Skip to content

Home › Compare

Lakewood and Cedarfield compared

Two Virginia communities about 3 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureLakewoodCedarfield
LocationRichmond, VARichmond, VA
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType A (life care), Type B (modified)Type A (life care), Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$78,000 to $1,410,000p. 14p. 15$183,600 to $908,300p. 18p. 17
Monthly fee, independent living$3,091 to $9,349p. 14p. 15$2,400 to $8,240p. 18p. 17
Refund plansStandard; 90% Refundablep. 60p. 61Declining Balance Refund; 50% Refund; 70% Refund; 80% Refund; 90% Refundp. 32p. 33
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 60p. 6190% of the feep. 32p. 33
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 60p. 61When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 32p. 33
Days cash on hand266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.385 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 125Figures for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.). Computed by us: Pinnacle Living unrestricted cash $2.97M plus investments $65.18M over operating expenses less depreciation. Excludes $16.2M of assets whose use is limited (bond funds) and the $51.4M of investments held by affiliate Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp. The disclosure reports no days-cash or coverage ratio.
Its lenders' minimumAt least 120 daysp. 24Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Debt service coverage2.31x (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.). Computed by us: Pinnacle Living unrestricted cash $2.97M plus investments $65.18M over operating expenses less depreciation. Excludes $16.2M of assets whose use is limited (bond funds) and the $51.4M of investments held by affiliate Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp. The disclosure reports no days-cash or coverage ratio.
Independent living occupancy95.8% (2025)p. 2391% (2025)p. 142
Net position−$7.9 million (FY2025)p. 98$66.9 million (FY2025)p. 123
Whose financesVirginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated); ratios for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Groupp. 98Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.), excluding WindsorMeade and Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp.; ratios for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.)p. 123
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 98Unmodified (clean) opinion, Brown, Edwards & Company, L.L.P.p. 123
Nursing care, CMS rating3 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

Lakewood

Type A (life care): Life-Care residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee, plus two meals a day, in assisted living or the Health Care Center; the couples rate still applies when one or both are in care. Residents get priority admittance when the Health Care Center is full.p. 16

Type B (modified): Fee for Service residents pay the published daily rate for assisted living, memory support and nursing, less 10%. Residents transferred out for lack of space get priority admittance when a bed becomes available.p. 46

Cedarfield

Type A (life care): Independent living and all health services (assisted living, memory support and nursing) are provided at a constant Monthly Service Fee regardless of level of care; the fee itself can be adjusted.p. 14

Type C (fee for service): Only independent living is covered by the Monthly Service Fee; assisted living, memory support and nursing are paid at the then-current posted rates (set out in the agreement's Appendix B, not reproduced in the fee schedule). Preferred Choice residents get priority for health services after Lifecare residents and ahead of non-residents.p. 14

Questions to ask both communities before you sign