Skip to content

Pittsboro Christian Village

1825 East Street, Pittsboro, North Carolina 27312 · Community website

Operator:
Pittsboro Christian Village, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Christian (associated with local Brethren churches; not owned or controlled by any denomination)
Opened:
1972
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$3,500 to $155,000p. 36p. 20

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,000 to $2,875p. 19

Refund plans offered

  • Refundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)Can decline to nothing
  • Non-refundable entrance fee ($3,500)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

272 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The document gives three figures: 272 days (Table FS-1), 297 days on $1,648,102 (Section 29.1) and $1,505,266 of unrestricted cash and investments (Tables 29.1-29.2). The audited balance sheet shows $1,608,024 of cash ($1,020,404) and investments ($587,620), which is about 189 days of 2025 cash expenses; 272 is reached only by also counting the $755,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (about 278 days).

Independent living occupancy

91.5% (2025)p. 32

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living is paid at the Care Home monthly rate; independent residents can use it short term (up to 180 days, when beds are available) at a reduced rate the document does not quantify. The community has no skilled nursing.p. 19

Assisted living
Care Home monthly fee: $5,525 single room, $5,800 double room ($10,300 for two); short-term stays up to 180 days for independent residents at an unstated reduced rate when beds are available. The RREF monthly credit continues after a move.
Nursing care
No nursing beds on campus.
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living67
Assisted living40
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Resident Master Contract · Type C (fee for service) (10 prices, $3,500 to $155,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Northeast Wing Studio ApartmentRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$40,000p. 20$5,000
North Wing Studio ApartmentRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$50,000p. 20$5,000
Northeast Wing Two-Room Studio ApartmentRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$45,000p. 20$5,000
North Wing One Bedroom ApartmentRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$70,000p. 20$5,000
Northeast Wing One Bedroom ApartmentRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$45,000p. 20$5,000
CottageRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$95,000p. 20$25,000
Patio HomeRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$105,000p. 20$25,000
Heritage HomeRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$115,000p. 20$25,000
Legacy HomeRefundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)$155,000p. 20$25,000
Any independent living unit (residents who decline the RREF program)Non-refundable entrance fee ($3,500)$3,500p. 36Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident Master Contract · Type C (fee for service) (11 prices, $2,000 to $5,800)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Northeast Wing Studio ApartmentIndependent living$2,375p. 19$800
North Wing Studio ApartmentIndependent living$2,475p. 19$800
Northeast Wing Two-Room Studio ApartmentIndependent living$2,500p. 19$675
North Wing One Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$2,600p. 19$800
Northeast Wing One Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$2,000p. 19$800
CottageIndependent living$2,175p. 19No extra charge
Patio HomeIndependent living$2,375p. 19No extra charge
Heritage HomeIndependent living$2,525p. 19No extra charge
Legacy HomeIndependent living$2,875p. 19No extra charge
Care Home Single RoomAssisted living$5,525p. 19Not listed
Care Home Double RoomAssisted living$5,800p. 19$4,500

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 2.3%20212022: 3.1%20222023: 6.6%20232024: 4.9%20242025: 5.1%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5.1%Percent onlyp. 20
2024Independent livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 20
2023Independent livingAll units6.6%Percent onlyp. 20
2022Independent livingAll units3.1%Percent onlyp. 20
2021Independent livingAll units2.3%Percent onlyp. 20

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Refundable Resident Entry Fee (RREF)p. 22

If you leave or are dismissed in the first three years, one third of the fee is refunded for each year short of three (pro rated to the month), capped at 90%; nothing is refunded after three years. The refund can be held until a new resident occupies the unit or one year after leaving, whichever is later. On death within three years the estate gets the same pro rata refund or nothing, whichever was chosen at signing.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2.78% a month for 36 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Non-refundable entrance fee ($3,500)p. 36

Residents who decline the RREF program pay a one-time $3,500 entrance fee that is never refunded, and get no monthly-fee credit.

Kept on move-in
100% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Pittsboro Christian Village, Inc.

Days cash on hand

272 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

8.44x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe document gives three figures: 272 days (Table FS-1), 297 days on $1,648,102 (Section 29.1) and $1,505,266 of unrestricted cash and investments (Tables 29.1-29.2). The audited balance sheet shows $1,608,024 of cash ($1,020,404) and investments ($587,620), which is about 189 days of 2025 cash expenses; 272 is reached only by also counting the $755,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (about 278 days).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 43FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand272 days257 days363 days
Debt service coverage8.44x1.73x2.14x
Operating margin-26%-25%-26%
Total assets$7.8 million$7.5 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$1.9 million$1.7 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$209,833$354,472Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$1.4 million$1.2 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$120,412$105,775Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$5.9 million$5.8 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Foard and Company, P.A.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 43

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 32
Independent living91.5%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

Pittsboro Christian Village in Pittsboro, NC is a standalone nonprofit Christian retirement community with 67 independent living homes and apartments and a 40-unit assisted living Care Home, and no nursing beds. Residents pay either a refundable entry fee of $40,000 to $155,000 (refundable pro rata only in the first three years, and earning a monthly-fee credit) or a $3,500 non-refundable fee, plus monthly fees from $2,000 to $2,875. Assisted living is billed at Care Home monthly rates of $5,525 to $5,800.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.