Skip to content

Lucy Corr

6800 Lucy Corr Boulevard, Chesterfield, Virginia 23832

Operator:
Health Center Commission for the County of Chesterfield (dba Lucy Corr), self-managed
Ownership:
Government
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1970

Owned by the Health Center Commission for the County of Chesterfield, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth created by the County Board of Supervisors in 1993; the County holds a right of first refusal and a right of reversion on the land and has no obligation to support operations.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$128,750 to $440,563p. 85

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,812 to $5,950p. 85p. 86

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional 80% Refundable PlanNever less than 80% of the fee
  • Traditional Declining Refund PlanCan decline to nothing
  • LifeCareCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

157.4 (FY2025, calculated by us)p. 122Its lenders require at least 100.

Independent living occupancy

89.9% (2025)p. 166

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

2 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee for Service (audit Note 7 p132: "Type C"); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee-for-service residents get ten lifetime days of free assisted living or Health Care Center care not covered by insurance, then pay the then-standard (market) rates. Residents receive priority access to the Assisted Living and Health Care Centers if they meet admission criteria.p. 12

Assisted living
Then-standard Assisted Living monthly fee on permanent transfer (2024 schedule: $4,920-$6,120 per 30 days for traditional apartments), after ten lifetime days of free Assisted Living or Health Care Center care.
Nursing care
Then-standard Health Care Center per diem on permanent transfer (rates effective Feb 1, 2025: $355/day private, $325/day semi-private), after the ten lifetime free days.
Care days included
10
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type A (life care)

LifeCare residents who move permanently to assisted living or the Health Care Center keep paying the monthly fee of their independent living unit. Residents receive priority access if they meet admission criteria.p. 63

Assisted living
Same Monthly Service Fee associated with the resident's Independent Living unit (private Efficiency Apartment in Assisted Living, including memory support).
Nursing care
Same Monthly Service Fee associated with the Independent Living unit (private room in the Health Care Center, including memory support), to the extent not covered by third-party coverage.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 8
Independent living77
Assisted living48
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care216

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement – Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (30 prices, $128,750 to $440,563)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The Castlewood – One Bedroom863Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$225,313p. 85$10,000
The Castlewood – One Bedroom863Traditional Declining Refund Plan$128,750p. 85$10,000
The Castlewood with Balcony863Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$230,720p. 85$10,000
The Castlewood with Balcony863Traditional Declining Refund Plan$131,840p. 85$10,000
The Dale – One Bedroom w/Den1,003Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$252,350p. 85$10,000
The Dale – One Bedroom w/Den1,003Traditional Declining Refund Plan$144,200p. 85$10,000
The Dale with Balcony1,003Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$257,758p. 85$10,000
The Dale with Balcony1,003Traditional Declining Refund Plan$147,290p. 85$10,000
The Cogbill – One BR w/Den & Balcony1,010Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$252,350p. 85$10,000
The Cogbill – One BR w/Den & Balcony1,010Traditional Declining Refund Plan$144,200p. 85$10,000
The Eppington – One Bedroom w/Den1,013Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$252,350p. 85$10,000
The Eppington – One Bedroom w/Den1,013Traditional Declining Refund Plan$144,200p. 85$10,000
The Eppington with Balcony1,013Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$257,758p. 85$10,000
The Eppington with Balcony1,013Traditional Declining Refund Plan$147,290p. 85$10,000
The Harrowgate – Two Bedrooms1,151Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$323,400p. 85$10,000
The Harrowgate – Two Bedrooms1,151Traditional Declining Refund Plan$184,800p. 85$10,000
The Huguenot – Two Bedrooms1,221Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$332,413p. 85$10,000
The Huguenot – Two Bedrooms1,221Traditional Declining Refund Plan$189,950p. 85$10,000
The Huguenot with Balcony1,221Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$337,820p. 85$10,000
The Huguenot with Balcony1,221Traditional Declining Refund Plan$193,040p. 85$10,000
The Monacan – Two Bedrooms w/Den1,280Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$341,425p. 85$10,000
The Monacan – Two Bedrooms w/Den1,280Traditional Declining Refund Plan$195,100p. 85$10,000
The Monacan with Balcony1,280Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$346,833p. 85$10,000
The Monacan with Balcony1,280Traditional Declining Refund Plan$198,190p. 85$10,000
The Walthall – Three Bedrooms with Balcony1,650Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$402,710p. 85$10,000
The Walthall – Three Bedrooms with Balcony1,650Traditional Declining Refund Plan$230,120p. 85$10,000
The Winfree – Garden Cottage1,340Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$386,488p. 85$10,000
The Winfree – Garden Cottage1,340Traditional Declining Refund Plan$220,850p. 85$10,000
The Weatherford – Traditional Cottage1,603Traditional 80% Refundable Plan$440,563p. 85$10,000
The Weatherford – Traditional Cottage1,603Traditional Declining Refund Plan$251,750p. 85$10,000
Residency Agreement – LifeCare · Type A (life care) (15 prices, $147,807 to $266,053)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The Castlewood – One Bedroom863LifeCare$147,807p. 86$22,510
The Castlewood with Balcony863LifeCare$151,355p. 86$22,510
The Dale – One Bedroom w/Den1,003LifeCare$165,544p. 86$22,510
The Dale with Balcony1,003LifeCare$169,092p. 86$22,510
The Cogbill – One BR w/Den & Balcony1,010LifeCare$165,544p. 86$22,510
The Eppington – One Bedroom w/Den1,013LifeCare$165,544p. 86$22,510
The Eppington with Balcony1,013LifeCare$169,092p. 86$22,510
The Harrowgate – Two Bedrooms1,151LifeCare$189,194p. 86$22,510
The Huguenot – Two Bedrooms1,221LifeCare$195,106p. 86$22,510
The Huguenot with Balcony1,221LifeCare$198,653p. 86$22,510
The Monacan – Two Bedrooms w/Den1,280LifeCare$201,018p. 86$22,510
The Monacan with Balcony1,280LifeCare$204,566p. 86$22,510
The Walthall – Three Bedrooms with Balcony1,650LifeCare$241,221p. 86$22,510
The Winfree – Garden Cottage1,340LifeCare$230,580p. 86$22,510
The Weatherford – Traditional Cottage1,603LifeCare$266,053p. 86$22,510

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement – Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (15 prices, $2,812 to $4,156)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The Castlewood – One BedroomIndependent living$2,812p. 85$1,106
The Castlewood with BalconyIndependent living$2,812p. 85$1,106
The Dale – One Bedroom w/DenIndependent living$3,062p. 85$1,106
The Dale with BalconyIndependent living$3,062p. 85$1,106
The Cogbill – One BR w/Den & BalconyIndependent living$3,062p. 85$1,106
The Eppington – One Bedroom w/DenIndependent living$3,160p. 85$1,106
The Eppington with BalconyIndependent living$3,160p. 85$1,106
The Harrowgate – Two BedroomsIndependent living$3,360p. 85$1,106
The Huguenot – Two BedroomsIndependent living$3,509p. 85$1,106
The Huguenot with BalconyIndependent living$3,509p. 85$1,106
The Monacan – Two Bedrooms w/DenIndependent living$3,562p. 85$1,106
The Monacan with BalconyIndependent living$3,562p. 85$1,106
The Walthall – Three Bedrooms with BalconyIndependent living$4,156p. 85$1,106
The Winfree – Garden CottageIndependent living$3,702p. 85$1,106
The Weatherford – Traditional CottageIndependent living$4,156p. 85$1,106
Residency Agreement – LifeCare · Type A (life care) (15 prices, $4,311 to $5,950)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The Castlewood – One BedroomIndependent living$4,311p. 86$1,765
The Castlewood with BalconyIndependent living$4,311p. 86$1,765
The Dale – One Bedroom w/DenIndependent living$4,984p. 86$1,765
The Dale with BalconyIndependent living$4,984p. 86$1,765
The Cogbill – One BR w/Den & BalconyIndependent living$5,018p. 86$1,765
The Eppington – One Bedroom w/DenIndependent living$5,031p. 86$1,765
The Eppington with BalconyIndependent living$5,031p. 86$1,765
The Harrowgate – Two BedroomsIndependent living$4,658p. 86$1,765
The Huguenot – Two BedroomsIndependent living$4,798p. 86$1,765
The Huguenot with BalconyIndependent living$5,121p. 86$1,765
The Monacan – Two Bedrooms w/DenIndependent living$5,319p. 86$1,765
The Monacan with BalconyIndependent living$5,164p. 86$1,765
The Walthall – Three Bedrooms with BalconyIndependent living$5,950p. 86$1,765
The Winfree – Garden CottageIndependent living$4,798p. 86$1,765
The Weatherford – Traditional CottageIndependent living$5,390p. 86$1,765
Assisted Living (per diem) · Type C (fee for service) (7 prices, $4,920 to $7,590)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted Living Efficiency (283 sq ft)Assisted living$4,920p. 101$1,440
Assisted Living Studio I (337 sq ft)Assisted living$5,040p. 101$1,440
Assisted Living Studio II (410 sq ft)Assisted living$5,430p. 101$1,440
Assisted Living Deluxe (520 sq ft)Assisted living$6,120p. 101$1,440
Memory Support Efficiency (283 sq ft)Memory care$6,480p. 101Not listed
Memory Support Studio I (337 sq ft)Memory care$6,570p. 101Not listed
Memory Support Deluxe (520 sq ft)Memory care$7,590p. 101Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (Fee for Service)0%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,812 to $2,812p. 85
2025Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (LifeCare)0%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,311 to $4,311p. 86
2024Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (Fee for Service)3%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,730 to $2,812p. 96
2024Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (LifeCare)3.01%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,185 to $4,311p. 97
2023Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (Fee for Service)3.02%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,650 to $2,730p. 94
2023Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (LifeCare)3%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,063 to $4,185p. 95
2022Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (Fee for Service)2.99%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,573 to $2,650p. 92
2022Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (LifeCare)2.99%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,945 to $4,063p. 93
2021Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (Fee for Service)6.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,425 to $2,573p. 90
2021Independent livingThe Castlewood – One Bedroom (LifeCare)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,757 to $3,945p. 91

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional 80% Refundable Planp. 38

From move-in the refund is and stays 80% of the first-person entrance fee, less unpaid fees and refurbishing costs. It is paid within 30 days after a new resident has paid the full entrance fee for the same residence, or 18 months after the unit was released for resale, whichever is sooner.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
18 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 18 months, whichever is first

Traditional Declining Refund Planp. 38

The refund starts at 90% of the first-person entrance fee at occupancy and falls by 2% of the full fee each month for 45 months, after which nothing is refunded. Payment waits for resale of the unit or 18 months after release, whichever is sooner.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 45 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
18 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 18 months, whichever is first

LifeCarep. 70

On voluntary termination within 12 months of occupancy the entrance fee is reduced by 50% for each full or partial month; after 12 months it is fully earned and not refunded. On death within 12 months the refund is the entrance fee less the 10% reservation deposit; on death after 12 months there is no refund. Payment waits for resale of the unit or 18 months, whichever is sooner.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
50% a month
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
18 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 18 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $180,250 (80% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 18 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Health Center Commission for the County of Chesterfield (dba Lucy Corr).
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

157.4 days FY2025p. 122

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 122FY2024p. 122
Days cash on hand157.4 days181.7 days
Operating margin3.4%2.2%
Total assets$52.6 million$53.6 million
Total liabilities$43.0 million$45.7 million
Long-term debt$30.2 million$31.7 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$1.4 million$1.5 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$7.5 million$8.4 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$9.6 million$7.9 million

Auditor: Walker Healthcare Services Group. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 122

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 1662024p. 1662023p. 1662022p. 1662021p. 1662020p. 1662019p. 167
Independent living89.9%87%88.5%83.6%82.9%91.3%91.3%
Assisted living89.5%92.6%82%67%75.9%93.5%93.5%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care92%86.2%84%79.2%76.5%90.4%90.4%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. HEALTH CARE CENTER LUCY CORR on Care Compare

In brief

Lucy Corr in Chesterfield, Virginia is owned by the Health Center Commission for the County of Chesterfield, with 77 independent living apartments and cottages, 48 assisted living apartments and a 216-bed Health Care Center. Independent living is sold under a fee-for-service contract with 80% refundable or declining-balance entrance fees ($128,750-$440,563) or a LifeCare contract ($147,807-$266,053) that keeps the independent living monthly fee in assisted living and nursing. Fiscal 2025 audited statements show net assets of $9.6 million and $32.1 million of mortgage revenue bonds outstanding.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.