Skip to content

The Barclay at SouthPark

4801 Barclay Downs Drive, Charlotte, North Carolina 28210 · Community website

Operator:
Charlotte SP Senior Housing OPCO, LLC (staffed by Barclay Senior Living SouthPark, LLC; managed by Liberty Living Management, LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2020

Three for-profit co-provider LLCs: the operating company leases the campus from the property company (PROPCO), which bought the site in 2018. Both are 78% owned by Senior Housing Intervening Company V / Charlotte SP Senior Housing Member, LLC and 11% each by two Barclay entities; the managers are Liberty (McNeill family) companies.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

In this filing

  • 2025-12: At December 31, 2025 the co-providers held $1,729,024 of unrestricted cash against an $8,194,350 statutory operating reserve requirement, a $6,465,326 deficiency. The filing says the deficit will be satisfied with an irrevocable standby letter of credit of $8,194,350 payable to the North Carolina Department of Insurance, and that the provider has that letter of credit.p. 29

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$7,602 to $9,107p. 68

Refund plans offered

  • Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection FeeTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

23 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Rests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect.

Independent living occupancy

94.4% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

No care days are included: residents pay the published Healthcare Center rates with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of care each calendar year (unused days do not carry over), on top of the apartment fee. 102 of the 130 assisted living beds are reserved for residents, with priority for the open beds when those are full.p. 93

Assisted living
Published rates (about $8,827 a month assisted living, $9,550 memory support, from 1/1/2026), 10% off during the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year; the apartment fee also continues.
Nursing care
Published per diem ($625 a day private from 1/1/2026; $19,010 a month in Table 21.1), 10% off during the first 30 days each calendar year; the apartment Monthly Service Fee also continues.
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living164
Assisted living130
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care6

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

One rental Residency and Care Agreement with no entrance fee: a 13-month renewable term, a non-refundable Community Fee, a non-refundable Apartment Selection Fee equal to one month's fee, and a refundable one-month Security Deposit. Health care is charged at published rates with a 10% discount on the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year (non-cumulative).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $7,602 to $19,010)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One-bedroom (1,009 sq ft avg, 59 units)Independent living$7,602p. 68$1,479
Two-bedroom and three-bedroom (1,338 sq ft avg, 105 units)Independent living$9,107p. 68$1,479
Traditional Assisted Living (590 sq ft avg, 97 units)Assisted living$8,827p. 68$3,360
Memory Support (420 sq ft avg, 24 units)Memory care$9,550p. 68$3,360
Skilled NursingNursing care$19,010p. 20Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 5%20232024: 5.75%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 20
2024Independent livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 20
2023Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 20
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 20

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Feep. 93

There is no entrance fee. The Community Fee and the Apartment Selection Fee (one month's fee, applied to the first month) are refunded, less a $1,000 service charge, only if you cancel within the 30-day rescission period; after that they are non-refundable. A one-month Security Deposit is returned within 30 days of move-out if the apartment is in similar condition, credited as the last month's fee on death, and forfeited on breach.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Barclay at SouthPark (combined: Charlotte SP Senior Housing OPCO, LLC, Charlotte SP Senior Housing PROPCO, LLC and Barclay Senior Living SouthPark, LLC).
  • Ratios: The Barclay at SouthPark (co-providers combined).

Days cash on hand

23 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.48x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresRests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 41FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand23 days29 days20 days
Debt service coverage1.48x1.08x0.46x
Operating margin28.08%25.32%12.41%
Total assets$141.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$107.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$103.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$34.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 41

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 162022p. 162021p. 16
Independent living94.4%80.9%63%39.1%19.3%
Assisted living82.6%69.2%59.4%46.6%14.7%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care53.7%87.4%82.5%73.1%40.1%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-02-11 Entered into a new loan agreement maturing March 2029, with two one-year extension options; the proceeds fully repaid the $103.2M building loan that was to mature in January 2026.p. 52
  • 2025-12 At December 31, 2025 the co-providers held $1,729,024 of unrestricted cash against an $8,194,350 statutory operating reserve requirement, a $6,465,326 deficiency. The filing says the deficit will be satisfied with an irrevocable standby letter of credit of $8,194,350 payable to the North Carolina Department of Insurance, and that the provider has that letter of credit.p. 29
  • 2025-04 Reduced skilled nursing beds from 22 to 6 and added 22 assisted living beds, for 130 assisted living beds.p. 29

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Barclay at SouthPark is a for-profit rental continuing care retirement community in Charlotte with 164 independent living apartments, 130 assisted living and memory care beds and 6 skilled nursing beds. There is no entrance fee: residents pay a non-refundable community fee and selection fee and a monthly fee (about $7,600 to $9,100 for independent living from January 2026), with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of health care each year. The audited FY2025 statements show 23 days cash on hand, and the statutory operating reserve is covered by a letter of credit rather than cash.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.