Skip to content

Home › Compare

Park Village (VMRC) and Sunnyside compared

Two Virginia communities about 6 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigurePark Village (VMRC)Sunnyside
LocationHarrisonburg, VAHarrisonburg, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service)Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service), Rental
Entrance fee, one person$122,709 to $1,127,549p. 71p. 73$68,600 to $809,200p. 98p. 103
Monthly fee, independent living$1,728 to $3,684p. 71p. 69$1,520 to $4,253p. 98
Refund plansOption 1; Option 2; Option 3p. 32p. 33p. 34Type I declining refund; Type II declining refund; Type III 50% refund; Type IV 90% refund; Type V declining refund (less Lifecare Fee)p. 27
Highest guaranteed refundNot disclosed in the 2025 filing90% of the feep. 27
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 32p. 33p. 34When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 27
Days cash on hand421 days (FY2025)p. 41Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven).419 days (FY2025)p. 145Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not this campus alone; most of the corporation's investments sit in its Corporate column, and the Sunnyside campus column holds $1,083,369 cash and $2,352,185 investments (p144). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p127); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p163) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management schedule (p161), not the audit. The campus's total assets include a $35,982,769 intercompany 'Due from Other Funds' receivable.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingAt least 150 daysp. 132
Debt service coverage4.78x (FY2025)p. 41Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven).4.87x (FY2025)p. 145Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not this campus alone; most of the corporation's investments sit in its Corporate column, and the Sunnyside campus column holds $1,083,369 cash and $2,352,185 investments (p144). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p127); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p163) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management schedule (p161), not the audit. The campus's total assets include a $35,982,769 intercompany 'Due from Other Funds' receivable.
Independent living occupancy96.4% (2025)p. 7694% (2025)p. 178
Net position$23.4 million (FY2025)p. 41$33.2 million (FY2025)p. 145
Whose financesVirginia Mennonite Retirement Community, Inc. (consolidated); ratios for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven)p. 41Sunnyside Presbyterian Retirement Community division of Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (audited supplementary schedule); ratios for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square)p. 145
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Beachy Arehart PLLCp. 41Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 145
Nursing care, CMS rating3 of 5 (CMS overall)5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Park Village (VMRC)

Type C (fee for service): No care is included and the Residency Agreement promises only priority (not guaranteed) admission to VMRC assisted living and nursing. Transfers pay a per diem rate for Park residents that the fee sheets call discounted, but no amount or discount is stated. The residency fee can be credited toward assisted living or nursing fees only after all other assets are exhausted.p. 22

Sunnyside

Type C (fee for service): Residents get priority admission to Eiland Assisted Living and Pannill Health Care Center and pay the daily rate; their residence's monthly fee stops (except Medicare short-term skilled stays). Type III and IV refunds may be used toward care.p. 5

Type B (modified): Ninety days of assisted living and/or health care over the life of the plan, for each person in a couple, without an increase to the monthly fee; daily rates apply after that.p. 4

Type A (life care): For $95,000 more in entrance fee and $942 more per month (per person) than Type I, the resident continues paying the monthly fee in assisted living or nursing, plus extra meals and ancillaries. Medical qualification is required.p. 5

Rental: Rental residents pay the applicable daily fee for assisted living or health care.p. 5

Questions to ask both communities before you sign