Skip to content

Home › Compare

The Cedars of Chapel Hill and Pittsboro Christian Village compared

Two North Carolina communities about 16 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureThe Cedars of Chapel HillPittsboro Christian Village
LocationChapel Hill, NCPittsboro, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesEquityType C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personPurchase + membership fee$3,500 to $155,000p. 36p. 20
Monthly fee, independent living$5,255 to $6,940p. 20$2,000 to $2,875p. 19
Refund plansNot disclosed in the 2026 filingRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF); Non-refundable entrance fee ($3,500)p. 22p. 36
Highest guaranteed refundNot disclosed in the 2026 filing0% of the feep. 22p. 36
When a refund is paidNot disclosed in the 2026 filingWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 22p. 36
Days cash on hand88.1 days (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024.272 days (FY2025)p. 2The document gives three figures: 272 days (Table FS-1), 297 days on $1,648,102 (Section 29.1) and $1,505,266 of unrestricted cash and investments (Tables 29.1-29.2). The audited balance sheet shows $1,608,024 of cash ($1,020,404) and investments ($587,620), which is about 189 days of 2025 cash expenses; 272 is reached only by also counting the $755,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (about 278 days).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingDays cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024.8.44x (FY2025)p. 2The document gives three figures: 272 days (Table FS-1), 297 days on $1,648,102 (Section 29.1) and $1,505,266 of unrestricted cash and investments (Tables 29.1-29.2). The audited balance sheet shows $1,608,024 of cash ($1,020,404) and investments ($587,620), which is about 189 days of 2025 cash expenses; 272 is reached only by also counting the $755,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (about 278 days).
Independent living occupancy100% (2025)p. 1691.5% (2025)p. 32
Net position$6.7 million (FY2025)p. 38$5.9 million (FY2025)p. 43
Whose financesThe Cedars of Chapel Hill Club, Inc.p. 38Pittsboro Christian Village, Inc.p. 43
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Hawley, C.P.A., P.A.p. 38Unmodified (clean) opinion, Foard and Company, P.A.p. 43
Nursing care, CMS rating4 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

The Cedars of Chapel Hill

Equity: Each Member gets 90 cumulative lifetime days of assisted living or nursing in DuBose Health Center without extra charge beyond the Monthly Payment, meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment, and keeps Member rates even if the home is sold; if DuBose has no bed, the Club pays any increased charge at another facility.p. 120

Pittsboro Christian Village

Type C (fee for service): Assisted living is paid at the Care Home monthly rate; independent residents can use it short term (up to 180 days, when beds are available) at a reduced rate the document does not quantify. The community has no skilled nursing.p. 19

Questions to ask both communities before you sign