Home › Compare
Goodwin House Seminary Road and Greenspring Village compared
Two Virginia communities about 7 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Goodwin House Seminary Road | Greenspring Village |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Alexandria, VA (not yet open) | Springfield, VA |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $192,500 to $1,966,234p. 32 | $144,000 to $1,280,000p. 101 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,099 to $11,646p. 32 | $2,660 to $5,430p. 101 |
| Refund plans | Standard Plan; Long-Term Care Insurance Plan; 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service Planp. 46p. 98p. 73 | 90% Refund Amountp. 24 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 46p. 98p. 73 | 90% of the feep. 24 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 46p. 98p. 73 | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 24 |
| Days cash on hand | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 1246 days (FY2023, interim)p. 112Figures for Greenspring Village, Inc. Management's figure counts a $259.9M beneficial interest in National CCRC Business Trust I (a related trust). Cash and short-term investments alone come to about 133 days. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | At least 120 daysp. 132 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2024 filingFigures for Greenspring Village, Inc. Management's figure counts a $259.9M beneficial interest in National CCRC Business Trust I (a related trust). Cash and short-term investments alone come to about 133 days. |
| Independent living occupancy | Not open yet | 95.8% (2023)p. 155 |
| Net position | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | $18.1 million (FY2023)p. 112 |
| Whose finances | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Greenspring Village, Inc.p. 112 |
| Audit opinion | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Unmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 112 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 1 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Goodwin House Seminary Road
Type A (life care): Standard Agreement residents move to assisted living, memory support or the health care center at no additional charge ('You will not be charged an additional fee for nursing services'); ancillary charges and doctors are extra.p. 19
Type B (modified): The Long-Term Care Insurance Plan includes 90 days of assisted living or nursing care not covered by Medicare A over the resident's lifetime; after that the private pay rate applies.p. 93
Type C (fee for service): The 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service plan pays private pay rates for assisted living and the health care center, and the resident keeps paying the residential monthly fee until that apartment is vacated.p. 68
Greenspring Village
Type C (fee for service): Residents who move permanently to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay the monthly package or daily rate for that unit (memory care $12,742/month, nursing $592/day in 2025). Outside admissions to these units pay a $103,000 deposit.p. 102