Skip to content

The Culpeper

12425 Village Loop, Culpeper, Virginia 22701

Operator:
Culpeper Baptist Retirement Community, Inc. (subsidiary of Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc., dba LifeSpire of Virginia)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist General Association of Virginia
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Land and improvements are owned by LifeSpire; Culpeper Baptist Retirement Community, Inc. is a LifeSpire subsidiary and a member of the obligated group, jointly liable for obligated group debt.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$82,000 to $565,000p. 14

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,068 to $5,535p. 13p. 14

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

266 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 132Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group
Read the note on this figure

Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own.

Independent living occupancy

94% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee for Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee-for-service residents pay the published daily rate less 10% for assisted living, memory care or nursing, and stop paying the independent living monthly fee after a permanent move.p. 48

Assisted living
Published Assisted Living daily rate less 10% (2026 direct-admission daily fees: $236 studio to $271 two-bedroom single; Level II +$22/day, Level III +$43/day).
Nursing care
Published Health Care Center daily rate less 10% after permanent transfer; nursing daily rates are not disclosed in the statement.
Discount on care
10%

Type A (life care)

Life-Care residents keep paying their independent living monthly fee in assisted living, memory care and the Health Care Center, plus the cost of two extra meals a day.p. 73

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as the independent living residence at the time of transfer, plus charges for two additional meals per day.
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee as the residence (non-Medicare stay), plus two additional meals per day and ancillary charges.
Units on campusp. 10
Independent living50
Assisted living54
Memory care32
Nursing care47

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $184,000 to $472,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Keswick I - VI cottageStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$184,000 to $293,000p. 13$40,000
Waverly (Two-Bedroom Duplex)Standard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$319,000p. 13$40,000
ConwayStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$366,000p. 13$40,000
HughesStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$391,000p. 13$40,000
RapidanStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$433,000p. 13$40,000
RivannaStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$472,000p. 13$40,000
Life-Care Agreement · Type A (life care) (4 prices, $439,000 to $565,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
ConwayStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$439,000p. 14$47,000
HughesStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$468,000p. 14$47,000
RapidanStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$519,000p. 14$47,000
RivannaStandard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)$565,000p. 14$47,000
Direct admission to Assisted Living · Type C (fee for service) (6 prices, $82,000 to $112,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Assisted Living - Brookneal StudioDirect admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$82,000p. 14Not listed
Assisted Living - Caroline (1 bedroom)Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$86,000p. 14Not listed
Assisted Living - Davenport (1 bedroom)Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$89,000p. 14$17,000
Assisted Living - Essex (1 bedroom)Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$89,000p. 14$17,000
Assisted Living - Jefferson (2 bedrooms)Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$95,000p. 14$17,000
Memory Support Private SuiteDirect admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)$112,000p. 14Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $3,068 to $5,032)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Keswick I - VI cottageIndependent living$3,068 to $4,364p. 13$1,752
Waverly (Two-Bedroom Duplex)Independent living$3,834p. 13$1,752
ConwayIndependent living$3,883p. 13$1,752
HughesIndependent living$4,171p. 13$1,752
RapidanIndependent living$4,600p. 13$1,752
RivannaIndependent living$5,032p. 13$1,752
Life-Care Agreement · Type A (life care) (4 prices, $4,270 to $5,535)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
ConwayIndependent living$4,270p. 14$1,927
HughesIndependent living$4,587p. 14$1,927
RapidanIndependent living$5,060p. 14$1,927
RivannaIndependent living$5,535p. 14$1,927

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 4.45%20242025: 3.95%20252026: 3.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Memory careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Nursing careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Assisted livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Memory careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Nursing careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingAll units4.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Assisted livingAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Memory careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Nursing careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Assisted livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Memory careAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Nursing careAll units10%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Memory careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months)p. 56

A 4% administrative charge is kept, and the rest of the entrance fee amortizes at 2% per month for 50 months, after which nothing is refunded. Any refund is paid only after the residence is sold to a new resident who has paid the full entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)p. 14

The statement lists entrance fees for direct admission to assisted living and memory support but does not say whether or how they are refunded.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Culpeper is part of LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group (LSV, The Culpeper, Lakewood, The Chesapeake, The Glebe, The Summit).
  • Balance sheet: Culpeper Baptist Retirement Community, Inc. (column of the LifeSpire consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

266 days FY2025p. 132

Debt service coverage

2.31x FY2025p. 132

Read with these figuresDays cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 132FY2024p. 26
Days cash on hand266 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.31xNot disclosed
Operating margin-5.8%-10.6%
Total assets$60.0 million$62.4 million
Total liabilities$82.6 million$82.2 million
Long-term debt$52.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$12.2 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$338,640Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$22.6 million−$19.8 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 132

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 21
Independent living94%
Assisted living96.3%
Memory care93.8%
Nursing care93.6%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025Credit rating LifeSpire's Fitch rating (first obtained in 2020) was reaffirmed in 2025 at BBB with a stable outlook.p. 18

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 10. THE CULPEPER on Care Compare

In brief

The Culpeper, in Culpeper, Virginia, is a LifeSpire of Virginia community affiliated with the Baptist General Association of Virginia, with 50 independent living residences and cottages, 54 assisted living residences, 32 memory support apartments and 47 skilled nursing beds. 2026 entrance fees run $184,000-$472,000 under a fee-for-service agreement (10% off daily care rates) and $439,000-$565,000 under a Life-Care agreement for four cottage types, all with a 4% charge and 2% monthly amortization over 50 months. The Culpeper itself reported negative net assets of $22.6 million at December 31, 2025, while the LifeSpire obligated group reported interim covenant results of 266 days cash and 2.31x debt service coverage against 120 days and 1.20x.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.