Skip to content

Quail Haven Village

155 Blake Boulevard, Pinehurst, North Carolina 28374 · Community website

Operator:
Quail Haven of Pinehurst, LLC and Quail Haven Healthcare Center of Pinehurst, LLC (Liberty Senior Living, LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1986

Three for-profit LLC co-providers: Quail Haven of Pinehurst (independent living) and Quail Haven Healthcare Center (healthcare) are owned by Liberty Senior Living, LLC, itself owned by Liberty Healthcare Group, LLC (McNeill family); they lease the buildings from Quail Haven Properties of Pinehurst, LLC under ten-year leases. Licensed as a CCRC in March 2020.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,093 to $5,305p. 68

Refund plans offered

  • Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection FeeTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

20 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 20 days rest on $572,275 of unrestricted cash (p27, p41). The statutory operating reserve requirement is $5,790,908 (p28), and the community meets it with an irrevocable letter of credit rather than cash; the disclosure narrative says the letter of credit is for $5,790,908 (Section 29.3, p28), while the audited notes say it was $2,869,000 at December 31, 2025 (p47; also p71) — the document does not reconcile the two amounts. $9.57M of the $21.35M total assets is a receivable from related parties (p41). A $7.4M balloon payment on the main note is due August 2027 (p50).

Independent living occupancy

79.6% (2025)p. 15

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

No care days are included: residents pay the published per diem rates with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of Healthcare Center care each calendar year (unused days do not carry over), and keep paying the apartment fee while it is kept. 25 nursing beds are reserved for independent living residents, with priority for the open beds when those are full.p. 94

Assisted living
Published monthly/per diem rate ($7,649-$8,144/month from 1/1/2026), 10% off during the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year.
Nursing care
Published per diem rate ($370/day private from 1/1/2026; $11,254.17/month in Table 21.1), 10% off during the first 30 days each calendar year; the apartment Monthly Service Fee also continues.
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living79
Assisted living12
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

One rental Residency and Care Agreement with no entrance fee: a 13-month renewable term, a non-refundable Community Fee and a non-refundable Apartment Selection Fee (each one month's fee), and a refundable Security Deposit of one month's fee. Healthcare is charged at published per diem rates, with a 10% discount on the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year (non-cumulative); 25 of the 60 nursing beds are reserved for independent living residents.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $4,093 to $11,254.17)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One-bedroom apartment (560 sq ft avg, 29 units)Independent living$4,093p. 68$710
Two-bedroom apartment (939 sq ft avg, 48 units)Independent living$5,305p. 68$710
Assisted Living Studio (8 units)Assisted living$7,649p. 68Not listed
Assisted Living One-bedroom (4 units)Assisted living$8,144p. 68Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$11,254.17p. 18Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 2.5%20212022: 5%20222023: 4.5%20232024: 8.7%20242025: 6%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 19
2024Independent livingAll units8.7%Percent onlyp. 19
2023Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 19
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 19
2021Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 19

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Feep. 94

There is no entrance fee. The Community Fee and Apartment Selection Fee (each equal to one month's fee) are refunded, less a $1,000 service charge, only on cancellation within the 30-day rescission period; after that they are non-refundable. The one-month Security Deposit is returned within 30 days of move-out if the unit is in similar condition, credited as the last month's fee on death, and forfeited on breach.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Quail Haven Village (combined co-providers).

Days cash on hand

20 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

5.31x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 20 days rest on $572,275 of unrestricted cash (p27, p41). The statutory operating reserve requirement is $5,790,908 (p28), and the community meets it with an irrevocable letter of credit rather than cash; the disclosure narrative says the letter of credit is for $5,790,908 (Section 29.3, p28), while the audited notes say it was $2,869,000 at December 31, 2025 (p47; also p71) — the document does not reconcile the two amounts. $9.57M of the $21.35M total assets is a receivable from related parties (p41). A $7.4M balloon payment on the main note is due August 2027 (p50).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 41FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand20 days98 days8 days
Debt service coverage5.31x5.02x2.12x
Operating margin12.11%11.38%9.52%
Total assets$21.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$18.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$10.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$3.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 41

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 152024p. 152023p. 152022p. 152021p. 15
Independent living79.6%89.1%87.2%76.8%66.7%
Assisted living88.5%71.7%89.5%96.3%94.2%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care78.6%77.9%81.1%79.1%70.2%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 6. Inn at Quail Haven Village on Care Compare

In brief

Quail Haven Village in Pinehurst is a for-profit rental continuing care community run by Liberty Senior Living, with 79 independent living apartments, 12 family care home (assisted living) beds and 60 skilled nursing beds. There is no entrance fee; apartments cost $4,093 or $5,305 a month from January 2026 plus two non-refundable one-month fees, and healthcare is paid at per diem rates with 10% off the first 30 days each year. It reported 20 days cash on hand and 5.31x debt service coverage for 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Penick Village

    Southern Pines · 4 miles away

    Entrance fee: $135,987 to $859,200

  • Pine Knoll

    Southern Pines · 5 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

  • Belle Meade

    Southern Pines · 6 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.