Home › Compare
Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community and The Oaks at Whitaker Glen compared
Two North Carolina communities about 6 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community | The Oaks at Whitaker Glen |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Raleigh, NC | Raleigh, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $144,500 to $622,800p. 18p. 19 | $124,000 to $783,000p. 22p. 24 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,811 to $6,703p. 17p. 18 | $2,500 to $6,200p. 21p. 23 |
| Refund plans | Life Occupancy; 50% Refund Entry Fee; 100% Refund Entry Feep. 100p. 102 | Lineage Plan (existing units); Heritage Plan (existing units); Lineage Plan (expansion units); Heritage Plan (expansion units); Legacy Plan (expansion units)p. 25 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 100% of the feep. 100p. 102 | 75% of the feep. 25 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 100p. 102 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25 |
| Days cash on hand | 80 days (FY2025)p. 2The 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash. | 171 days (FY2025)p. 2The 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 3.09x (FY2025)p. 2The 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingThe 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022. |
| Independent living occupancy | 98% (2025)p. 14 | 60.9% (2025)p. 17 |
| Net position | −$25.2 million (FY2025)p. 46 | $6.0 million (FY2025)p. 49 |
| Whose finances | Springmoor, Inc.; ratios for Springmoor, Inc. (provider only; not part of an obligated group)p. 46 | Whitaker Glen, Inc.p. 49 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, James A. Lucas and Company, L.L.P.p. 46 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Mauldin & Jenkins, LLCp. 49 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community
Type B (modified): 30 days of Health Center care included each year (bankable to 90). Short-term stays after that are at 30% of the daily rate; permanent stays are at the full daily rate under the contract, though the disclosure narrative says 60% (see notes).p. 104
The Oaks at Whitaker Glen
Type C (fee for service): No care is included. The campus has no assisted living or nursing today; residents are admitted to affiliated PruittHealth facilities when a bed is available and pay those facilities' customary rates, and stop paying the monthly service fee after a permanent transfer.p. 18