Skip to content

Givens Aldersgate

3800 Shamrock Drive, Charlotte, North Carolina 28215 · Community website

Operator:
Givens Communities, LLC (management agreement effective 9/1/2025)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (Western North Carolina heritage)
Opened:
1948

Legal provider is Aldersgate United Methodist Retirement Communities, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Givens Estates, Inc. since the affiliation effective September 1, 2025.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

In this filing

  • 2024-03-19: NCDOI issued a limited-scope examination report on Aldersgate's credit card purchases from January 1, 2020 to October 31, 2023. Key findings included a lack of consistent support documentation, inadequate policies and procedures, no approval-to-purchase requirements, excessive gift card purchases with lack of oversight, and a lack of credit card purchase oversight.p. 180
  • 2024: Did not meet its debt service coverage covenant requirement in 2024 (FY2024 coverage 0.96x); the statement says it met the requirement in 2025, avoiding default.p. 47
  • 2023-08-09: The NC Commissioner of Insurance placed Aldersgate under administrative supervision, citing failure to repay entrance fee refunds when contractually due, insolvency or imminent danger of insolvency, and financially hazardous business conduct. The order was amended August 15, 2023; as it was set to expire January 12, 2024, Aldersgate consented to continued supervision for an additional 150 days.p. 177
  • 2023-01-19: NCDOI notified Aldersgate that it had been deemed to be in imminent danger of becoming insolvent and in a hazardous financial condition, and directed it to prepare a corrective action plan (approved by NCDOI June 12, 2023).p. 177

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$238,794 to $928,258p. 29

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,572 to $6,266p. 27p. 28

Refund plans offered

  • 0% Refundable (Declining Balance)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

225 (FY2025)p. 46Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only)
Read the note on this figure

FY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant.

Independent living occupancy

91.3% (2025)p. 22

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

2 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Health care is fee-for-service at the community's current rates; residents have priority access to health care residences before non-residents, on a space-available basis.p. 28

Assisted living
Market monthly rates: assisted living $7,485-$9,278 a month by room and tier; memory care $9,156-$10,575.
Nursing care
Per diem: skilled nursing $455 (Tier 1) or $513 (Tier 2) a day; Home for the Aged $347 or $392 a day. On a permanent move the resident surrenders the independent living residence and stops paying its monthly fee.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living274
Assisted living47
Memory care61
Nursing care120

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (12 prices, $238,794 to $928,258)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – Epworth0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$238,794 to $352,527p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Francis0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$355,234 to $524,382p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Gateway0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$470,015 to $693,795p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Azalea View Cottages0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$417,320 to $616,011p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Lake Ridge Cottages0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$577,336 to $852,200p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Wesley Glen Cottages0% Refundable (Declining Balance)$628,858 to $928,258p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Epworth50% Refundable$238,794 to $352,527p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Francis50% Refundable$355,234 to $524,382p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Gateway50% Refundable$470,015 to $693,795p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Azalea View Cottages50% Refundable$417,320 to $616,011p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Lake Ridge Cottages50% Refundable$577,336 to $852,200p. 29$40,000
Independent Living – Wesley Glen Cottages50% Refundable$628,858 to $928,258p. 29$40,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (12 prices, $3,572 to $10,575)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – EpworthIndependent living$3,572p. 27$1,757
Independent Living – FrancisIndependent living$4,527p. 27$1,750
Independent Living – GatewayIndependent living$5,005p. 27$1,750
Independent Living – Azalea View CottagesIndependent living$4,671p. 28$1,561
Independent Living – Lake Ridge CottagesIndependent living$6,266p. 28$1,750
Independent Living – Wesley Glen CottagesIndependent living$5,890p. 28$1,744
Assisted Living – Studio Apartment – Tier 1Assisted living$7,485p. 28Not listed
Assisted Living – Studio Apartment – Tier 2Assisted living$8,984p. 28Not listed
Assisted Living – One Bedroom Apartment – Tier 1Assisted living$7,776p. 28Not listed
Assisted Living – One Bedroom Apartment – Tier 2Assisted living$9,278p. 28Not listed
Memory Care – Tier 1Memory care$9,156p. 28Not listed
Memory Care – Tier 2Memory care$10,575p. 28Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 6%20212022: 10%20222023: 8%20232024: 5.5%20242025: 4.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 29
2024Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 29
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 29
2022Independent livingAll units10%Percent onlyp. 29
2021Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 29

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

0% Refundable (Declining Balance)p. 32

The refundable amount drops 6% on the day you move in and 2% on the first of each month after, reaching nothing after about four years. Any refund is paid when your residence gets a replacement entrance fee or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first, less any per diem health center charges incurred.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 47 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Refundablep. 32

The refundable amount drops 6% at move-in and 2% a month after that until it reaches 50% of the entrance fee, where it stays. The refund is paid when your residence gets a replacement entrance fee or 24 months after you terminate, whichever comes first, less any per diem health center charges incurred.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 22 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Givens Aldersgate is part of Givens Estates, Inc. (parent since 9/1/2025 affiliation; consolidated audit).
  • Balance sheet: Givens Aldersgate (Aldersgate column of the Givens Estates consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only).

Days cash on hand

225 days FY2025p. 46

Debt service coverage

3.46x FY2025p. 46

Read with these figuresFY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 46FY2024p. 47FY2023p. 47
Days cash on hand225 days137 days170 days
Debt service coverage3.46x0.96x1.56x
Operating margin10.42%6.61%11.7%
Total assets$214.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$175.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$93.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$29.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$43.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$39.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 46

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 222024p. 222023p. 222022p. 222021p. 22
Independent living91.3%89.7%93.3%95.3%91.5%
Assisted living80.6%85.1%87%87.2%84%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care84.3%89.2%89.1%93.3%81%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-09-01Ownership change Givens Estates, Inc. acquired Aldersgate United Methodist Retirement Community, Inc. effective September 1, 2025, making it a wholly owned subsidiary; Givens Communities, LLC manages it under an agreement effective the same date.p. 62
  • 2024-03-19 NCDOI issued a limited-scope examination report on Aldersgate's credit card purchases from January 1, 2020 to October 31, 2023. Key findings included a lack of consistent support documentation, inadequate policies and procedures, no approval-to-purchase requirements, excessive gift card purchases with lack of oversight, and a lack of credit card purchase oversight.p. 180
  • 2024Covenant Did not meet its debt service coverage covenant requirement in 2024 (FY2024 coverage 0.96x); the statement says it met the requirement in 2025, avoiding default.p. 47
  • 2023-08-09 The NC Commissioner of Insurance placed Aldersgate under administrative supervision, citing failure to repay entrance fee refunds when contractually due, insolvency or imminent danger of insolvency, and financially hazardous business conduct. The order was amended August 15, 2023; as it was set to expire January 12, 2024, Aldersgate consented to continued supervision for an additional 150 days.p. 177
  • 2023-01-19 NCDOI notified Aldersgate that it had been deemed to be in imminent danger of becoming insolvent and in a hazardous financial condition, and directed it to prepare a corrective action plan (approved by NCDOI June 12, 2023).p. 177

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 2 totalling $47,996. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 12. Asbury Health and Rehabilitation Center on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2016. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Givens Aldersgate in Charlotte, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community with 274 independent living units, 47 assisted living units, 61 memory care units and 120 nursing beds, offering fee-for-service contracts with entrance fees from $238,794 to $928,258. The NC Department of Insurance deemed it in a hazardous financial condition in January 2023 and placed it under administrative supervision in August 2023; it missed its debt service coverage covenant in 2024 and was acquired by Givens Estates effective September 1, 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.