Skip to content

Park Village (VMRC)

1501 Virginia Avenue, Harrisonburg, Virginia 22802

Operator:
Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community, Inc. (manager of Park Village, Inc.)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Mennonite: historical relationship with the Virginia Mennonite Conference of Mennonite Church USA, which has no legal responsibility for PVI's or VMRC's obligations (p6).
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Park Village, Inc. (501(c)(3)) owns the three independent living buildings (Park Village cottages, Park Place, Park Gables) and is managed by VMRC under a management contract; VMRC appoints PVI's directors. Assisted living (Crestwood) and nursing (Oak Lea / Woodland Park) are owned by Virginia Mennonite Home, Inc. (p2, p5-6).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$122,709 to $1,127,549p. 71p. 73

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,728 to $3,684p. 71p. 69

Refund plans offered

  • Option 1Terms not disclosed in the 2025 filing
  • Option 2Terms not disclosed in the 2025 filing
  • Option 3Terms not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Days cash on hand

421 (FY2025)p. 41Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven)

Independent living occupancy

96.4% (2025)p. 76

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

No care is included and the Residency Agreement promises only priority (not guaranteed) admission to VMRC assisted living and nursing. Transfers pay a per diem rate for Park residents that the fee sheets call discounted, but no amount or discount is stated. The residency fee can be credited toward assisted living or nursing fees only after all other assets are exhausted.p. 22

Assisted living
Per diem transfer rate for Park residents in effect at the time of occupancy; amount not stated in the filing
Nursing care
Per diem transfer rate for Park residents in effect at the time of occupancy; amount not stated in the filing
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 76
Independent living266
Assisted living82
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care120

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Park Programs Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (81 prices, $122,709 to $1,127,549)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Park Gables Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath678Option 1from $364,446p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath678Option 2from $227,779p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath678Option 3from $170,834p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan A1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/Den884Option 1from $452,685p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan A1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/Den884Option 2from $282,928p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan A1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/Den884Option 3from $212,196p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath731Option 1from $388,248p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath731Option 2from $242,655p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath731Option 3from $181,991p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath743Option 1from $398,539p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath743Option 2from $249,087p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan B1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath743Option 3from $186,815p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath837Option 1from $453,002p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath837Option 2from $283,126p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath837Option 3from $212,345p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath926Option 1from $493,896p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath926Option 2from $308,685p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath926Option 3from $231,514p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D1 — 2 Bedroom/1 1/2 Bath926Option 1from $501,403p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D1 — 2 Bedroom/1 1/2 Bath926Option 2from $313,377p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan D1 — 2 Bedroom/1 1/2 Bath926Option 3from $235,033p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan E — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,009Option 1from $596,816p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan E — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,009Option 2from $373,010p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan E — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,009Option 3from $279,758p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,082Option 1from $627,146p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,082Option 2from $391,966p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath1,082Option 3from $293,975p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,193Option 1from $680,739p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,193Option 2from $425,462p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,193Option 3from $319,097p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan H — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,167Option 1from $673,882p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan H — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,167Option 2from $421,176p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan H — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,167Option 3from $315,882p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan J — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,312Option 1from $741,626p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan J — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,312Option 2from $463,516p. 69Not listed
Park Gables Plan J — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den1,312Option 3from $347,637p. 69Not listed
Park Place Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath672Option 1from $261,779p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath672Option 2from $163,612p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath672Option 3from $122,709p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath728Option 1from $281,310p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath728Option 2from $175,819p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath728Option 3from $131,864p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath833Option 1from $341,766p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath833Option 2from $213,604p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath833Option 3from $160,203p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath896Option 1from $369,424p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath896Option 2from $230,890p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 Bath896Option 3from $173,168p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan E — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath894Option 1from $328,763p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan E — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath894Option 2from $205,477p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan E — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath894Option 3from $154,108p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath952Option 1from $412,269p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath952Option 2from $257,668p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath952Option 3from $193,251p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath997Option 1from $426,534p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath997Option 2from $266,584p. 71Not listed
Park Place Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath997Option 3from $199,938p. 71Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan A780 to 925Option 1$301,974 to $387,763p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan A780 to 925Option 2$188,734 to $242,352p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan A780 to 925Option 3$141,551 to $181,764p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan B934 to 995Option 1$383,762 to $423,427p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan B934 to 995Option 2$190,175 to $264,427p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan B934 to 995Option 3$179,888 to $198,482p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan C1,020 to 1,090Option 1$390,726 to $464,654p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan C1,020 to 1,090Option 2$244,202 to $290,409p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan C1,020 to 1,090Option 3$183,152 to $217,807p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan D1,100 to 1,340Option 1$457,021 to $527,014p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan D1,100 to 1,340Option 2$285,638 to $357,509p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan D1,100 to 1,340Option 3$214,229 to $268,132p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan E1,400 to 1,525Option 1$600,515 to $654,896p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan E1,400 to 1,525Option 2$375,322 to $409,310p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan E1,400 to 1,525Option 3$281,492 to $306,983p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan F1,600 to 1,800Option 1$684,115 to $796,171p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan F1,600 to 1,800Option 2$427,572 to $497,607p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan F1,600 to 1,800Option 3$320,679 to $373,679p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan G1,850 to 2,100Option 1$797,930 to $941,578p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan G1,850 to 2,100Option 2$498,706 to $588,486p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan G1,850 to 2,100Option 3$374,030 to $441,365p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan H2,150 to 2,400Option 1$899,942 to $1,127,549p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan H2,150 to 2,400Option 2$562,464 to $704,718p. 73Not listed
Park Village cottage Plan H2,150 to 2,400Option 3$421,848 to $528,539p. 73Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Park Programs Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (27 prices, $1,728 to $3,684)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Park Gables Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,280p. 69$841
Park Gables Plan A1 — 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/DenIndependent livingfrom $2,687p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,472p. 69$839
Park Gables Plan B1 — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,472p. 69$839
Park Gables Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,687p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,815p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan D1 — 2 Bedroom/1 1/2 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,815p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan E — 2 Bedroom/2 BathIndependent livingfrom $3,042p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 BathIndependent livingfrom $3,220p. 69$840
Park Gables Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/DenIndependent livingfrom $3,375p. 69$841
Park Gables Plan H — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/DenIndependent livingfrom $3,312p. 69$838
Park Gables Plan J — 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/DenIndependent livingfrom $3,684p. 69$840
Park Place Plan A — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $1,728p. 71$650
Park Place Plan B — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $1,803p. 71$651
Park Place Plan C — 2 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,097p. 71$651
Park Place Plan D — 2 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,270p. 71$651
Park Place Plan E — 1 Bedroom/1 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,270p. 71$651
Park Place Plan F — 2 Bedroom/2 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,474p. 71$649
Park Place Plan G — 2 Bedroom/2 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,474p. 71$649
Park Village cottage Plan AIndependent livingfrom $1,890p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan BIndependent livingfrom $1,980p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan CIndependent livingfrom $2,030p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan DIndependent livingfrom $2,150p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan EIndependent livingfrom $2,350p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan FIndependent livingfrom $2,525p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan GIndependent livingfrom $2,750p. 73$600
Park Village cottage Plan HIndependent livingfrom $2,900p. 73$600

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingPark Gables3.5%Percent onlyp. 8
2025Independent livingPark Place3.5%Percent onlyp. 8
2025Independent livingPark Village3.5%Percent onlyp. 8
2024Independent livingPark Gables4.9%Percent onlyp. 8
2024Independent livingPark Place4.9%Percent onlyp. 8
2024Independent livingPark Village4.9%Percent onlyp. 8
2023Independent livingPark Gables7%Percent onlyp. 8
2023Independent livingPark Place7%Percent onlyp. 8
2023Independent livingPark Village7%Percent onlyp. 8
2022Independent livingPark Gables4%Percent onlyp. 8
2022Independent livingPark Place4%Percent onlyp. 8
2022Independent livingPark Village4%Percent onlyp. 8
2021Independent livingPark Gables3%Percent onlyp. 8
2021Independent livingPark Place3%Percent onlyp. 8
2021Independent livingPark Village3%Percent onlyp. 8
2020Independent livingPark Gables2.7%Percent onlyp. 8
2020Independent livingPark Place3.3%Percent onlyp. 8
2020Independent livingPark Village4.8%Percent onlyp. 8
2019Independent livingPark Gables3.5%Percent onlyp. 8
2019Independent livingPark Place3.5%Percent onlyp. 8
2019Independent livingPark Village3%Percent onlyp. 8
2018Independent livingPark Gables3%Percent onlyp. 8
2018Independent livingPark Place3%Percent onlyp. 8
2018Independent livingPark Village3%Percent onlyp. 8
2017Independent livingPark Gables3%Percent onlyp. 8
2017Independent livingPark Place3%Percent onlyp. 8
2017Independent livingPark Village3%Percent onlyp. 8
2016Independent livingPark Gables3%Percent onlyp. 8
2016Independent livingPark Place3%Percent onlyp. 8
2016Independent livingPark Village3%Percent onlyp. 8

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Option 1p. 32

Costs 160% of the unit's standard value. Refund is 93% in the first year, 92% in year two, 91% in year three and 90% after 37 months, paid within 30 days after a successor resident signs for the unit. No refund is due if the resident moves to another VMRC facility.

Kept on move-in
7% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Option 2p. 33

Costs 100% of the unit's standard value. Refund is 80% in the first year, then 70%, 60%, and 50% after 37 months, paid within 30 days after a successor resident signs. No refund on moving to another VMRC facility.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Option 3p. 34

Costs 75% of the unit's standard value. Refund steps down from 80% (months 0-12) to 70%, 60%, 50%, 30%, 20%, 10% and reaches 0% after 55 months. Paid within 30 days after a successor resident signs; none if the resident moves to another VMRC facility.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Park Village (VMRC) is part of Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community, Inc. (consolidated: VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation, Heritage Haven).
  • Balance sheet: Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community, Inc. (consolidated).
  • Ratios: VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven).

Days cash on hand

421 days FY2025p. 41

Debt service coverage

4.78x FY2025p. 41

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 41FY2024p. 41
Days cash on hand421 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage4.78xNot disclosed
Operating margin6.73%Not disclosed
Total assets$110.5 million$107.3 million
Total liabilities$87.1 million$87.4 million
Long-term debt$29.6 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$21.6 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$26.3 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$23.4 million$19.9 million

Auditor: Beachy Arehart PLLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 41

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 76
Independent living96.4%
Assisted living93.5%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care78%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. VMRC, COMPLETE LIVING CARE on Care Compare

In brief

Park Village, Inc. runs the 266 independent living homes (Park Village cottages, Park Place and Park Gables) on the Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community campus in Harrisonburg. Residency fees in April 2025 ran from $122,709 to $1,127,549 depending on the unit and one of three refund options (90%, 50% or declining to zero), with monthly fees of $1,728 to $3,684 for one person. Assisted living and nursing are separate VMRC facilities with priority admission at a per diem rate. The obligated group reported 421 days cash on hand and 4.78x debt service coverage for the year ended March 31, 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.