Home › Compare
The Culpeper and The Colonnades compared
Two Virginia communities about 38 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Culpeper | The Colonnades |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Culpeper, VA | Charlottesville, VA |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $82,000 to $565,000p. 14 | $34,550 to $292,775p. 10 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,068 to $5,535p. 13p. 14 | $4,800 to $13,750p. 12p. 11 |
| Refund plans | Standard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months); Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)p. 56p. 14 | Non-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)p. 10 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 0% of the feep. 56p. 14 | 0% of the feep. 10 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 56p. 14 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Days cash on hand | 266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 132Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group. Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet). The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5). |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 120 daysp. 22 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 2.31x (FY2025, interim)p. 132Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group. Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet). The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5). |
| Independent living occupancy | 94% (2025)p. 21 | 87.6% (2024)p. 288 |
| Net position | −$22.6 million (FY2025)p. 132 | −$3.2 million (FY2024)p. 289 |
| Whose finances | Culpeper Baptist Retirement Community, Inc. (column of the LifeSpire consolidating balance sheet); ratios for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Groupp. 132 | The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet)p. 289 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 132 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 289 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Culpeper
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service residents pay the published daily rate less 10% for assisted living, memory care or nursing, and stop paying the independent living monthly fee after a permanent move.p. 48
Type A (life care): Life-Care residents keep paying their independent living monthly fee in assisted living, memory care and the Health Care Center, plus the cost of two extra meals a day.p. 73
The Colonnades
Type C (fee for service): Assisted living and nursing are paid separately from the monthly fee at the Health Center per diem rates plus ancillaries, adjustable on 30 days' notice. A resident sent to an outside facility for lack of space has the right to return on a priority basis.p. 32