Home › Compare
The Barclay at SouthPark and The Cypress of Charlotte compared
Two North Carolina communities about 1 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Barclay at SouthPark | The Cypress of Charlotte |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Equity |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Purchase + membership fee |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $7,602 to $9,107p. 68 | $3,826 to $6,873p. 30 |
| Refund plans | Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Feep. 93 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Highest guaranteed refund | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| When a refund is paid | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Days cash on hand | 23 days (FY2025)p. 2Rests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect. | 104 days (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 1.48x (FY2025)p. 2Rests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect. | 4.49x (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days. |
| Independent living occupancy | 94.4% (2025)p. 16 | 100% (2025)p. 26 |
| Net position | $34.4 million (FY2025)p. 41 | $29.8 million (FY2025)p. 106 |
| Whose finances | The Barclay at SouthPark (combined: Charlotte SP Senior Housing OPCO, LLC, Charlotte SP Senior Housing PROPCO, LLC and Barclay Senior Living SouthPark, LLC); ratios for The Barclay at SouthPark (co-providers combined)p. 41 | The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Charlotte Homeowners Association, Inc. (combined)p. 106 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 41 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 106 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Barclay at SouthPark
Type B (modified): No care days are included: residents pay the published Healthcare Center rates with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of care each calendar year (unused days do not carry over), on top of the apartment fee. 102 of the 130 assisted living beds are reserved for residents, with priority for the open beds when those are full.p. 93
The Cypress of Charlotte
Equity: Each Member gets 90 lifetime cumulative days of care in a semi-private room in the Health Care Facility at the current Monthly Payment plus meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the daily Member rate on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold, and the Member rate alone afterward; the disclosure calls it the 'member discounted rate' but states no discount size.p. 167