Skip to content

Sanders

7385 Walker Ave., Gloucester, Virginia 23061

Operator:
Sanders Common, Ltd. d/b/a Sanders (sole member: Riverside Healthcare Association, Inc., d/b/a Riverside Health)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1985

Nonprofit nonstock 501(c)(3) whose sole member is Riverside Healthcare Association (since September 2003); Riverside Healthcare Association owns the real estate and, under the affiliation agreement, became responsible for all of Sanders' financial and contractual obligations (p3, p20, p22). Nursing beds are in Francis N. Sanders Nursing Home, Inc., a separate Riverside entity (p21, p95).

  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Sanders, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,567 to $4,137p. 36

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Independent living occupancy

98% (2024)p. 30

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

RentalThe filing calls it Residency Lease Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Sanders now offers only one-year leases (then month to month) with no entrance fee. Tenants get priority access to assisted living and the on-campus nursing center but pay the regular rates.p. 47

Assisted living
Assisted living monthly rate by apartment and level of care: $5,659-$7,636 in 2025; second person $2,855 base or $3,402-$4,494 by level
Nursing care
Long-term care private room $356 per day; skilled nursing private room $743 per day (2025)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 4
Independent living12
Assisted living32
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care55

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2025 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Sanders no longer sells continuing care contracts; new residents sign a Residency Lease Agreement with no entrance fee (one-year lease converting to month to month, $2,000 reservation deposit credited to the last month's rent). One legacy continuing-care resident remains, whose contract adds one day of nursing care per month of occupancy, up to 10 days a year (p23, p25, p42).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Lease Agreement · Rental (3 prices, $3,567 to $4,137)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cottage - Small one bedroom (924 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,567p. 36$929
Cottage - Medium two bedroom (1012 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,815p. 36$929
Cottage - Large two bedroom deluxe (1156 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,137p. 36$929
Assisted living (monthly rate) · Rental (4 prices, $5,659 to $7,636)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (349 sq ft), Levels 1-3Assisted living$5,659 to $6,751p. 37Not listed
Alcove (384 sq ft), Levels 1-3Assisted living$5,918 to $7,010p. 37Not listed
One bedroom (426 sq ft), Levels 1-3Assisted living$6,257 to $7,349p. 37Not listed
Grand (470 sq ft), Levels 1-3Assisted living$6,544 to $7,636p. 37Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2018: 3%20182019: 3%20192020: 2%20202021: 3%20212022: 3%20222023: 6%20232024: 5%20242025: 4.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2020Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 26
2019Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2018Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2025Assisted livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 38
2025Nursing careAll units4%Percent onlyp. 38

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Sanders is part of Riverside Health (Riverside Healthcare Association, Inc.).
  • Balance sheet: Sanders Common, Ltd.

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 30FY2023p. 30
Total assets−$475,384$299,925
Total liabilitiesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$689,002−$13,835

Auditor: KPMG LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 30

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 30
Independent living98%
Assisted living96%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care89%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-11Credit rating S&P Global Ratings affirmed parent Riverside Health's long-term credit rating at A- with a stable outlook.p. 3
  • 2003-09Ownership change Sanders became a member corporation of Riverside Healthcare Association, Inc., which became responsible for its financial and contractual obligations.p. 22

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. RIVERSIDE LIFELONG HEALTH & REHABILITATION SANDERS on Care Compare

In brief

Sanders is a small Riverside Health retirement campus in Gloucester Courthouse with 12 independent-living cottages, 32 assisted living apartments and a 55-bed nursing and rehab center. It no longer sells continuing care contracts: cottages are leased with no entrance fee at $3,567 to $4,137 a month in 2025, and tenants get priority access to assisted living and nursing at regular rates. Sanders itself ran an operating loss of $675,167 in 2024 and has negative net assets; Riverside Health is responsible for its obligations.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.