Home › Compare
The Barclay at SouthPark and The Sharon at SouthPark compared
Two North Carolina communities about 1 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Barclay at SouthPark | The Sharon at SouthPark |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | $26,500 to $907,300p. 100 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $7,602 to $9,107p. 68 | $3,517 to $6,908p. 25 |
| Refund plans | Non-refundable Community Fee and Apartment Selection Feep. 93 | Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days); 50% Refundable Entry Fee; 90% Refundable Entry Feep. 162 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 90% of the feep. 162 |
| When a refund is paid | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 162 |
| Days cash on hand | 23 days (FY2025)p. 2Rests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect. | 496 days (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | At least 150 daysp. 43 |
| Debt service coverage | 1.48x (FY2025)p. 2Rests on $1.73M of unrestricted cash; $3.91M of restricted cash is excluded. The $8.19M statutory operating reserve is covered by a standby letter of credit rather than cash (p29, p33). FY2025 ended with a $2.45M net loss after $6.68M of interest and $4.96M of depreciation (p42), which the statutory 28.08% resident operating margin does not reflect. | 2.70x (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Independent living occupancy | 94.4% (2025)p. 16 | 96.9% (2025)p. 21 |
| Net position | $34.4 million (FY2025)p. 41 | $80.9 million (FY2025)p. 55 |
| Whose finances | The Barclay at SouthPark (combined: Charlotte SP Senior Housing OPCO, LLC, Charlotte SP Senior Housing PROPCO, LLC and Barclay Senior Living SouthPark, LLC); ratios for The Barclay at SouthPark (co-providers combined)p. 41 | The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark and The Sharon Foundation (consolidated); ratios for The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark (provider; sole member of the obligated group)p. 55 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 41 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 55 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Barclay at SouthPark
Type B (modified): No care days are included: residents pay the published Healthcare Center rates with a 10% discount on their first 30 days of care each calendar year (unused days do not carry over), on top of the apartment fee. 102 of the 130 assisted living beds are reserved for residents, with priority for the open beds when those are full.p. 93
The Sharon at SouthPark
Type B (modified): No free days are included. Residents who move permanently to nursing pay a published permanent transfer rate that the statement says is historically discounted from the direct-admission rate ($10,835-$12,070 vs $15,087-$16,184 a month in 2026); temporary stays are $274 a day on top of the monthly fee for the first 90 days. Existing residents have priority for the Medicare-certified beds.p. 107