Home › Compare
Givens Aldersgate and Sharon Village Apartments compared
Two North Carolina communities about 4 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Givens Aldersgate | Sharon Village Apartments |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service), Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | $238,794 to $928,258p. 29 | $17,000 to $30,000p. 18 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,572 to $6,266p. 27p. 28 | $980 to $2,390p. 18 |
| Refund plans | 0% Refundable (Declining Balance); 50% Refundablep. 32 | Retention Deposit Planp. 14 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 32 | 0% of the feep. 14 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 32 | Within a fixed number of daysp. 14 |
| Days cash on hand | 225 days (FY2025)p. 46Figures for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only). FY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations). The filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 3.46x (FY2025)p. 46Figures for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only). FY2025 ratios are for Sept 1-Dec 31, 2025 operations under Givens (p45). Section 29.3 (p43) counts $28.8M of 'unrestricted cash & investments'; Aldersgate's balance sheet column (p84) shows cash $10.8M and investments $6.1M ($16.9M), plus $10.6M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve. On the plain $16.9M and Sept-Dec 2025 cash operating expenses (p87), days cash is about 120. Section 35 says 2025 liquidity improved 'due the affiliation with Givens Communities and equity contribution provided'. FY2024 coverage was 0.96x, below its covenant. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations). The filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Independent living occupancy | 91.3% (2025)p. 22 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Net position | $39.1 million (FY2025)p. 46 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Whose finances | Givens Aldersgate (Aldersgate column of the Givens Estates consolidating balance sheet); ratios for Givens Aldersgate Obligated Group (Givens Aldersgate only)p. 46 | National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations)p. 21 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 46 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 2 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Givens Aldersgate
Type C (fee for service): Health care is fee-for-service at the community's current rates; residents have priority access to health care residences before non-residents, on a space-available basis.p. 28
Sharon Village Apartments
Type C (fee for service): Residents get priority for a bed in the adjoining 180-bed nursing center but pay for nursing care separately. The disclosure narrative (p16) says each resident is allowed 10 inpatient days a year there, but the retention-plan contract form does not include that clause.p. 204
Rental: Same as the retention plan: priority for a nursing-center bed, with care paid separately. The no-deposit contract form does not include the 10 nursing-facility days mentioned in the disclosure narrative.p. 220