Home › Compare
Sanders and Williamsburg Landing compared
Two Virginia communities about 16 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Sanders | Williamsburg Landing |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Gloucester, VA | Williamsburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Rental | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | None: rental | $48,067 to $1,054,547p. 27p. 25 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,567 to $4,137p. 36 | $4,195 to $6,450p. 26p. 25 |
| Refund plans | None: rental contract | 0% Refundable; 50% Refundable; 70% Refundable; 90% Refundable; AL 0% Refundable; AL 50% Refundable; MC 0% Refundable; MC 50% Refundablep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | None: rental contract | 90% of the feep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| When a refund is paid | None: rental contract | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; Within a fixed number of daysp. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Days cash on hand | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd. | 340 days (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | At least 120 daysp. 269 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd. | 2.31x (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Independent living occupancy | 98% (2024)p. 30 | 89.8% (2022)p. 269 |
| Net position | −$689,002 (FY2024)p. 30 | −$54.3 million (FY2022)p. 234 |
| Whose finances | Sanders Common, Ltd.p. 30 | Williamsburg Landing, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated); ratios for Williamsburg Landing, Inc.p. 234 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 30 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 234 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 3 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Sanders
Rental: Sanders now offers only one-year leases (then month to month) with no entrance fee. Tenants get priority access to assisted living and the on-campus nursing center but pay the regular rates.p. 47
Williamsburg Landing
Type B (modified): Independent living, direct-admission assisted living and direct-admission memory support agreements each include up to 10 days of nursing-center care per calendar year (non-cumulative; they end after the year of a permanent nursing transfer). Beyond that, nursing, assisted living and memory support are paid at Williamsburg Landing's own rates; residents are offered nursing beds before non-residents.p. 40