Goodwin House Seminary Road
4800 Fairbanks Avenue, Alexandria, Virginia 22311
- Operator:
- The View Alexandria, LLC d/b/a Goodwin House Seminary Road (sole member: Goodwin House Incorporated d/b/a Goodwin Living)
- Ownership:
- Nonprofit
- Affiliation:
- Episcopal (parent affiliated with the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Virginia)
- Opened:
- Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Tax-exempt LLC whose sole member is the nonprofit Goodwin House Incorporated; to be built on The View Alexandria campus.
- Type A (life care)
- Type B (modified)
- Type C (fee for service)
This campus is not open yet. The filing describes a community under development, so its fees are the ones the developer anticipates charging, and there is no occupancy or operating history to show.
Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Goodwin House Seminary Road, and a later one may have been filed since.
At a glance
Entrance fee, one person, every plan
Monthly fee, independent living
Refund plans offered
- Standard PlanCan decline to nothing
- Long-Term Care Insurance PlanCan decline to nothing
- 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service PlanNever less than 90% of the fee
Days cash on hand
Independent living occupancy
Nursing care, CMS overall rating
What care costs later
How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.
- Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
- Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
- Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
How the contract types compare
Type A (life care)
Standard Agreement residents move to assisted living, memory support or the health care center at no additional charge ('You will not be charged an additional fee for nursing services'); ancillary charges and doctors are extra.p. 19
- Assisted living
- No additional charge for assisted living or memory support under the Standard Agreement
- Nursing care
- No additional monthly fee for nursing under the Standard Agreement (ancillaries and physicians extra)
Type B (modified)
The Long-Term Care Insurance Plan includes 90 days of assisted living or nursing care not covered by Medicare A over the resident's lifetime; after that the private pay rate applies.p. 93
- Assisted living
- 90 lifetime days of assisted living or nursing included, then private pay rates
- Nursing care
- 90 lifetime days included (combined with assisted living), then private pay rates
- Care days included
- 90
Type C (fee for service)
The 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service plan pays private pay rates for assisted living and the health care center, and the resident keeps paying the residential monthly fee until that apartment is vacated.p. 68
- Assisted living
- Private pay rates
- Nursing care
- Private pay rates (no rates published; community not yet built)
| Independent living | 217 |
|---|---|
| Assisted living | 16 |
| Memory care | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Nursing care | 24 |
Entrance fees
One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.
Standard Plan · Type A (life care) (10 prices, $192,500 to $1,966,234)
| Unit | Sq ft | Refund plan | Price, one person | Second person |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One Bedroom - One Bath Affordable (676 sq ft) | 676 | Standard Plan | $192,500p. 32 | Not listed |
| One Bedroom - One Bath (676 sq ft) | 676 | Standard Plan | $437,580p. 32 | Not listed |
| One Bedroom/ Den/One and half bath (930 sq ft) | 930 | Standard Plan | $636,636p. 32 | Not listed |
| One Bedroom - Den/ One and half bath (1114 sq ft) | 1,114 | Standard Plan | $846,103p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedroom/ Two Baths (1226 sq ft) | 1,226 | Standard Plan | $915,796p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedroom/Two Baths (1359 sq ft) | 1,359 | Standard Plan | $1,030,757p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedroom/Two Baths (1454 sq ft) | 1,454 | Standard Plan | $1,214,625p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedrooms/Den/Two Baths (1555 sq ft) | 1,555 | Standard Plan | $1,382,847p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedrooms/ Den / Two and half baths (1701 sq ft) | 1,701 | Standard Plan | $1,649,420p. 32 | Not listed |
| Two Bedrooms/ Den / Two and half baths (2010 sq ft) | 2,010 | Standard Plan | $1,966,234p. 32 | Not listed |
Monthly fees
What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.
Standard Plan · Type A (life care) (10 prices, $2,099 to $11,646)
| Unit | Level of care | Per month, one person | Second person |
|---|---|---|---|
| One Bedroom - One Bath Affordable (676 sq ft) | Independent living | $2,099p. 32 | $2,859 |
| One Bedroom - One Bath (676 sq ft) | Independent living | $5,081p. 32 | $2,859 |
| One Bedroom/ Den/One and half bath (930 sq ft) | Independent living | $6,781p. 32 | $2,859 |
| One Bedroom - Den/ One and half bath (1114 sq ft) | Independent living | $7,316p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedroom/ Two Baths (1226 sq ft) | Independent living | $7,579p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedroom/Two Baths (1359 sq ft) | Independent living | $7,942p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedroom/Two Baths (1454 sq ft) | Independent living | $8,349p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedrooms/Den/Two Baths (1555 sq ft) | Independent living | $8,681p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedrooms/ Den / Two and half baths (1701 sq ft) | Independent living | $10,486p. 32 | $2,859 |
| Two Bedrooms/ Den / Two and half baths (2010 sq ft) | Independent living | $11,646p. 32 | $2,859 |
Fee increases, year by year
No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2026 filing.
Refunds
What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.
Standard Planp. 46
Refund is the entrance fee less 2% for each month since the agreement's effective date, reaching zero after 50 months. A refund on move-out may be held until a new resident occupies the apartment.
- Kept on move-in
- Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
- Declines by
- 2% a month for 50 months
- Never less than
- Nothing: it can decline to zero
- Longest wait
- No limit stated
- Paid
- When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid
Long-Term Care Insurance Planp. 98
Same declining refund as the Standard Plan: entrance fee less 2% per month, nothing after 50 months; may be held until the apartment is reoccupied.
- Kept on move-in
- Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
- Declines by
- 2% a month for 50 months
- Never less than
- Nothing: it can decline to zero
- Longest wait
- No limit stated
- Paid
- When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid
90% Refundable Fee-for-Service Planp. 73
100% of the entrance fee is refunded if the agreement ends within six months, 90% after that, less unpaid balances and any financial assistance received; paid within 30 days after a new resident occupies the apartment.
- Kept on move-in
- 0% of the fee
- Declines by
- Does not decline
- Never less than
- 90% of the fee
- Longest wait
- No limit stated
- Paid
- When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid
Refund calculator
Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)
When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.
How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters
Finances
Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.
The 2026 filing as we read it does not include financial statements for Goodwin House Seminary Road.
Occupancy
Not open yet, so there is no occupancy to report.
Nursing care on campus
We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.
In brief
Goodwin House Seminary Road is a planned Type A life plan community in Alexandria from Goodwin Living, with construction anticipated to begin in late 2026 or early 2027 and finish in 2029. Plans call for 217 independent living apartments (7 affordable), 16 assisted living apartments and 24 health care center units. Anticipated 2029 at-opening entrance fees, given as per-unit-type averages, run from $192,500 (affordable one-bedroom) and $437,580 to $1,966,234, with monthly fees of $2,099 to $11,646.PDF
Nearest communities in Virginia
- Goodwin House Alexandria
Alexandria · 0 miles away
Entrance fee: $77,476 to $1,529,320
- Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads
Falls Church · 1 miles away
Entrance fee: $92,830 to $1,832,425
- Vinson Hall Retirement Community
McLean · 6 miles away
Entrance fee: $106,180 to $1,230,633
Sources
- Goodwin House Seminary Road — Preliminary Disclosure Statement (2026)Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance · filed 2026, fiscal 2024 finances · 178 pages · retrieved 2026-10-15
Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.