28 days of 2025 cash operating expenses ($39.07M total expenses less $4.46M depreciation and amortization); cash plus board-designated funds, leaving out the statutory reserve, about 120 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 48FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand197 days196 days197 days
Debt service coverage2.07x2.12x1.53x
Operating margin0.1%1.4%-2.6%
Total assets$145.4 million$143.2 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$163.0 million$165.1 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$62.1 million$64.5 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$62.5 million$61.5 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$30.6 million$30.7 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$17.6 million−$21.9 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 48

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 152024p. 152023p. 152022p. 152021p. 15
Independent living97.3%96.5%95.6%96.4%96.7%
Assisted living90.7%91.4%76.6%66.5%66.1%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care82%72.1%70.5%64.3%55.3%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Galloway Ridge at Fearrington in Pittsboro, NC opened in 2005 and has 300 independent living units plus 36 assisted living, 20 memory care and 40 skilled nursing units in its health center, The Arbor, as of December 31, 2025. It offers life-care contracts with entrance fees from $275,000 to $1,002,000 for one person under the Traditional plan, or $473,000 to $1,723,000 under the 75% Return-of-Capital plan, and care in The Arbor at the same monthly fee plus extra meals. The audited balance sheet shows a net deficit of $17.6 million at the end of 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.