Skip to content

Home › Compare

Sanders and Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury compared

Two Virginia communities about 19 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureSandersRappahannock Westminster-Canterbury
LocationGloucester, VAIrvington, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesRentalType A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personNone: rental$152,386 to $904,817p. 10p. 13
Monthly fee, independent living$3,567 to $4,137p. 36$4,214 to $7,928p. 14
Refund plansNone: rental contractOption I (Declining Refund); Option II (50% Refund); Option III (50% Refund); Option IV (Declining Refund)p. 37p. 38
Highest guaranteed refundNone: rental contract50% of the feep. 37p. 38
When a refund is paidNone: rental contractWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 37p. 38
Days cash on handNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd.156 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 50
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingAt least 120 daysp. 63
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd.Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Independent living occupancy98% (2024)p. 3089% (2025)p. 3
Net position−$689,002 (FY2024)p. 30$5.8 million (FY2025)p. 50
Whose financesSanders Common, Ltd.p. 30Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc. (including its beneficial interest in the RWC Foundation); ratios for Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury, Inc.p. 50
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 30Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 50
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Sanders

Rental: Sanders now offers only one-year leases (then month to month) with no entrance fee. Tenants get priority access to assisted living and the on-campus nursing center but pay the regular rates.p. 47

Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury

Type A (life care): Residents on Option I or III keep paying their independent-living monthly fee when they move to assisted living or nursing, plus charges for two extra meals a day and ancillaries.p. 32

Type C (fee for service): Option II residents pay the published private-pay daily rate for assisted living and nursing; they may have care charges deducted from their entrance-fee refund. The per diem rates are not stated in the document.p. 32

Type B (modified): Option IV residents pay the private-pay daily rate for their first 365 cumulative days of assisted living or nursing; after that, care costs the same as their independent-living monthly fee plus two extra meals a day.p. 33

Questions to ask both communities before you sign