Skip to content

Greenspring Village

7410 Spring Village Drive, Springfield, Virginia 22150

Operator:
Greenspring Village, Inc., managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

501(c)(3) non-stock corporation whose sole member is National Senior Communities, Inc.; managed under contract by Erickson Senior Living, LLC (owned by Erickson Living Holdings, LLC).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Greenspring Village, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$144,000 to $1,280,000p. 101

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,660 to $5,430p. 101

Refund plans offered

  • 90% Refund AmountNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

1,246 (FY2023, interim, unaudited)p. 112Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Greenspring Village, Inc.
Read the note on this figure

Management's figure counts a $259.9M beneficial interest in National CCRC Business Trust I (a related trust). Cash and short-term investments alone come to about 133 days.

Independent living occupancy

95.8% (2023)p. 155

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

1 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents who move permanently to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay the monthly package or daily rate for that unit (memory care $12,742/month, nursing $592/day in 2025). Outside admissions to these units pay a $103,000 deposit.p. 102

Assisted living
Assisted living Monthly Service Package by care level: $6,931-$15,827/month (2025, moved to AL after 12/31/2023)
Nursing care
Private nursing daily rate $592 (as of 1/1/2025)
Units on campusp. 155
Independent living1,362
Assisted living155
Memory care59
Nursing care50

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement (90% refundable) · Type C (fee for service) (7 prices, $144,000 to $1,280,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio/Efficiency90% Refund Amount$144,000 to $209,000p. 101Not listed
One bedroom, One Bath90% Refund Amount$272,000 to $561,000p. 101Not listed
One bedroom, 1 ½ Bath90% Refund Amount$439,000 to $561,000p. 101Not listed
One Bedroom, One Bath, with Den90% Refund Amount$393,000 to $549,000p. 101Not listed
Two Bedroom, One Bath90% Refund Amount$407,000 to $551,000p. 101Not listed
Two Bedroom, 1 ½ Bath90% Refund Amount$445,000 to $623,000p. 101Not listed
Two Bedroom, Two Bath90% Refund Amount$519,000 to $1,280,000p. 101Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement (90% refundable) · Type C (fee for service) (12 prices, $2,660 to $15,827)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio/EfficiencyIndependent living$2,660 to $2,964p. 101$1,240
One bedroom, One BathIndependent living$3,029 to $3,869p. 101$1,240
One bedroom, 1 ½ BathIndependent living$3,440 to $3,869p. 101$1,240
One Bedroom, One Bath, with DenIndependent living$3,440 to $3,869p. 101$1,240
Two Bedroom, One BathIndependent living$3,440 to $3,712p. 101$1,240
Two Bedroom, 1 ½ BathIndependent living$3,535 to $3,869p. 101$1,240
Two Bedroom, Two BathIndependent living$3,712 to $5,430p. 101$1,240
Assisted living studio - Evergreen Terrace + Rose CourtAssisted living$6,931 to $12,810p. 102Not listed
Assisted living studio - Dogwood CommonsAssisted living$7,319 to $13,190p. 102Not listed
Assisted living one bedroomAssisted living$8,317 to $15,372p. 102Not listed
Assisted living deluxe one bedroomAssisted living$8,782 to $15,827p. 102Not listed
Memory care private, single occupancyMemory care$12,742p. 102Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2024 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refund Amountp. 24

After move-in, 90% of the entrance fee is refundable (10% is a non-refundable Community Fee), reduced by any entrance fee spent down for care. Refunds are paid in sequence from a Refund Account funded by new residents' entrance fees, within 60 days of becoming eligible; there is no stated cap on the wait.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $129,600 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Greenspring Village is part of Obligated Group of National Senior Communities, Inc. (Ann's Choice, Brooksby Village, Cedar Crest Village, Greenspring Village, Seabrook Village, Linden Ponds).
  • Balance sheet and ratios: Greenspring Village, Inc.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

1,246 days FY2023p. 112

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Read with these figuresManagement's figure counts a $259.9M beneficial interest in National CCRC Business Trust I (a related trust). Cash and short-term investments alone come to about 133 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 112FY2022p. 112
Days cash on hand1246 daysNot disclosed
Operating margin-17.9%-15.9%
Total assets$663.7 million$612.6 million
Total liabilities$645.6 million$612.8 million
Long-term debt$93.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$525.2 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$18.1 million−$193,386

Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 112

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 155
Independent living95.8%
Assisted living88.4%
Memory care81.4%
Nursing care90%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
1 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $81,178. GREENSPRING VILLAGE on Care Compare

In brief

Greenspring Village is a nonprofit continuing care community on about 58 acres in Springfield, managed by Erickson Senior Living, with 1,362 independent living apartments plus assisted living, memory care and nursing (capacities as of December 2023). Entrance fees are 90% refundable from a pooled refund account, and residents pay the monthly fee for whatever level of care they occupy. 2025 entrance fees range from $144,000 to $1,280,000 and independent living monthly fees from $2,660 to $5,430.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.