Skip to content

The Sharon at SouthPark

5100 Sharon Road, Charlotte, North Carolina 28210 · Community website

Operator:
The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. (d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Presbyterian
Opened:
1969
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$26,500 to $907,300p. 100

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,517 to $6,908p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Refundable Entry FeeNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Refundable Entry FeeNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

496 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 150.

Independent living occupancy

96.9% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

No free days are included. Residents who move permanently to nursing pay a published permanent transfer rate that the statement says is historically discounted from the direct-admission rate ($10,835-$12,070 vs $15,087-$16,184 a month in 2026); temporary stays are $274 a day on top of the monthly fee for the first 90 days. Existing residents have priority for the Medicare-certified beds.p. 107

Assisted living
Assisted Living Unit monthly service fee from the schedule of fees: $7,144-$10,684 a month single in 2026 ($14,873 double); no resident discount on assisted living is stated.
Nursing care
Temporary stays: IL monthly fee plus $274 a day for up to 90 days, then the actual cost of care (currently $496 a day). Permanent move: the resident Permanent Transfer Rate of $10,835-$12,070 a month, against a direct-admit rate of $15,087-$16,184 a month.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 19
Independent living248
Assisted living38
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care96

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Resident's Agreement · Type B (modified) (36 prices, $26,500 to $907,300)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio250Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$51,600p. 100Not listed
Large Studio300Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$66,200p. 100Not listed
One Bedroom480Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$123,300p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Large550Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$139,600p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Expand750Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$228,700p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Expanded Large850Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$241,100p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Expand w/Den1,000Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$329,500p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Deluxe1,100Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$329,500p. 100$33,000
One Bedroom Deluxe w/Den1,200Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$423,200p. 100$33,000
Two Bedroom Apartment750Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$228,700p. 100$33,000
Two Bedroom Large Apartment850Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$241,100p. 100$33,000
Cottage A850 to 1,199Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$370,900 to $444,500p. 100$33,000
Cottage B1,200 to 1,399Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$483,100 to $491,800p. 100$33,000
Cottage C1,400 to 1,599Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$560,300p. 100$33,000
Cottage D1,600 to 1,799Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$637,500 to $676,300p. 100$33,000
Cottage E1,800 to 2,199Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$750,000 to $811,400p. 100$33,000
Cottage F2,200 to 2,299Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$870,400 to $907,300p. 100$33,000
Hartley II - Deerwood Model2,000Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$890,400p. 100$33,000
Sunnybrook1,595 to 2,029Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$599,000 to $811,400p. 100$33,000
Terrace A1,150 to 1,280Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$470,700p. 100$33,000
Terrace B1,502 to 1,520Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$572,800p. 100$33,000
Terrace C1,796Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$675,200p. 100$33,000
Terrace D1,050Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$368,500p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Devin1,000Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$362,800p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Tegan1,300Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$494,800p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Hartley I1,900Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$755,500p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Hartley II1,900Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$755,500p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Darby2,056Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$861,900p. 100$33,000
Deerwood - Woodlea2,148Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$800,600p. 100$33,000
Villa I & II - Cotswold1,365Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$483,500p. 100$33,000
Villa I & II - Dilworth1,655Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$595,500p. 100$33,000
Villa I & II - Foxcroft1,880Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$710,100p. 100$33,000
Villa I & II - East Over1,940Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$732,800p. 100$33,000
Assisted Living - Studio250Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$26,500p. 100Not listed
Assisted Living - Large Studio300Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$31,600p. 100Not listed
Assisted Living - Two Rooms480Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)$39,700p. 100Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident's Agreement · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $3,517 to $12,070)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living - Heritage ApartmentIndependent living$3,517 to $5,016p. 25Not listed
Independent Living - CottageIndependent living$4,893 to $6,908p. 25Not listed
Independent Living - TerraceIndependent living$4,864 to $5,937p. 25Not listed
Independent Living - VillaIndependent living$4,795 to $5,820p. 25Not listed
Independent Living - DeerwoodIndependent living$4,466 to $6,619p. 25Not listed
Assisted LivingAssisted living$7,144 to $10,684p. 25Not listed
Skilled Nursing (permanent transfer rate)Nursing care$10,835 to $12,070p. 25Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.9%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 7.5%20242025: 4.5%20252026: 4.25%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 25
2026Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 25
2026Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 25
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2025Assisted livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2025Nursing careAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Assisted livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Nursing careAll units10.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Assisted livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Nursing careAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Assisted livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Nursing careAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 26

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days)p. 162

Full refund in the first 30 days, then the refund steps down about 5% a month (95% at 31-60 days to 40% at 331-365 days); after 365 days of occupancy nothing is refunded. Any refund may be conditioned on The Sharon receiving another entry fee of equal or greater amount from a new resident.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
5% a month for 12 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

50% Refundable Entry Feep. 162

The refund declines about 4.17% a month in the first year to a permanent 50% after 365 days. Payment may be conditioned on receipt of a new entry fee of equal or greater amount; refunds are reduced by any financial assistance received. Prices for this plan are set from the resident's life expectancy and are not printed in the statement. The residency agreement (p162) makes payment conditional on The Sharon receiving another entry fee of an equal or greater amount from a new resident; the statement's Section 22 (p28) instead says the vacated accommodation must be resold to a new resident. The contract's wording is used here.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4.17% a month for 12 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

90% Refundable Entry Feep. 162

The refund declines about 0.83% a month in the first year to a permanent 90% after 365 days. Payment may be conditioned on receipt of a new entry fee of equal or greater amount; refunds are reduced by any financial assistance received. Available only to new residents aged 80 or under moving into independent living; prices are not printed in the statement. The residency agreement (p162) makes payment conditional on The Sharon receiving another entry fee of an equal or greater amount from a new resident; the statement's Section 22 (p28) instead says the vacated accommodation must be resold to a new resident. The contract's wording is used here.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
0.83% a month for 12 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark and The Sharon Foundation (consolidated).
  • Ratios: The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark (provider; sole member of the obligated group).

Days cash on hand

496 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.70x FY2025p. 2

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 55FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand496 days525 days572 days
Debt service coverage2.70x2.50x2.30x
Operating margin6.1%9%1.8%
Total assets$232.7 million$229.0 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$151.8 million$153.8 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$83.5 million$86.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$58.2 million$55.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$4.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$80.9 million$75.2 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 55

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living96.9%96.3%95%95%92.5%
Assisted living86.4%88.6%90.8%94.7%96.6%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care75.5%75.1%57%52%58.8%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 6. The Sharon at Southpark on Care Compare

In brief

The Sharon at SouthPark in Charlotte, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community on about 28 acres with 248 independent living units, 38 assisted living units and 96 nursing beds, and a 64-unit expansion planned to start in 2026. Standard-plan entry fees run from $51,600 to $907,300 in 2026 with no refund after the first year; 50% and 90% refundable plans are also offered. Residents pay a discounted permanent transfer rate in nursing rather than the direct-admission rate. For the 50% and 90% plans, the contract conditions a refund on a new resident's entry fee being received, while the statement's Section 22 says the vacated unit must be resold.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.