Home › Compare
Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury and Williamsburg Landing compared
Two Virginia communities about 35 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury | Williamsburg Landing |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Irvington, VA | Williamsburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $152,386 to $904,817p. 10p. 13 | $48,067 to $1,054,547p. 27p. 25 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $4,214 to $7,928p. 14 | $4,195 to $6,450p. 26p. 25 |
| Refund plans | Option I (Declining Refund); Option II (50% Refund); Option III (50% Refund); Option IV (Declining Refund)p. 37p. 38 | 0% Refundable; 50% Refundable; 70% Refundable; 90% Refundable; AL 0% Refundable; AL 50% Refundable; MC 0% Refundable; MC 50% Refundablep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 37p. 38 | 90% of the feep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 37p. 38 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; Within a fixed number of daysp. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Days cash on hand | 156 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 50 | 340 days (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 120 daysp. 63 | At least 120 daysp. 269 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | 2.31x (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Independent living occupancy | 89% (2025)p. 3 | 89.8% (2022)p. 269 |
| Net position | $5.8 million (FY2025)p. 50 | −$54.3 million (FY2022)p. 234 |
| Whose finances | Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc. (including its beneficial interest in the RWC Foundation); ratios for Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc.p. 50 | Williamsburg Landing, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated); ratios for Williamsburg Landing, Inc.p. 234 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 50 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 234 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 3 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury
Type A (life care): Residents on Option I or III keep paying their independent-living monthly fee when they move to assisted living or nursing, plus charges for two extra meals a day and ancillaries.p. 32
Type C (fee for service): Option II residents pay the published private-pay daily rate for assisted living and nursing; they may have care charges deducted from their entrance-fee refund. The per diem rates are not stated in the document.p. 32
Type B (modified): Option IV residents pay the private-pay daily rate for their first 365 cumulative days of assisted living or nursing; after that, care costs the same as their independent-living monthly fee plus two extra meals a day.p. 33
Williamsburg Landing
Type B (modified): Independent living, direct-admission assisted living and direct-admission memory support agreements each include up to 10 days of nursing-center care per calendar year (non-cumulative; they end after the year of a permanent nursing transfer). Beyond that, nursing, assisted living and memory support are paid at Williamsburg Landing's own rates; residents are offered nursing beds before non-residents.p. 40