Skip to content

Home › Compare

Pine Knoll and Quail Haven Village compared

Two North Carolina communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigurePine KnollQuail Haven Village
LocationSouthern Pines, NCPinehurst, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one personNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Monthly fee, independent living$1,886 to $4,684p. 19$4,093 to $5,305p. 68
Refund plansStandard Refund Option; Fifty Percent (50%) Refund Option; Ninety Percent (90%) Refund Option; Membership Fee (non-refundable)p. 68p. 69p. 76Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Feep. 94
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 68p. 69p. 76Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 68p. 69p. 76Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Days cash on hand103 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 29Figures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days.20 days (FY2025)p. 2The 20 days rest on $572,275 of unrestricted cash (p27, p41). The statutory operating reserve requirement is $5,790,908 (p28), and the community meets it with an irrevocable letter of credit rather than cash; the disclosure narrative says the letter of credit is for $5,790,908 (Section 29.3, p28), while the audited notes say it was $2,869,000 at December 31, 2025 (p47; also p71) — the document does not reconcile the two amounts. $9.57M of the $21.35M total assets is a receivable from related parties (p41). A $7.4M balloon payment on the main note is due August 2027 (p50).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days.5.31x (FY2025)p. 2The 20 days rest on $572,275 of unrestricted cash (p27, p41). The statutory operating reserve requirement is $5,790,908 (p28), and the community meets it with an irrevocable letter of credit rather than cash; the disclosure narrative says the letter of credit is for $5,790,908 (Section 29.3, p28), while the audited notes say it was $2,869,000 at December 31, 2025 (p47; also p71) — the document does not reconcile the two amounts. $9.57M of the $21.35M total assets is a receivable from related parties (p41). A $7.4M balloon payment on the main note is due August 2027 (p50).
Independent living occupancy95.3% (2025)p. 479.6% (2025)p. 15
Net position$3.0 million (FY2025)p. 29$3.2 million (FY2025)p. 41
Whose financesSt. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Belle Meade, Pine Knoll, Health Center, Coventry and HUD property management); ratios for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.p. 29Quail Haven Village (combined co-providers)p. 41
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, brc (Greensboro, NC; firm shown by logo and brc.cpa only)p. 29Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 41
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked4 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Pine Knoll

Type B (modified): Up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee; on a permanent move you pay 50% of the published per diem rate. Requires a health evaluation, management approval and a separate non-refundable Extensive Benefit Fee whose amount is not disclosed.p. 66

Type B (modified): Fee-for-service care, but with up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee (which makes it Type B by our definition); on a permanent move you pay the full published per diem rate.p. 67

Quail Haven Village

Type B (modified): No care days are included: residents pay the published per diem rates with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of Healthcare Center care each calendar year (unused days do not carry over), and keep paying the apartment fee while it is kept. 25 nursing beds are reserved for independent living residents, with priority for the open beds when those are full.p. 94

Questions to ask both communities before you sign