Skip to content

The Colonnades

Charlottesville, Virginia

Operator:
Welltower CCRC OpCo LLC (managed by Sunrise Senior Living Management, Inc.)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Provider is a for-profit LLC ultimately >99% owned through Welltower OP LLC by Welltower Inc., a publicly traded REIT; day-to-day management by Sunrise (SSLMI). Land owned by UREF (University of Virginia Real Estate Foundation subsidiary) under a ground lease; Welltower PropCo Group LLC subleases the community to the provider. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to fund the provider's continuing-care obligations if needed (p4-6).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for The Colonnades, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$34,550 to $292,775p. 10

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,800 to $13,750p. 12p. 11

Refund plans offered

  • Non-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Read the note on this figure

The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5).

Independent living occupancy

87.6% (2024)p. 288

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living and nursing are paid separately from the monthly fee at the Health Center per diem rates plus ancillaries, adjustable on 30 days' notice. A resident sent to an outside facility for lack of space has the right to return on a priority basis.p. 32

Assisted living
Per diem, from $158.00/day unfurnished (base rate)
Nursing care
$328.00/day semi-private
Units on campusp. 6
Independent living218
Assisted living41
Memory care16
Nursing care34

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Non-Refundable Plan 1 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $34,550 to $106,300)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$34,550 to $71,425p. 10Not listed
2 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$51,250 to $106,300p. 10Not listed
CottageNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$86,300 to $87,700p. 10Not listed
Non-Refundable Plan 2 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $74,950 to $188,350)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$74,950 to $121,625p. 10Not listed
2 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$107,600 to $188,350p. 10Not listed
CottageNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$168,350 to $180,925p. 10Not listed
Non-Refundable Plan 3 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $109,725 to $238,475)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$109,725 to $150,825p. 10Not listed
2 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$147,325 to $238,475p. 10Not listed
CottageNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$218,475 to $231,725p. 10Not listed
Non-Refundable Plan 4 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $154,225 to $292,775)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$154,225 to $191,150p. 10Not listed
2 BedroomNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$185,550 to $292,775p. 10Not listed
CottageNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)$272,775 to $281,750p. 10Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Zero Entrance Payment · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $8,250 to $13,750)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 BedroomIndependent living$8,250 to $9,750p. 11$2,650
2 BedroomIndependent living$10,300 to $13,275p. 11$2,650
CottageIndependent living$13,275 to $13,750p. 11$2,650
Non-Refundable Plan 1 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $7,525 to $12,250)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 BedroomIndependent living$7,525 to $8,675p. 11$1,925
2 BedroomIndependent living$9,300 to $11,700p. 11$1,925
CottageIndependent living$11,700 to $12,250p. 11$1,925
Non-Refundable Plan 2 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $6,500 to $10,275)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 BedroomIndependent living$6,500 to $7,475p. 11$1,275
2 BedroomIndependent living$8,025 to $9,975p. 11$1,275
CottageIndependent living$9,975 to $10,275p. 11$1,275
Non-Refundable Plan 3 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $5,750 to $9,350)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 BedroomIndependent living$5,750 to $6,925p. 12Not listed
2 BedroomIndependent living$7,125 to $8,900p. 12Not listed
CottageIndependent living$8,900 to $9,350p. 12Not listed
Non-Refundable Plan 4 · Type C (fee for service) (3 prices, $4,800 to $8,250)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 BedroomIndependent living$4,800 to $6,050p. 12Not listed
2 BedroomIndependent living$6,425 to $7,825p. 12Not listed
CottageIndependent living$7,825 to $8,250p. 12Not listed
Health Center per diem · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $4,803 to $9,971)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted living, unfurnished (base rate)Assisted livingfrom $4,803p. 32Not listed
Nursing care, semi-privateNursing care$9,971p. 32Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 1 Bedroom+$750 to $900 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 2 Bedroom+$950 to $1,225 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - Cottage+$1,225 to $1,250 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 1 Bedroom+$700 to $800 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 2 Bedroom+$850 to $1,075 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - Cottage+$1,075 to $1,125 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 1 Bedroom+$600 to $700 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 2 Bedroom+$750 to $925 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - Cottage+$925 to $950 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 1 Bedroom+$525 to $650 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 2 Bedroom+$650 to $825 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - Cottage+$825 to $850 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 1 Bedroom+$450 to $550 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 2 Bedroom+$600 to $725 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - Cottage+$725 to $750 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 1 Bedroom+$450 to $600 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 2 Bedroom+$605 to $805 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - Cottage+$805 to $870 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 1 Bedroom+$580 to $670 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 2 Bedroom+$715 to $890 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - Cottage+$890 to $920 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 1 Bedroom+$505 to $610 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 2 Bedroom+$620 to $745 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - Cottage+$745 to $770 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 1 Bedroom+$440 to $525 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 2 Bedroom+$535 to $675 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - Cottage+$675 to $715 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 1 Bedroom+$375 to $465 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 2 Bedroom+$490 to $625 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - Cottage+$625 to $650 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 1 Bedroom+$650 to $750 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 2 Bedroom+$795 to $1,020 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - Cottage+$1,020 to $1,055 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 1 Bedroom+$570 to $655 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 2 Bedroom+$710 to $885 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - Cottage+$885 to $930 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 1 Bedroom+$495 to $565 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 2 Bedroom+$605 to $755 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - Cottage+$545 to $780 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 1 Bedroom+$435 to $525 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 2 Bedroom+$540 to $675 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - Cottage+$675 to $710 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 1 Bedroom+$375 to $460 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 2 Bedroom+$485 to $600 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - Cottage+$600 to $625 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 1 Bedroom+$250 to $275 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 2 Bedroom+$300 to $400 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - Cottage+$400 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 1 Bedroom+$225 to $250 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 2 Bedroom+$275 to $350 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - Cottage+$350 to $375 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 1 Bedroom+$200 to $250 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 2 Bedroom+$250 to $325 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - Cottage+$300 to $325 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 1 Bedroom+$175 to $200 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 2 Bedroom+$200 to $275 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - Cottage+$275 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 1 Bedroom+$150 to $175 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 2 Bedroom+$200 to $225 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - Cottage+$225 to $250 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 1 Bedroom+$275 to $325 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - 2 Bedroom+$350 to $425 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingZero Entrance Payment - Cottage+$425 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 1 Bedroom+$250 to $300 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - 2 Bedroom+$250 to $400 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 1 - Cottage+$300 to $400 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 1 Bedroom+$200 to $225 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - 2 Bedroom+$250 to $325 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 2 - Cottage+$325 a monthDollar change onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 1 Bedroom+$175 to $225 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - 2 Bedroom+$225 to $300 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 3 - Cottage+$300 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 1 Bedroom+$175 to $200 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - 2 Bedroom+$200 to $275 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15
2021Independent livingNon-Refundable Plan 4 - Cottage+$275 a monthDollar change onlyp. 15

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Non-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)p. 10

If you leave in the first 12 months after moving in you get back the entrance fee less 4% per month of residency; after 12 months nothing is refunded. The second-person entrance fee is never refunded except within the 7-day rescission period.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 12 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Colonnades is part of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC (The Colonnades and Bedford Court, Silver Spring MD).
  • Balance sheet: The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet).

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresThe Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 289FY2023p. 291
Total assets$26.5 million$30.2 million
Total liabilities$29.7 million$35.4 million
Long-term debtNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$12.9 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$0Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$3.2 million−$5.1 million

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 289

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 288
Independent living87.6%
Assisted living94.1%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care64.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024 2024 other non-operating expense was over budget 'due to state survey fine'.p. 287
  • 2018-11Ownership change Welltower CCRC OpCo LLC became the continuing care provider, assuming Sunrise Continuing Care, LLC's obligations to existing residents.p. 4

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Colonnades in Albemarle County has 218 independent living apartments and cottages plus a Health Center with 41 assisted living suites, 16 memory care beds and 34 nursing beds. The provider is a for-profit Welltower subsidiary, and Sunrise manages the community day to day. Entrance fees are non-refundable after the first year (from $34,550 to $292,775 across four plans, or no entrance fee with a higher monthly fee), and assisted living and nursing are billed separately at daily rates.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.