Home › Compare
Lucy Corr and Masonic Home of Virginia compared
Two Virginia communities about 13 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Lucy Corr | Masonic Home of Virginia |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Chesterfield, VA | Richmond, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) | Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $128,750 to $440,563p. 85 | $36,000 to $279,900p. 79 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,812 to $5,950p. 85p. 86 | $2,355 to $5,623p. 79 |
| Refund plans | Traditional 80% Refundable Plan; Traditional Declining Refund Plan; LifeCarep. 38p. 70 | Village / B-Wing Apartment pro-rata refund; Adult Home entrance fee (6-month proration); C/D-Wing Suite fee prorationp. 68p. 10 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 80% of the feep. 38p. 70 | 0% of the feep. 68p. 10 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 18 months, whichever is firstp. 38p. 70 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 68p. 10 |
| Days cash on hand | 157.4 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 122 | 1295 days (FY2022, calculated)p. 140 |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 100 daysp. 14 | Not disclosed in the 2023 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2023 filing |
| Independent living occupancy | 89.9% (2025)p. 166 | 69% (2022)p. 191 |
| Net position | $9.6 million (FY2025)p. 122 | $67.3 million (FY2022)p. 140 |
| Whose finances | Health Center Commission for the County of Chesterfield (dba Lucy Corr)p. 122 | Masonic Home of Virginiap. 140 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Walker Healthcare Services Groupp. 122 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Keiterp. 140 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 2 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Lucy Corr
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service residents get ten lifetime days of free assisted living or Health Care Center care not covered by insurance, then pay the then-standard (market) rates. Residents receive priority access to the Assisted Living and Health Care Centers if they meet admission criteria.p. 12
Type A (life care): LifeCare residents who move permanently to assisted living or the Health Care Center keep paying the monthly fee of their independent living unit. Residents receive priority access if they meet admission criteria.p. 63
Masonic Home of Virginia
Type B (modified): Independent living residents may apply to the Adult Home or Care Center; admission requires Board approval and a new contract. 30 days of care a year are included, then standard rates.p. 12
Type C (fee for service): Adult Home paying residents pay a monthly fee that rises with their level of care and pay the established Care Center rate for nursing; they pay their own medical, physician and medication costs.p. 8