Skip to content

Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury

132 Lancaster Drive, Irvington, Virginia 22480

Operator:
Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Episcopal and Presbyterian: organized under Virginia Diocesan Homes (Episcopal Diocese of Virginia) and Westminster Presbyterian Homes (Presbyterian Synod of the Mid-Atlantic); not an agent of either, which bear no liability (p7, p55).
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Nonstock nonprofit Virginia corporation, 501(c)(3); owns all real property on a 165-acre site (p3, p6-7).

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$152,386 to $904,817p. 10p. 13

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,214 to $7,928p. 14

Refund plans offered

  • Option I (Declining Refund)Can decline to nothing
  • Option II (50% Refund)Never less than 50% of the fee
  • Option III (50% Refund)Never less than 50% of the fee
  • Option IV (Declining Refund)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

156 (FY2025, calculated by us)p. 50Its lenders require at least 120.

Independent living occupancy

89% (2025)p. 3

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Life Care (Options I and III); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Residents on Option I or III keep paying their independent-living monthly fee when they move to assisted living or nursing, plus charges for two extra meals a day and ancillaries.p. 32

Assisted living
Same monthly fee as the independent-living residence occupied at transfer, plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges
Nursing care
Same monthly fee plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Continuing Care (Option II); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Option II residents pay the published private-pay daily rate for assisted living and nursing; they may have care charges deducted from their entrance-fee refund. The per diem rates are not stated in the document.p. 32

Assisted living
Current published private-pay per diem rate; if the IL unit is kept, its monthly fee too
Nursing care
Current published private-pay per diem rate

Type B (modified)The filing calls it 365 Day Deductible (Option IV); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Option IV residents pay the private-pay daily rate for their first 365 cumulative days of assisted living or nursing; after that, care costs the same as their independent-living monthly fee plus two extra meals a day.p. 33

Assisted living
Private-pay per diem rate for the first 365 cumulative days; afterwards the IL monthly fee plus two additional meals
Nursing care
Private-pay per diem rate for the first 365 cumulative days; afterwards the IL monthly fee plus two additional meals
Units on campusp. 6
Independent living158
Assisted living38
Memory care8
Nursing care42

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Option I - Declining Refund Life Care · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $169,317 to $696,013)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioOption I (Declining Refund)from $169,317p. 10$63,290
Apartment - FrankliniaOption I (Declining Refund)from $227,931p. 10$63,290
Apartment - GardeniaOption I (Declining Refund)from $302,864p. 10$63,290
Apartment - HydrangeaOption I (Declining Refund)from $326,901p. 10$63,290
Apartment - IvyOption I (Declining Refund)from $447,971p. 10$63,290
Apartment - JuniperOption I (Declining Refund)from $401,530p. 10$63,290
Cottage - Aster StudioOption I (Declining Refund)from $182,069p. 11$63,290
Cottage - Aster DeluxeOption I (Declining Refund)from $214,089p. 11$63,290
Cottage - BirchOption I (Declining Refund)from $229,732p. 11$63,290
Cottage - Birch DeluxeOption I (Declining Refund)from $292,410p. 11$63,290
Cottage - CedarOption I (Declining Refund)from $307,140p. 11$63,290
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeOption I (Declining Refund)from $326,956p. 11$63,290
Cottage - DogwoodOption I (Declining Refund)from $329,679p. 11$63,290
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeOption I (Declining Refund)from $386,024p. 12$63,290
Cottage - LaurelOption I (Declining Refund)from $451,889p. 12$63,290
Cottage - MagnoliaOption I (Declining Refund)from $528,135p. 12$63,290
Home - AzaleaOption I (Declining Refund)from $586,008p. 12$63,290
Home - BoxwoodOption I (Declining Refund)from $653,196p. 12$63,290
Home - CamelliaOption I (Declining Refund)from $673,750p. 12$63,290
Home - LindenOption I (Declining Refund)from $696,013p. 13$63,290
Home - WillowOption I (Declining Refund)from $629,055p. 13$63,290
Option II - Refundable Continuing Care · Type C (fee for service) (21 prices, $203,181 to $835,216)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioOption II (50% Refund)from $203,181p. 10$75,946
Apartment - FrankliniaOption II (50% Refund)from $273,518p. 10$75,946
Apartment - GardeniaOption II (50% Refund)from $363,437p. 10$75,946
Apartment - HydrangeaOption II (50% Refund)from $392,282p. 10$75,946
Apartment - IvyOption II (50% Refund)from $537,566p. 10$75,946
Apartment - JuniperOption II (50% Refund)from $481,836p. 10$75,946
Cottage - Aster StudioOption II (50% Refund)from $218,483p. 11$75,946
Cottage - Aster DeluxeOption II (50% Refund)from $256,907p. 11$75,946
Cottage - BirchOption II (50% Refund)from $275,679p. 11$75,946
Cottage - Birch DeluxeOption II (50% Refund)from $350,892p. 11$75,946
Cottage - CedarOption II (50% Refund)from $368,568p. 11$75,946
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeOption II (50% Refund)from $392,348p. 11$75,946
Cottage - DogwoodOption II (50% Refund)from $395,615p. 12$75,946
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeOption II (50% Refund)from $463,229p. 12$75,946
Cottage - LaurelOption II (50% Refund)from $542,267p. 12$75,946
Cottage - MagnoliaOption II (50% Refund)from $633,762p. 12$75,946
Home - AzaleaOption II (50% Refund)from $703,210p. 12$75,946
Home - BoxwoodOption II (50% Refund)from $783,836p. 12$75,946
Home - CamelliaOption II (50% Refund)from $808,500p. 12$75,946
Home - LindenOption II (50% Refund)from $835,216p. 13$75,946
Home - WillowOption II (50% Refund)from $754,866p. 13$75,946
Option III - 50% Refund Life Care · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $220,113 to $904,817)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioOption III (50% Refund)from $220,113p. 10$82,276
Apartment - FrankliniaOption III (50% Refund)from $296,311p. 10$82,276
Apartment - GardeniaOption III (50% Refund)from $393,724p. 10$82,276
Apartment - HydrangeaOption III (50% Refund)from $424,972p. 10$82,276
Apartment - IvyOption III (50% Refund)from $582,363p. 10$82,276
Apartment - JuniperOption III (50% Refund)from $521,989p. 10$82,276
Cottage - Aster StudioOption III (50% Refund)from $236,690p. 11$82,276
Cottage - Aster DeluxeOption III (50% Refund)from $278,316p. 11$82,276
Cottage - BirchOption III (50% Refund)from $298,652p. 11$82,276
Cottage - Birch DeluxeOption III (50% Refund)from $380,133p. 11$82,276
Cottage - CedarOption III (50% Refund)from $399,282p. 11$82,276
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeOption III (50% Refund)from $425,043p. 11$82,276
Cottage - DogwoodOption III (50% Refund)from $428,583p. 12$82,276
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeOption III (50% Refund)from $501,832p. 12$82,276
Cottage - LaurelOption III (50% Refund)from $587,456p. 12$82,276
Cottage - MagnoliaOption III (50% Refund)from $686,576p. 12$82,276
Home - AzaleaOption III (50% Refund)from $761,811p. 12$82,276
Home - BoxwoodOption III (50% Refund)from $849,155p. 12$82,276
Home - CamelliaOption III (50% Refund)from $875,875p. 12$82,276
Home - LindenOption III (50% Refund)from $904,817p. 13$82,276
Home - WillowOption III (50% Refund)from $817,772p. 13$82,276
Option IV - 365 Day Deductible · Type B (modified) (21 prices, $152,386 to $626,412)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioOption IV (Declining Refund)from $152,386p. 10$56,960
Apartment - FrankliniaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $205,138p. 10$56,960
Apartment - GardeniaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $272,578p. 10$56,960
Apartment - HydrangeaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $294,211p. 10$56,960
Apartment - IvyOption IV (Declining Refund)from $403,174p. 10$56,960
Apartment - JuniperOption IV (Declining Refund)from $361,377p. 11$56,960
Cottage - Aster StudioOption IV (Declining Refund)from $163,863p. 11$56,960
Cottage - Aster DeluxeOption IV (Declining Refund)from $192,681p. 11$56,960
Cottage - BirchOption IV (Declining Refund)from $206,759p. 11$56,960
Cottage - Birch DeluxeOption IV (Declining Refund)from $263,169p. 11$56,960
Cottage - CedarOption IV (Declining Refund)from $276,426p. 11$56,960
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeOption IV (Declining Refund)from $294,261p. 11$56,960
Cottage - DogwoodOption IV (Declining Refund)from $296,712p. 12$56,960
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeOption IV (Declining Refund)from $347,422p. 12$56,960
Cottage - LaurelOption IV (Declining Refund)from $406,701p. 12$56,960
Cottage - MagnoliaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $475,322p. 12$56,960
Home - AzaleaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $527,408p. 12$56,960
Home - BoxwoodOption IV (Declining Refund)from $587,877p. 12$56,960
Home - CamelliaOption IV (Declining Refund)from $606,375p. 13$56,960
Home - LindenOption IV (Declining Refund)from $626,412p. 13$56,960
Home - WillowOption IV (Declining Refund)from $566,150p. 13$56,960

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Option I - Declining Refund Life Care · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $4,214 to $7,928)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,214p. 14$2,087
Apartment - FrankliniaIndependent livingfrom $5,090p. 14$2,087
Apartment - GardeniaIndependent livingfrom $5,654p. 14$2,087
Apartment - HydrangeaIndependent livingfrom $5,950p. 14$2,087
Apartment - IvyIndependent livingfrom $6,597p. 14$2,087
Apartment - JuniperIndependent livingfrom $6,484p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $4,762p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,377p. 14$2,087
Cottage - BirchIndependent livingfrom $5,141p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Birch DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $5,531p. 14$2,087
Cottage - CedarIndependent livingfrom $5,929p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,040p. 14$2,087
Cottage - DogwoodIndependent livingfrom $6,260p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,370p. 14$2,087
Cottage - LaurelIndependent livingfrom $6,778p. 14$2,087
Cottage - MagnoliaIndependent livingfrom $6,803p. 14$2,087
Home - AzaleaIndependent livingfrom $6,885p. 14$2,087
Home - BoxwoodIndependent livingfrom $7,512p. 14$2,087
Home - CamelliaIndependent livingfrom $7,928p. 14$2,087
Home - LindenIndependent livingfrom $7,541p. 14$2,087
Home - WillowIndependent livingfrom $6,921p. 14$2,087
Option II - Refundable Continuing Care · Type C (fee for service) (21 prices, $4,214 to $7,928)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,214p. 14$2,087
Apartment - FrankliniaIndependent livingfrom $5,090p. 14$2,087
Apartment - GardeniaIndependent livingfrom $5,654p. 14$2,087
Apartment - HydrangeaIndependent livingfrom $5,950p. 14$2,087
Apartment - IvyIndependent livingfrom $6,597p. 14$2,087
Apartment - JuniperIndependent livingfrom $6,484p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $4,762p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,377p. 14$2,087
Cottage - BirchIndependent livingfrom $5,141p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Birch DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $5,531p. 14$2,087
Cottage - CedarIndependent livingfrom $5,929p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,040p. 14$2,087
Cottage - DogwoodIndependent livingfrom $6,260p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,370p. 14$2,087
Cottage - LaurelIndependent livingfrom $6,778p. 14$2,087
Cottage - MagnoliaIndependent livingfrom $6,803p. 14$2,087
Home - AzaleaIndependent livingfrom $6,885p. 14$2,087
Home - BoxwoodIndependent livingfrom $7,512p. 14$2,087
Home - CamelliaIndependent livingfrom $7,928p. 14$2,087
Home - LindenIndependent livingfrom $7,541p. 14$2,087
Home - WillowIndependent livingfrom $6,921p. 14$2,087
Option III - 50% Refund Life Care · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $4,214 to $7,928)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,214p. 14$2,087
Apartment - FrankliniaIndependent livingfrom $5,090p. 14$2,087
Apartment - GardeniaIndependent livingfrom $5,654p. 14$2,087
Apartment - HydrangeaIndependent livingfrom $5,950p. 14$2,087
Apartment - IvyIndependent livingfrom $6,597p. 14$2,087
Apartment - JuniperIndependent livingfrom $6,484p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $4,762p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,377p. 14$2,087
Cottage - BirchIndependent livingfrom $5,141p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Birch DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $5,531p. 14$2,087
Cottage - CedarIndependent livingfrom $5,929p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,040p. 14$2,087
Cottage - DogwoodIndependent livingfrom $6,260p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,370p. 14$2,087
Cottage - LaurelIndependent livingfrom $6,778p. 14$2,087
Cottage - MagnoliaIndependent livingfrom $6,803p. 14$2,087
Home - AzaleaIndependent livingfrom $6,885p. 14$2,087
Home - BoxwoodIndependent livingfrom $7,512p. 14$2,087
Home - CamelliaIndependent livingfrom $7,928p. 14$2,087
Home - LindenIndependent livingfrom $7,541p. 14$2,087
Home - WillowIndependent livingfrom $6,921p. 14$2,087
Option IV - 365 Day Deductible · Type B (modified) (21 prices, $4,214 to $7,928)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - Elm StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,214p. 14$2,087
Apartment - FrankliniaIndependent livingfrom $5,090p. 14$2,087
Apartment - GardeniaIndependent livingfrom $5,654p. 14$2,087
Apartment - HydrangeaIndependent livingfrom $5,950p. 14$2,087
Apartment - IvyIndependent livingfrom $6,597p. 14$2,087
Apartment - JuniperIndependent livingfrom $6,484p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $4,762p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Aster StudioIndependent livingfrom $4,377p. 14$2,087
Cottage - BirchIndependent livingfrom $5,141p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Birch DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $5,531p. 14$2,087
Cottage - CedarIndependent livingfrom $5,929p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Cedar DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,040p. 14$2,087
Cottage - DogwoodIndependent livingfrom $6,260p. 14$2,087
Cottage - Dogwood DeluxeIndependent livingfrom $6,370p. 14$2,087
Cottage - LaurelIndependent livingfrom $6,778p. 14$2,087
Cottage - MagnoliaIndependent livingfrom $6,803p. 14$2,087
Home - AzaleaIndependent livingfrom $6,885p. 14$2,087
Home - BoxwoodIndependent livingfrom $7,512p. 14$2,087
Home - CamelliaIndependent livingfrom $7,928p. 14$2,087
Home - LindenIndependent livingfrom $7,541p. 14$2,087
Home - WillowIndependent livingfrom $6,921p. 14$2,087

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingApartment - Elm Studio5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,013 to $4,214p. 14
2024Independent livingApartment - Elm Studio4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,840 to $4,013p. 14
2023Independent livingApartment - Elm Studio7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,589 to $3,840p. 14
2022Independent livingApartment - Elm Studio5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,418 to $3,589p. 14
2025Independent livingHome - Camellia5%calculated from the dollar amounts$7,550 to $7,928p. 14
2024Independent livingHome - Camellia4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$7,224 to $7,550p. 14
2023Independent livingHome - Camellia7%calculated from the dollar amounts$6,752 to $7,224p. 14
2022Independent livingHome - Camellia5%calculated from the dollar amounts$6,430 to $6,752p. 14

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Option I (Declining Refund)p. 37

4% is kept as an administrative fee, then the refund falls 2% for each month of occupancy and nothing is due after 49 months. Paid when your unit is reserved and paid for by a new resident or within one year of termination, whichever comes first (within one year if you were in assisted living or nursing).

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 49 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Option II (50% Refund)p. 38

4% administrative fee, then 2% a month for up to 25 months until the guaranteed 50% floor; the floor does not hold if assisted-living or nursing charges were deducted from the refund. Paid on re-occupancy of your unit or within one year, whichever comes first (within one year if you were in assisted living or nursing).

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Option III (50% Refund)p. 38

4% administrative fee, then 2% a month for up to 25 months until the guaranteed 50% floor. Paid on re-occupancy of your unit or within one year, whichever comes first (within one year if you were in assisted living or nursing).

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Option IV (Declining Refund)p. 37

Same refund terms as Option I: 4% administrative fee, then 2% a month, nothing due after 49 months. Paid on re-occupancy of your unit or within one year, whichever comes first (within one year if you were in assisted living or nursing).

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 49 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc. (including its beneficial interest in the RWC Foundation).
  • Ratios: Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

156 days FY2025p. 50

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 50FY2024p. 50
Days cash on hand156 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$47.7 million$43.4 million
Total liabilities$41.9 million$41.6 million
Long-term debt$4.0 million$6.3 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$33.4 million$30.2 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.6 million$2.7 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$5.8 million$1.9 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 50

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 3
Independent living89%
Assisted living85%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care71%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-03 In the fiscal year ended March 31, 2025 the RWC Foundation used $1,780,513 of unrestricted assets to pay off early a note payable for construction of the Life Enrichment Center.p. 22
  • 2023-12 Retired the Series 2012A bonds in December 2023.p. 16

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. RAPPAHANNOCK WESTMINSTER CANTERBURY on Care Compare

In brief

Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury is a nonprofit continuing care community on a 165-acre campus in Irvington, Lancaster County, with 158 cottages, homes and apartments, a 38-bed assisted living center, an 8-bed memory care cottage and a 42-bed nursing center. It offers four entrance-fee options: two life-care options with declining or 50% refunds, a fee-for-service option, and a 365-day-deductible option; 2025 entrance fees run from $152,386 to $904,817 and monthly fees from $4,214 to $7,928.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Sanders

    Gloucester · 19 miles away

    Entrance fee: None: rental

  • Williamsburg Landing

    Williamsburg · 35 miles away

    Entrance fee: $48,067 to $1,054,547

  • Patriots Colony

    Williamsburg · 37 miles away

    Entrance fee: $177,629 to $912,827

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.