Skip to content

Home › Compare

Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community and The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills compared

Two North Carolina communities about 4 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureSpringmoor Life Care Retirement CommunityThe East Tower at Cardinal North Hills
LocationRaleigh, NCRaleigh, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Rental
Entrance fee, one person$144,500 to $622,800p. 18p. 19None: rental
Monthly fee, independent living$3,811 to $6,703p. 17p. 18$7,653 to $15,515p. 19
Refund plansLife Occupancy; 50% Refund Entry Fee; 100% Refund Entry Feep. 100p. 102None: rental contract
Highest guaranteed refund100% of the feep. 100p. 102None: rental contract
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 100p. 102None: rental contract
Days cash on hand80 days (FY2025)p. 2The 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash.8 days (FY2025)p. 2Cash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage3.09x (FY2025)p. 2The 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash.Not disclosed in the 2026 filingCash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).
Independent living occupancy98% (2025)p. 1498.9% (2025)p. 16
Net position−$25.2 million (FY2025)p. 46−$172,750 (FY2025)p. 39
Whose financesSpringmoor, Inc.; ratios for Springmoor, Inc. (provider only; not part of an obligated group)p. 46Tower at The Cardinal, LLCp. 39
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, James A. Lucas and Company, L.L.P.p. 46Unmodified (clean) opinion, WithumSmith+Brown, PCp. 39
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked3 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community

Type B (modified): 30 days of Health Center care included each year (bankable to 90). Short-term stays after that are at 30% of the daily rate; permanent stays are at the full daily rate under the contract, though the disclosure narrative says 60% (see notes).p. 104

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills

Rental: No care is prepaid. Assisted living is on site at market monthly fees plus point-based care charges; memory care and nursing require moving to the affiliate's Health Center at the adjacent Cardinal at North Hills, which ends this agreement and is fee-for-service.p. 111

Questions to ask both communities before you sign