Home › Compare
Givens Aldersgate and Brookdale Carriage Club Providence compared
Two North Carolina communities about 7 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Givens Aldersgate | Brookdale Carriage Club Providence |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | $238,794 to $928,258p. 29 | None: rental |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,572 to $6,266p. 27p. 28 | $4,285 to $7,530p. 22p. 23 |
| Refund plans | 0% Refundable (Declining Balance); 50% Refundablep. 32 | None: rental contract |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 32 | None: rental contract |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 32 | None: rental contract |
| Days cash on hand | 225 days (FY2025)p. 46Figures for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only). FY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant. | 429 days (FY2025)p. 2Counts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48). |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 3.46x (FY2025)p. 46Figures for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only). FY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant. | 2.40x (FY2025)p. 2Counts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48). |
| Independent living occupancy | 91.3% (2025)p. 22 | 85.8% (2025)p. 19 |
| Net position | $39.1 million (FY2025)p. 46 | $27.3 million (FY2025)p. 43 |
| Whose finances | Givens Aldersgate (Aldersgate column of the Givens Estates consolidating balance sheet); ratios for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only)p. 46 | ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC d/b/a Brookdale Carriage Club Providence (stand-alone); ratios for ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC (provider only)p. 43 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 46 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, LBMC, PCp. 43 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 2 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Givens Aldersgate
Type C (fee for service): Health care is fee-for-service at the community's current rates; residents have priority access to health care residences before non-residents, on a space-available basis.p. 28
Brookdale Carriage Club Providence
Rental: Assisted living (Coach House), memory care (the Arbors) and the healthcare center are on campus and available at an additional fee to the extent space is available. No care days, discount or priority are promised in the contract.p. 20